Map Help

General talk about the map making process.
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Map Help

Post by JeffM » Tue Jun 17, 2003 9:35 pm

If you need help with a map, ask here.

User avatar
Merry
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:58 pm
Location: Next your gonna ask for my address!
Contact:

Post by Merry » Wed Jun 18, 2003 2:41 pm

lol, I need help with my server. I put it in the other place, but I think I'll ask it here. I got bombarded with whatchamadingles. Can't think of the word!! AGHH!!! Meaness.
So, I need help in..teliporters. Everytime I try to put a teli in...it freezes. Could you help me? Thx.
The secret to flying is to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Jun 18, 2003 2:46 pm

Post the map merry and I will take a look at it.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Jun 18, 2003 5:27 pm

I don't see any teleporters in your map.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Jun 18, 2003 5:34 pm

I added 2 linked teleporters to your map to show you an example.


I takes 2 teleporters and 4 links to make a fully linked set of porters
Attachments
Merry5-tp.map
(3.93 KiB) Downloaded 336 times

Spaceman Spiff
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 11:59 pm

Post by Spaceman Spiff » Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:55 pm

Not to butt in and confuse things.... but if you leave one link out in BZ Edit, doesn't it just become a "dead" teleporter? Like the side you linked is just a "drive through"? That's what it always does to me.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:54 pm

spiff, yes, you don't have to fill in all sides of a porter, but if you IDs are screwed it can lock up.

I'm just showing an example. links do seem to be the toughest point for people to get when making maps.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Jun 23, 2003 7:40 pm

Merry, did you get your map issues taken care of?

Grumbler
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Space

Post by Grumbler » Thu Jul 10, 2003 2:21 am

I am looking for a png2bzmap converter. HBA had one, but it does not seem to function with the pngs I created.

If you know of another picture to structure converter, it would be much appreciated. I worked for a few hours with VISIO to create a series of layers, I would like to turn that into a single map.

(I would probably use bzedit, but I am much more familar with CAD tools, then graphic editors. VISIO is about as low as I go)
.........you kids, get out of my tank...........

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Thu Jul 10, 2003 2:51 am

Koba,

I wrote a little program to do that kind of
thing. It's bmp2bzw, at:

http://imajica.dyndns.org

Grumbler
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Space

Post by Grumbler » Thu Jul 10, 2003 3:15 pm

Thanks trepan, I will give it a try tonight.
.........you kids, get out of my tank...........

Spaceman Spiff
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 11:59 pm

Post by Spaceman Spiff » Thu Jul 10, 2003 5:23 pm

Ummm..... maybe I'm stupid..... but how do you run the Windows exe?? I open it.. and it runs realllllly fast and closes (a lot like the good old "Hello World" C++ apps). :?

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Thu Jul 10, 2003 5:58 pm

Spiff, it's best run in a console window.
Run a MSDOS window or click on the
Start Button, then the Run button, then
type "command" or "cmd".

You could also use the "Open with" right
click option for the *.bmp file, but then
you lose the ability to tweak the output
options.

If yall have any improvements you'd like
made, just let me know. I'm not doing much
these days... :O)

Grumbler
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Space

Post by Grumbler » Thu Jul 10, 2003 8:55 pm

trepan/all,

I believe I have broken the program. I was trying to convert the bmp version of the attatched image into a single level(all blocks the same height) into a world/map file.

The result creates blocks in the fashion:(this was after a black/white only image conversion)

box
position -293.440454 -300.623819 0
size 0.359168 19.754253 16
end
box
position -293.440454 -63.931947 0
size 0.359168 98.412098 16
end
box
position -293.440454 103.440454 0
size 0.359168 19.395085 16
end
box
position -293.440454 261.115312 0
size 0.359168 9.697543 16
end
box
position -278.714556 -300.26465 0
size 14.36673 20.113422 16
end
box
position -289.130435 -63.931947 0
size 3.950851 99.130435 16
end
box
position -206.521739 103.440454 0
size 86.559546 20.113422 16
end
box
position -285.897921 261.115312 0
size 7.183365 10.415879 16
end
box
position 293.440454 44.177694 0
size 0.359168 9.697543 16
end
box
position 281.228733 44.177694 0
size 1.795841 10.415879 16
end
box
position 267.221172 -54.234405 0
size 13.648393 10.415879 16
end
box
position 240.642722 -221.965974 0
size 1.436673 20.113422 16
end
box
position 288.05293 44.177694 0
size 5.028355 10.415879 16
end
box
position 281.94707 -54.234405 0
size 1.077505 10.415879 16
end
box
position 266.862004 152.646503 0
size 13.289225 10.415879 16
end
box
position 240.642722 -359.886578 0
size 1.436673 20.113422 16
end
box
position 233.459357 329.716446 0
size 1.436673 20.113422 16
end
box
position 281.228733 152.646503 0
size 1.077505 10.415879 16
end
box
position 268.298677 44.177694 0
size 11.134216 10.415879 16
end
box
position 239.924386 329.716446 0
size 1.436673 20.113422 16
end
box
position 233.818526 152.646503 0
size 1.077505 10.415879 16
end
box
position 237.05104 -221.965974 0
size 2.155009 20.113422 16
end
box
position 236.691871 44.177694 0
size 2.514178 10.415879 16
end
box
position 240.283554 44.177694 0
size 1.077505 10.415879 16
end

Now this format makes the bzedit program to visualize a single box in the middle of field. It does understand that there are many other boxes however. Unfortuneately, all those boxes are all at location 0,0,0

Is there something I have missed? I was going to kick off a server to take a look at what bzflag thinks the map should look like, but I have not gotten to that right now.

(I would attatch the bmp, but the file size ~450kbytes, and the limit for uploads here is 256kbytes)
Attachments
Fifth_shrink.png
A single level within my map, colorized for my benefit only, converted to b/w for bmp2bzw
(26.34 KiB) Downloaded 186 times
.........you kids, get out of my tank...........

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Jul 10, 2003 10:29 pm

the word "box" has an extra space after it this makes BZedit not like it. It's very picky about it's maps

Basicly all object types and the word end need to be just the word on a line by itself.

I can look into adding a fix for this.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Jul 10, 2003 10:49 pm

http://www.bakadigital.com/BZ/edit/BZE_ ... taller.exe

try that. it should read in your funky maps now

User avatar
Merry
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:58 pm
Location: Next your gonna ask for my address!
Contact:

Post by Merry » Thu Jul 10, 2003 11:49 pm

Hey, thanks. I got my map..I was able to make some telis. Thanxs!
The secret to flying is to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

Grumbler
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Space

Post by Grumbler » Fri Jul 11, 2003 2:52 am

Thanks PatL22, I will give it a try tomorrow.
.........you kids, get out of my tank...........

User avatar
Dervish
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 651
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:39 am
Location: public void

Post by Dervish » Fri Jul 11, 2003 2:56 am

Thanks Patlabor. :)
protected object myTank(){
foreach(noob in this.game){return frag(noob);}}
Image

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Fri Jul 11, 2003 3:19 am

oh and trepan, a newline between objects woudn't kill ya :)

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Fri Jul 11, 2003 6:58 am

Hehe, a little indenting wouldn't kill BZEdit either.
(especially if you add a hierarchical structure
to it at some later date).

I'm going to touch up the bmp2bzw program
tomorrow to improve on the box reduction algos.
It's not doing the best job of merging right now.
I'll also take out the indenting so that BZEdit can
use the maps.

Grumbler
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Space

Post by Grumbler » Fri Jul 11, 2003 4:40 pm

Those of simple minds thank you
.........you kids, get out of my tank...........

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Fri Jul 11, 2003 4:57 pm

http://www.bakadigital.com/BZ/edit/BZE_ ... taller.exe

1.6.1 will work with indented maps, and will put indenting in the code it makes. It now is cool with any leading or trailing spaces.

Grumbler
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Space

Post by Grumbler » Fri Jul 11, 2003 6:13 pm

trepan,
if you need an example bmp for your efforts this weekend, I have one that should be simple, but because of this and that, it generates >600 individual boxes. It should be somewhere in the ~20-30 range. Otherwise, it is doing exactly what I was hoping it would do.
.........you kids, get out of my tank...........

Grumbler
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Space

Post by Grumbler » Fri Jul 11, 2003 6:16 pm

MapMakers,

are there any guidelines on the number boxes? I want a map that will be decent for most graphics cards, and I have some concerns that the map I am creating may have too many individual boxes. Does the number of boxes influence gameplay, or are the boxes merged in some sort of OpenGL vector glue?
.........you kids, get out of my tank...........

Post Reply