Question for people who use the mouse

Questions and comments on tactics and playstyles
Post Reply
User avatar
Cpl Foggy Dewhurst
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:13 am
Location: God's Own County, West Riding.
Contact:

Question for people who use the mouse

Post by Cpl Foggy Dewhurst » Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:54 am

Hi all,

I was getting rather good at the game but I became too busy to play for over a month (new girlfriend) so, I re-suck. :lol-old:

Just a quick question, what size do you have the mouse box? I have mine set at 3, which is ideal for me to control & aim my tank.. but not so good for moving quickly.

If I have it set at 2, my aim is all wonky-donky but I can dodge better..

What do you have yours set at, and which of the above do you suggest I set mine at?

Your help's appreciated.
Ta!
Corporal Walter C. 'Foggy' Dewhurst,
Corporal Sign-Writer
[ The Armoury ]
Cheerio!

User avatar
Peter
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:44 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by Peter » Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:45 am

It's not how big it is it's how you use it ;)
But bigger is better usually.
“Roses are #FF0000, violets are #0000FF, all of my base are belong to you.” ~ Nerd on Colour

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:08 pm

I think mine is around the default size, but my mouse is really fast. I'm usually playing in the GU league, so I guess I've optimized my settings for that.

R3laX
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:26 pm
Location: .bzw

Post by R3laX » Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:38 pm

Mine is...

Code: Select all

set mouseboxsize -9
Smaller mousebox is better for dodging..
OG

ts
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by ts » Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:10 pm

Mousebox size scales with display size. I happened to have a lower mouse box size on my laptop than on my desktop computer. If you don't add at least your screen size and used resolution then the replied mouse box size is in almost all cases useless.
GU league: http://www.guleague.org/
An introduction to TCP: http://www.lafkon.net/tc/

User avatar
leviathan
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 6:41 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by leviathan » Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:13 am

ts is right but even more important is to stay at one size.
i think one can only be good in both dodging AND aiming if one uses the same size for a longer time and gets accustomed to it very well.

best wishes
levi

z[h]ero
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:00 am
Location: hiding behind box...a real Bz coward :/

Post by z[h]ero » Sat Aug 16, 2008 9:48 am

Yep, in Bz mouse-box scales linear with screen-size, however this doesn't implicate that screen-size has impact on required mouse-movement.
In short: Mouse-speed and screen-resolution are needed in this topic, however not screen-size.
(Naturally mouse speed depends on several factors like OS or mouse-acceleration, but a subjective estimate of mouse-speed like "slow, medium or fast" is still better than no statement)
Wirth's law: "Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster."

User avatar
Cpl Foggy Dewhurst
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:13 am
Location: God's Own County, West Riding.
Contact:

Post by Cpl Foggy Dewhurst » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:22 pm

How does one change their mouse speed? I just have an ordinary mouse for the time being, until I get the funding to buy a really good, advanced mouse.
Ta!
Corporal Walter C. 'Foggy' Dewhurst,
Corporal Sign-Writer
[ The Armoury ]
Cheerio!

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:26 pm

Use your OSes tools for controlling the mouse speed. Each OS is different. I personally don't but the advanced mouse theory, a plain old vanilla mouse works just as well as a fancy on IMHO. I've used plenty and notice no difference.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln

ts
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by ts » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:53 pm

donny_baker wrote:Use your OSes tools for controlling the mouse speed. Each OS is different. I personally don't but the advanced mouse theory, a plain old vanilla mouse works just as well as a fancy on IMHO. I've used plenty and notice no difference.
Congratulations on not noticing a difference. It'll save you money.

A Logitech MX 1000 produces a very loud, sharp screeching noise when moving on my mouse pad (made of glas), where G5 is making a smooth, acceptable noise. PTFE feet and harder to move mouse wheel make a big difference.
GU league: http://www.guleague.org/
An introduction to TCP: http://www.lafkon.net/tc/

z[h]ero
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:00 am
Location: hiding behind box...a real Bz coward :/

Post by z[h]ero » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:54 pm

Cpl Foggy Dewhurst wrote:How does one change their mouse speed?
Just tell us your operating system. (In the case of windows, I could tell you)
Wirth's law: "Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster."

User avatar
Cpl Foggy Dewhurst
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:13 am
Location: God's Own County, West Riding.
Contact:

Post by Cpl Foggy Dewhurst » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:57 pm

XP Media Center.

I need to buy a new mouse matt, too. I use a crappy ball mouse so if the mouse matt gets a bit wet or anything you're buggered if you want to dodge.

Not doing too bad though, I'm staying in the positive scores a lot now'a'days!
Ta!
Corporal Walter C. 'Foggy' Dewhurst,
Corporal Sign-Writer
[ The Armoury ]
Cheerio!

z[h]ero
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:00 am
Location: hiding behind box...a real Bz coward :/

Post by z[h]ero » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:06 pm

Cpl Foggy Dewhurst wrote:XP Media Center
XP: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/usin ... mouse.mspx (Section 7 shows: "Select a pointer speed")
(I would be wondering if setting the mouse speed wouldn't be the same on XP and "XP Media Center".)
Wirth's law: "Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster."

Post Reply