Wacky insane score

BZFlag related only please...please attach large images
Post Reply
SpedyRF
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 6:25 pm
Location: In a cramped picklejar

Wacky insane score

Post by SpedyRF » Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:22 am

no, I didn't do this myself. 10 bots, a short spawn time, and a freakin huge sr radius did it. Well, heres the screenie
Attachments
MyHighestScore.PNG
wow, 5000 pointz
(732.01 KiB) Downloaded 93 times
Cop @ cruel's
Cop @ ahs3's
Cop @ *shadow*'s

User avatar
the_j0k3r
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 9:56 am
Location: australia

Post by the_j0k3r » Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:30 am

hmm, /me wonders how many characters it is possible to get your score too

try doing the same thing but leaving your computer on when you go to sleep ;)

did you do that on a global server? because that would seriously screw with your strength index ;)
Image

User avatar
A Vicious Muffin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 534
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 12:25 am
Location: Drury Lane

Post by A Vicious Muffin » Sun Feb 04, 2007 7:06 am

Obviously how some people cheat the highscores sometimes, not that you did...

Funny, yet I've seen it before.
Image

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:58 pm

I don't see whats so special about people changing vars to get high scores...

I'd rather spend my time getting that score normally, and learning something in the process.

Simba
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by Simba » Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:08 pm

well, it is not very interresting....

how did you get the score?

a cheat?

User avatar
A Vicious Muffin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 534
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 12:25 am
Location: Drury Lane

Post by A Vicious Muffin » Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:25 pm

Spedy wrote:10 bots, a short spawn time, and a freakin huge sr radius did it
Case closed.
Last edited by A Vicious Muffin on Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

Hmm...

Post by Teppic » Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:44 pm

Win Xp wrote:I'd rather spend my time getting that score normally, and learning something in the process.
Yeah, you could learn what carpal tunnel is :shock:

User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf » Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:37 am

nah, don't use shock radius ... that's not fast enough. and just TEN bots?
meh - here ...

40 bots or more

/password asdf
/set _srRadiusMult 65445
/flag give me SR

sit back and enjoy the MASSIVE carnage of tank parts flying through the air.
For even more fun, max out your system's processor with bots, then get another system (networked, of course), bring even more bots to the room ... get like FIVE HUNDRED.

Now THAT is amazing. ^_^


Just do it on a local server, 'cause people don't like the alternative (I accidentally made a 499 filled server online once - and people came in to get slaughtered).


It's pretty crazy, I say.
Image

User avatar
Davy Jones
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:39 am
Location: Davy Jone's Locker

Post by Davy Jones » Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:27 am

SR is steamroller. not shock radius...
Owner @ The Twin Towers
Admin @ The Two Boxes
Cop @ Army Of One
Image
Image

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Feb 12, 2007 6:08 am

Davy Jones wrote:SR is steamroller. not shock radius...
Um, that is the point. _srRadiusMult is the variable for SR's "range."

The reason being that SR is more efficient than SW as you don't need to shoot.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

Post by Teppic » Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:06 am

A Meteorite wrote:The reason being that SR is more efficient than SW as you don't need to shoot.
But you can sort SW out so it's slow enough that one shot lasts about 5 minutes.

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:10 am

Teppic wrote:
A Meteorite wrote:The reason being that SR is more efficient than SW as you don't need to shoot.
But you can sort SW out so it's slow enough that one shot lasts about 5 minutes.
That is true, but with SR you wouldn't even need to shoot once. ;)

Plus you get a really cool squishy sound! Heh. :D
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

Enigma
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 3:13 am

Post by Enigma » Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:13 pm

A Meteorite wrote:
Davy Jones wrote:SR is steamroller. not shock radius...
Um, that is the point. _srRadiusMult is the variable for SR's "range."

The reason being that SR is more efficient than SW as you don't need to shoot.
Davy accurately corrected Ck_asdf. Either he thought sr meant shock radius rather than steam roller, or he just read spedy's message wrong.
spedy wrote:no, I didn't do this myself. 10 bots, a short spawn time, and a freakin huge sr radius did it. Well, heres the screenie
Ck_asdf wrote:nah, don't use shock radius ... that's not fast enough. and just TEN bots?
meh - here ...

User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf » Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:24 pm

Eh, yes; I meant steam roller.

As met said, NO action is required (other than getting the SR flag).

Set steam roller's radius large enough to cover the whole map, grab the SR flag, and SIT BACK (as I wrote earlier) and watch the carnage of tanks flying.

For best effect, fill a (local) server with hundreds of bots, to watch the air be COVERED in flying tank parts.


So, review: YES to steamroller, YES to LARGE SR radius, YES to awesome explosions.
Image

User avatar
Davy Jones
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:39 am
Location: Davy Jone's Locker

Post by Davy Jones » Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:56 pm

You would have a VERY hard time on that...even with a year old computer, unless your processor and video card are the latest out there, i doubt your computer could handle more than 75 bots without going berzerk
Owner @ The Twin Towers
Admin @ The Two Boxes
Cop @ Army Of One
Image
Image

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:46 am

Davy Jones wrote:You would have a VERY hard time on that...even with a year old computer, unless your processor and video card are the latest out there, i doubt your computer could handle more than 75 bots without going berzerk
That is why you set the settings down to nothing.

I've done it before on a local server comfortably (not public, I'm not lame enough to inflate my score publicly).
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy » Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:48 pm

I've run over 100 bots comfortably before...
1.2GHz iBook with 768MB RAM.
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007

Post Reply