my huge radar

BZFlag related only please...please attach large images
elmer fudd
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:17 pm
Contact:

my huge radar

Post by elmer fudd » Wed May 19, 2004 9:48 am

i have always been complaining about the radar size... how is this?
Attachments
bzfi0000.png
My Huge Radar
(182.97 KiB) Downloaded 186 times

oblomov
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:10 am

Post by oblomov » Wed May 19, 2004 10:26 am

Only that slightly impractica during daylight?

Defman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 4:06 am

Post by Defman » Wed May 19, 2004 11:25 am

I'd use that size setting if it were possible LOL

well, suppose I would need a second monitor for the hud itself...

Death Barrel
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:26 am

Post by Death Barrel » Wed May 19, 2004 3:57 pm

i wish we could get radar that big, now i play with it set to the highest cause about 90% of the time that is what i am looking at.

elmer fudd
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:17 pm
Contact:

Post by elmer fudd » Wed May 19, 2004 6:44 pm

i just edited the radar size in the conf file for bz and set it to 27(normal high is like 10)

rob1n
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:53 pm

Post by rob1n » Thu May 20, 2004 4:32 am

what os do you use?

i know that on macosx and maybe linux you type in terminal or command line:

Code: Select all

cd ~/.bzf
then

Code: Select all

open -e config
this will open it in textedit on macosx, but not sure about linux.

and i have NO idea about win32, so don't ask me.

ask elmer fudd also, he has more expertise than me at command line and terminal...

User avatar
toaster
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 457
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 4:44 pm

Post by toaster » Thu May 20, 2004 11:36 am

Look in "My Documents\My BZFlag Files"
-toaster
"So there I was, all alone, facing all of the enemy. I started driving in circles, until I had them surrounded, and then I escaped in the confusion."

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4730
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Thu May 20, 2004 9:43 pm

Open notepad. Then go to File > Open and browse to the file. It should be in C:\My Documents\My BZFlag Files\bzflag19.bzc for Windows 98.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
nurdc0re
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 2:57 am

Post by nurdc0re » Fri May 21, 2004 7:08 pm

Maybe in the next version of BZFlag they can inlude an option to have a full-screen translucent radar, and the text console take up the entire bottom-of-screen area.

User avatar
learner
General
General
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 2:06 am
Location: Maryland
Contact:

already done

Post by learner » Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:24 am

M51DPS wrote:Maybe in the next version of BZFlag they can inlude an option to have a full-screen translucent radar, and the text console take up the entire bottom-of-screen area.
There is a source code patch pending addition that effectively does this. It's a full-screen map overlay that is semi-transparent and can be toggled on and off. The particular patch in question is a little old now, so it'll take a little work to clean up to the latest sources. That's one of the primary reasons it hasn't been added just quite yet (that and it also includes changes to gameplay behavior which have not been accepted).

Cheers!

elmer fudd
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:17 pm
Contact:

Post by elmer fudd » Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:01 am

ugh now i really hate the jamming flag...

User avatar
EvilChickenNugget
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 1:35 am
Location: Highland, NY
Contact:

Post by EvilChickenNugget » Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:03 am

Oh wow.. Yeah that would really have to suck.
Image

Raptur
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 11:08 pm

Post by Raptur » Mon Jul 12, 2004 1:00 am

lol... speaking of radar mods. here's what I use:

Code: Select all

set radarsize 12

bind 1 down "set displayRadarRange 0.15"
bind 2 down "set displayRadarRange 0.25"
bind 3 down "set displayRadarRange 0.5"
bind 4 down "set displayRadarRange 1.2"
the radar size allows most tanks to be seen that aren't terribly close.

radar zoom 4 displays the entire map except at the most extreme corners just to get a general idea of the distribution of tanks and flags.
radar zoom 3 is good for just moving around and taking shots at medium-range enemies
radar zoom 2 is good for 1-3 enemy close engagements
radar zoom 1 is good for simply dodging (say you're running for CTF Base) or for close engagements when you're fairly sure where friendlies are (b/c it's easier to tk ppl at this zoom)

hehe... i had fun today :D

-=-raptur-=-

Homonculus
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2003 8:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Homonculus » Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:27 pm

Now just make a radar that can dynamically zoom to show all tanks, or the closest tank. That would be useful!

Burned Account -CNG-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

Post by Burned Account -CNG- » Wed Jul 28, 2004 9:43 pm

WOW, my radar size is 2...
Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

User avatar
Tegan
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:24 am
Location: around here someplace
Contact:

Post by Tegan » Fri Jul 30, 2004 6:15 am

Can the radar and panel be turned off completely, for taking uncluttered screenshots?

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Sat Jul 31, 2004 4:04 pm

they can now be turned off. I just added
the change into the 1.11.6 CVS code.

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Fri Oct 01, 2004 1:13 am

oh wow lol thats HUGE! i wanna try that :roller:

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Fri Oct 01, 2004 12:36 pm

is it possible to reverse that? as in turning off the HUD?
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Fri Oct 01, 2004 1:35 pm

It is possible to turn off the Radar + Console
in 1.11.x (it's the F3 key right now).

I'll also note (before anyone else mentions it),
that I do not think it would be a good idea to
have separate control over both, they are tied
together intentionally.

orchid
Dev Godess
Dev Godess
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:07 pm

Post by orchid » Fri Oct 01, 2004 8:49 pm

what about the ability to flip the radar with the "out the window" view? possible?

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Fri Oct 01, 2004 9:36 pm

Yup, it's possible. Not a high priority at
the moment, but it's not really all that
hard to do (with the current framework).

brad2901
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:17 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by brad2901 » Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:15 pm

omg thats big, but looking at your score i dont think it works to well :)

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Tue Oct 05, 2004 4:18 pm

it works wonder's brad... and it helps.

trust me. :D
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

brad2901
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:17 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by brad2901 » Tue Oct 05, 2004 8:08 pm

I dont know whether I trust you :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest