1.10 Server List broken

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
temporal distraction
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 3:12 pm

1.10 Server List broken

Post by temporal distraction » Tue Apr 25, 2006 12:45 pm

The server list ("Find Server") in BZF 1.10.8 is broken. The few players I've talked to are just connecting to last server they connected to - but also cannot see the server list. It has been broken more than a week, so I doubt it is just a DNS propagation problem.

The server list still works in 1.7, though...

User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Spazzy McGee » Tue Apr 25, 2006 4:58 pm

is it possibly the management trying to foce old users to upgrade to 2.0?
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5182
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Tue Apr 25, 2006 5:07 pm

no it is not. it is something that did not get moved over corectly. 1.10 uses the same list as 2.0

try seting the list server URL in your config to http://my.bzflag.bz/db/
I have a feeling that some 1.10.x clients went to a domain that isnt' set up right.

temporal distraction
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 3:12 pm

Post by temporal distraction » Tue Apr 25, 2006 11:56 pm

JeffM2501 wrote:no it is not. it is something that did not get moved over corectly. 1.10 uses the same list as 2.0

try seting the list server URL in your config to http://my.bzflag.bz/db/
I have a feeling that some 1.10.x clients went to a domain that isnt' set up right.
Where is the config for the 1.10.x client and how will the players who don't read these messages going to fix this?

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5182
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Apr 26, 2006 12:52 am

the domain name is being moved over, the person who could do (learner) it was out of town, so we just got ahold of him. So as soon as the change propigates around the world, everyone should work fine.

the config for 1.10 will be in the same place as 2.0 just not in the 2.0 folder.

I will say that 1.10 is not realy high on the list of priorities, so other things were fixed first. It is a rather old version.

Post Reply