Nope :P
31%

Total votes: 26

TheAdventMaster
Private First Class
Private First Class

A small guide for those with questions on Flag Tactics... :D

Post by TheAdventMaster »

TheAdventMaster's Short BZFlag Guide. If you have any (questions or comments) or want another flag added here, just ask:

Scatter Shots:
Generally I believe in the good old math kinda stuff. Trig. Being a programmer, I'm forced to use it all the time anywho.

3 shots at someone is enough to begin recognizing a pattern of movement, so I scatter three shots at my opponent. One ahead of their path of movement, one slightly behind, then the optional third tracks their pattern. Use this third only if you have at least 4 shots max. By the third shot they're either dead already or I know what they're going to be doing next.

For servers with ONLY 3 shots, it's 2 shots that you use. Get it? 2 isn't enough to track a pattern of movement however, so you're left with just from x, y to x1, y1 instead of from x, y to x1, y1 then to x?, y?
Burrow:
Sometimes I'll sit perfectly still with a burrow by an area of flags. People have no idea what hit them.

Don't shoot at walls. Try wide open spaces or very hard to rebound back at your face areas. Some servers have very slow burrows, and the last thing you want is a shot you can't avoid.

Drive burrows into corners if possible with a WG. Remember that if you're high enough with a WG, you can divebomb and shoot burrows while you're squished.
Above Ground (no WG):
Other times I'll stand idle above ground making people think I'm not watching them, so they jump for the kill. Heheh, shoot, jump, pwnz.
Wings:
With WG, if you're in a server with a lot of jumps and are in a WG fight with someone else, fly above a high up platform to attract your WG target. The problem is with WG, you are either falling or rising constantly.