StartBZFS for Mac

Place all meeting requests / announcements here...
Post Reply
jpenguin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:56 pm

StartBZFS for Mac

Post by jpenguin » Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:23 pm

This is just a simple wrapper that I made to make StartBZFS run a little easier on MacOS X.

Instructions

User avatar
clarahobbs
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:45 am
Location: The Fourth Dimension

Re: StartBZFS for Mac

Post by clarahobbs » Sat Jul 04, 2009 6:29 pm

Sounds cool; too bad I don't use OS X, I can't try it out. Here's an idea: make it download mono and everything else if necessary when you run the script.
FKA Ratfink

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: StartBZFS for Mac

Post by joevano » Sat Jul 04, 2009 6:57 pm

Not really worth the effort... they can download it. You would need to determine Power PC or Intel architecture, and then actually mount the image and install it. These are things that the person who is running the PC should be making the decision to do.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln

tobylane
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:21 pm

Re: StartBZFS for Mac

Post by tobylane » Sun Jul 05, 2009 10:18 pm

Download doesn't work, can you rehost it please?

jpenguin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:56 pm

Re: StartBZFS for Mac

Post by jpenguin » Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:32 am

It works for me, but you can see my pub directory--
http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=65c6 ... c7f7eed764

click on a file name, then click download.
AFAIK you need an Intel Mac

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4699
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: StartBZFS for Mac

Post by blast » Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:31 am

What exactly is in that DMG? I couldn't extract it with 7zip or another similar tool. (I don't have a Mac). Also, what license is that DMG released under?
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

tobylane
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:21 pm

Re: StartBZFS for Mac

Post by tobylane » Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:33 am

DMG is the tar like package/image Mac uses, it includes checksum and so on.

Yeah.. doesn't work in Opera like it did last year.

Freezes, even off the image. Then it opens in Mono. Unless you can get it to work in the first window, nothing would be much better than a simple .sh file.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4699
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: StartBZFS for Mac

Post by blast » Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:25 pm

tobylane wrote:DMG is the tar like package/image Mac uses, it includes checksum and so on.
Yes...I know what a DMG is... But I wanted to know what the contents was. If it's some closed-source application, then it isn't allowed here. I know the StartBZFS part inside there is fine, but I have no way to know what else is in there.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

jpenguin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:56 pm

Re: StartBZFS for Mac

Post by jpenguin » Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:39 pm

All that in the DMG is a script in an StartBZFS.app bundle, it's PublicDomain. There is no source. To see how I made it,n Just (StartBZFS.app/Contents/document.wflow). I put StartBZFS.exe in 'StartBZFS.app/Contents/'. StartBZFS.exe can be replaced with a newer version without needing a new script, StartBZFS.exe just has to have the same name

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest