Page 1 of 1

Wacky insane score

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:22 am
by SpedyRF
no, I didn't do this myself. 10 bots, a short spawn time, and a freakin huge sr radius did it. Well, heres the screenie

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:30 am
by the_j0k3r
hmm, /me wonders how many characters it is possible to get your score too

try doing the same thing but leaving your computer on when you go to sleep ;)

did you do that on a global server? because that would seriously screw with your strength index ;)

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 7:06 am
by A Vicious Muffin
Obviously how some people cheat the highscores sometimes, not that you did...

Funny, yet I've seen it before.

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:58 pm
by Winny
I don't see whats so special about people changing vars to get high scores...

I'd rather spend my time getting that score normally, and learning something in the process.

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:08 pm
by Simba
well, it is not very interresting....

how did you get the score?

a cheat?

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:25 pm
by A Vicious Muffin
Spedy wrote:10 bots, a short spawn time, and a freakin huge sr radius did it
Case closed.

Hmm...

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:44 pm
by Teppic
Win Xp wrote:I'd rather spend my time getting that score normally, and learning something in the process.
Yeah, you could learn what carpal tunnel is :shock:

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:37 am
by Ck_asdf
nah, don't use shock radius ... that's not fast enough. and just TEN bots?
meh - here ...

40 bots or more

/password asdf
/set _srRadiusMult 65445
/flag give me SR

sit back and enjoy the MASSIVE carnage of tank parts flying through the air.
For even more fun, max out your system's processor with bots, then get another system (networked, of course), bring even more bots to the room ... get like FIVE HUNDRED.

Now THAT is amazing. ^_^


Just do it on a local server, 'cause people don't like the alternative (I accidentally made a 499 filled server online once - and people came in to get slaughtered).


It's pretty crazy, I say.

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:27 am
by Davy Jones
SR is steamroller. not shock radius...

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 6:08 am
by A Meteorite
Davy Jones wrote:SR is steamroller. not shock radius...
Um, that is the point. _srRadiusMult is the variable for SR's "range."

The reason being that SR is more efficient than SW as you don't need to shoot.

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:06 am
by Teppic
A Meteorite wrote:The reason being that SR is more efficient than SW as you don't need to shoot.
But you can sort SW out so it's slow enough that one shot lasts about 5 minutes.

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:10 am
by A Meteorite
Teppic wrote:
A Meteorite wrote:The reason being that SR is more efficient than SW as you don't need to shoot.
But you can sort SW out so it's slow enough that one shot lasts about 5 minutes.
That is true, but with SR you wouldn't even need to shoot once. ;)

Plus you get a really cool squishy sound! Heh. :D

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:13 pm
by Enigma
A Meteorite wrote:
Davy Jones wrote:SR is steamroller. not shock radius...
Um, that is the point. _srRadiusMult is the variable for SR's "range."

The reason being that SR is more efficient than SW as you don't need to shoot.
Davy accurately corrected Ck_asdf. Either he thought sr meant shock radius rather than steam roller, or he just read spedy's message wrong.
spedy wrote:no, I didn't do this myself. 10 bots, a short spawn time, and a freakin huge sr radius did it. Well, heres the screenie
Ck_asdf wrote:nah, don't use shock radius ... that's not fast enough. and just TEN bots?
meh - here ...

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:24 pm
by Ck_asdf
Eh, yes; I meant steam roller.

As met said, NO action is required (other than getting the SR flag).

Set steam roller's radius large enough to cover the whole map, grab the SR flag, and SIT BACK (as I wrote earlier) and watch the carnage of tanks flying.

For best effect, fill a (local) server with hundreds of bots, to watch the air be COVERED in flying tank parts.


So, review: YES to steamroller, YES to LARGE SR radius, YES to awesome explosions.

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:56 pm
by Davy Jones
You would have a VERY hard time on that...even with a year old computer, unless your processor and video card are the latest out there, i doubt your computer could handle more than 75 bots without going berzerk

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:46 am
by A Meteorite
Davy Jones wrote:You would have a VERY hard time on that...even with a year old computer, unless your processor and video card are the latest out there, i doubt your computer could handle more than 75 bots without going berzerk
That is why you set the settings down to nothing.

I've done it before on a local server comfortably (not public, I'm not lame enough to inflate my score publicly).

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:48 pm
by CannonBallGuy
I've run over 100 bots comfortably before...
1.2GHz iBook with 768MB RAM.