Page 1 of 1

Observer Bolt?

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 9:41 pm
by Out Law
I was importing the electric skins to my bzflag and found a light blue bolt called "observer bolt".
Image This is what it looks like.
Does anyone know what this thing is or was for?

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:34 am
by dango
This is for world weapons.
Basically, if you want, you make make a weapon shoot a bullet that color. There is no observer team, sorry. :)

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:22 pm
by Cobra_Fast
It also appears in the game when the very rare observer-playing-bug occurs (or a cheater makes use of it).

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 8:28 pm
by Out Law
Once I rejoined from rouge to observer once and for a moment I saw my name in light blue for 3 seconds.
Another time I was shot by an administrator observer, while I was dead I saw two other light blue bolts fly by.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:04 pm
by mrapple
me1: "the color the weapon should be. 1 - red 2 - green 3 - blue 4 - purple 0 - rogue" from the wiki.

When I read your comment I was like "wha" ;)

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:37 pm
by dango
it's 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 iirc rogue red green blue purple rabbit hunter observer

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:13 pm
by Cobra_Fast
me1 wrote:it's 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 iirc rogue red green blue purple rabbit hunter observer
Having rabbit and observer for world weapons wouldn't make any sense as they've got the same color.
Additionaly, the hunter tank shoots rogue bullets/SWs.
I'm pretty sure it's only from 0 to 4 for Ro, Re, G, B and P.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:22 pm
by Out Law
I was on this one server and the SW world weapons were light blue. Also I you have all of your settings on high hunters have orange SWs. Oh, and hunters have orange bolts, lasers, and super bolts in 3.0. (I checked out the data files.) Also, what is a replay server?

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:39 pm
by dango
Cobra_Fast wrote:Having rabbit and observer for world weapons wouldn't make any sense as they've got the same color.
No, they don't.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:54 am
by Bambino
Out Law wrote:Also, what is a replay server?
It's a server where you can watch replays of a game.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 3:00 am
by mrapple
Did some testing, here is what I came up with:

0 - Rogue
1 - Red
2 - Green
3 - Blue
4 - Purple
5 - Observer
6 - Rabbit
7 - Rogue (Maybe hunter?)

All the rest were rogue.

Obviously more testing and debugging should probably be done on the coding end of this.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:32 am
by Cobra_Fast
mrapple wrote:Obviously more testing and debugging should probably be done on the coding end of this.
Let's do it!

Code: Select all

enum TeamColor {
			AutomaticTeam = -2,
			NoTeam = -1,
			RogueTeam = 0,
			RedTeam = 1,
			GreenTeam = 2,
			BlueTeam = 3,
			PurpleTeam = 4,
			ObserverTeam = 5,
			RabbitTeam = 6
};
This is the 2.0.12 code that's used to identify teams by a number. So team 7 or higher might fall back to 0 (to explain your rogue at 7).

Code: Select all

enum TeamColor {
  AutomaticTeam = -2,
  NoTeam        = -1,
  RogueTeam     = 0,
  RedTeam       = 1,
  GreenTeam     = 2,
  BlueTeam      = 3,
  PurpleTeam    = 4,
  ObserverTeam  = 5,
  RabbitTeam    = 6,
  HunterTeam    = 7
};
This is current trunk's (2.99.x) code for the same thing.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:32 pm
by Out Law
mrapple wrote:Did some testing, here is what I came up with:

0 - Rogue
1 - Red
2 - Green
3 - Blue
4 - Purple
5 - Purple

6 - Rabbit
7 - Rogue (Maybe hunter?)

All the rest were rogue.

Obviously more testing and debugging should probably be done on the coding end of this.
Purple probably appeared twice because you don't have the observer bolt png.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 9:17 pm
by mrapple
Just checking my directory, the observer bolt is purple?! Weird, must've messed up some files when playing around with textures... Changing that back to normal.

If I didn't have texture it would be a white box and probably display "couldn't find texture: observer_bolt" in the console.

Updated my post about test results and the wiki.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:35 pm
by Out Law
One more thing, what are those spree 1-4 sounds? I have no clue what they are for.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:44 pm
by mrapple
A quick search of the v2_0 branch reveals:

Code: Select all

Tonys-MacBook-Pro:bzflag admin$ grep -Rsi spree1.wav ./
./data/.svn/all-wcprops:spree1.wav
./data/.svn/all-wcprops:/svnroot/bzflag/!svn/ver/11952/branches/v2_0branch/bzflag/data/spree1.wav
./data/.svn/entries:spree1.wav
./data/.svn/text-base/Makefile.am.svn-base:	spree1.wav		\
./data/Makefile:	spree1.wav		\
./data/Makefile.am:	spree1.wav		\
./data/Makefile.in:	spree1.wav		\
Tonys-MacBook-Pro:bzflag admin$ 
Nothing. Good question ;)

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:02 pm
by Out Law
I wonder why they were put there...

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:34 pm
by Cobra_Fast
Well, as they havn't got a use yet, you could give them one by replacing other sounds with them and further customise your game with them. Or if you've got free time to spend you could build new features makeing use of them ;)

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:07 pm
by Out Law
I have an idea, If you go on a rampage spree 1 plays. If you go on a killing spree spree 2 plays. If you become unstoppable spree three plays. And when ever you get the message of raging on spree 4 will play. Now just how to put that in.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:11 pm
by JeffM
They were used in a plug-in that didn't work.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:04 pm
by Out Law
What was the plug-in supposed to do?

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:08 pm
by blast
IIRC, it was supposed to play those sounds when you had killing sprees.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:36 pm
by mrapple
My best guess is that it was playHistoryTracker plugin with sounds. Guess nothing ever came of it.

Re: Observer Bolt?

Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:49 am
by JeffM
that was the plug-in and it had sounds from the start, but the functions to play sounds remotely would crash clients so the feature was removed.