State of development for BZFlag version 3.0

Place all meeting requests / announcements here...
macsforme
General
General

State of development for BZFlag version 3.0

Post by macsforme »

Many of you have heard of the next version of BZFlag currently in development: version 3.0 (formerly called 2.2). For those of you who are interested in the state of development for this version, this is my attempt at summarizing where we're at with it. As a disclaimer, let me say that I am a relatively new developer and haven't been around long enough to see many releases. This is just my best shot at sharing some of my reflections based on some observations I've made.

First of all, it's important to keep in mind that the people who create code for BZFlag are generally self-motivated. There is no boss telling people what to do and when to do it, and there is generally no financial or material benefit involved. The developers work on the code to flex their creativity, to get a feature they want into the game, or for one of another limited number of reasons. Consequently, there is no grand overall plan or driving force behind BZFlag development. We work on the code when we want to, and it's out of our own free time.