Radar Management

Questions and comments on tactics and playstyles
Post Reply
User avatar
Sky King
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:07 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

Radar Management

Post by Sky King » Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:14 pm

The thread on controls for newbies got me thinking about how I've reassigned keys on my keyboard.

The one single thing that I have done (besides experience) that has improved my BZ game more than anything else...

I changed the radar zoom levels assigned to keys 1,2, and 3; and assigned radar zoom levels to keys 4, 5, and 6. I fiddled around with various zoom levels and came up with zoom settings that were just what I needed for certain situations. For instance, I play Boxy and LaserMania quite a bit... In Boxy, if I am a tower sniper, I press 4 and the zoom is just exactly right. If I am capping and am making the entry into your fort, I press 2 and the zoom is just right for that job.

BTW, these changes had to be made by text editing the config file, not in the options screen in BZ.

I may have to doctor up my zoom presets a bit if I started playing another map a lot, but right now, I have 1-2-3-4 set just right for Boxy situations and 1-5-6 set just right for LaserMania situations.

User avatar
Joe-Schmoe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:10 am
Location: This field unintentionally left blank.

Post by Joe-Schmoe » Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:48 pm

The only thing I've changed on my radar is changing the size of the bullets.

I've found the three preset zooms to be adequate, sometimes I zoom out to 3 just to get a general idea where everyone is, and then go immediately back to 2. All I need, really.

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:50 pm

The radar is the single most powerful asset in Bz, learn to configure it and use it.
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

nouveau
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 7:32 pm

Post by nouveau » Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:38 am

Is it possible to have 2 radars at the same time with several zooms?

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Sun Oct 22, 2006 3:10 pm

no thats not possible like Jeffm would say: it would'nt be bzflag anymore :p
Image

User avatar
Hannibal
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1073
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Hannibal » Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:06 pm

How do you change the radar pre-sets? I know it can, just cant seem to do it.
Games don't make people violent, lag does.
ImageImage

User avatar
Saber
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 9:27 pm
Location: ¨¨¨¨¨

Post by Saber » Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:12 pm

I think it's with the config file but I'm not sure.

User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy » Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:28 am

It is..
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007

Post Reply