BZFlag Beta Build 2.0.5b2

News and info about current and upcoming releases of the game client and server.
Post Reply
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5172
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: [Redacted]
Contact:

BZFlag Beta Build 2.0.5b2

Post by JeffM » Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:00 am

Today we have 2.0.5b2.

Windows Installer
http://my.bzflag.org/builds/2.0.x/bzflag-2.0.5b2.exe
(requires DirectX 7+)

All current builds for 2.0.x will always be at http://my.bzflag.org/builds/2.0.x/

Linux and mac folk can, as always, build from anonymous cvs (unless it's broken); see http://sourceforge.net/cvs/?group_id=3248 to download, and read the README for build instructions.

Please report any issues you have with this build, even if you think we already know about them!

Stuff to check out (client):
Save world as OBJ ( saveworld -o )
Actualy use the mouse wheel on windows

Thanks for your feedback.

Death Barrel
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:26 am

Post by Death Barrel » Sat Oct 15, 2005 6:03 am

can't talk with list server......forgot if this is a quick fix or not

User avatar
H0ley
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Pause

Post by H0ley » Sat Oct 15, 2005 8:29 am

If you pause and then try access the main menu (escape key), there's a huge delay the different options. For example just pressing up and down takes a couple of seconds instead of being instantanous. The previous 2.0.4 and 2.0.2 versions never had this problem. Both the Win32 2.0.5b1 and 2.0.5b2 have this issue that I'm experiencing. Just holler if you need more details.

Thank you and goodnight.
Image
/loves meteorite's mom

capt_crunch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:51 am

Latest CVS build now 2.1.x?

Post by capt_crunch » Wed Oct 26, 2005 6:18 pm

Hi,

I've tried grabbing the 2.0.5 source from CVS, but last night I ended up getting 2.1.x. It compiles, but no server on the public list is compatible.

How can I specify a CVS tag when I grab the source?

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5172
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: [Redacted]
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:23 pm

cvs head is now 2.1.x and has new incompatable development

if you want the 2.0.x stuff you need to tell your cvs client to use the v2_0branch tag.

if you are on the command line just add this when you do the cvs update
-r v2_0branch

so it would be

cvs up -r v2_0branch

in the bzflag dir, to get the latest of the 2.0 line.

User avatar
I_Died_Once
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: The Dark Side
Contact:

Post by I_Died_Once » Wed Oct 26, 2005 9:04 pm

I *knew* something was up. Being a server owner, I try to keep a current CVS copy of bzfs running. However, last time I updated my CVS, the API broke half of my plugins. So I had to use my installed copy of 2.0.4 stable to use.

Now, I got no fog, and my HTF plugin don't work.

So - question: without reading the great big book of CVS & making a point to learn all things CVS... What command or modifier to the CVS command would I have to do to be able to get the last working copy of source BEFORE you guys went & screwed up the API? I need to host my HTF game and I cant as the HTF plugin is incompatible with 2.0.4 source, and CVS now gives an incompatible game.

So, what command is it to get the last source before the API was changed?
...This has been a recording.

capt_crunch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:51 am

cvs command

Post by capt_crunch » Wed Oct 26, 2005 9:19 pm

So, what command is it to get the last source before the API was changed?
Click on the last link of the first post in this thread. That will take you to a CVS download page. There are two cvs commands listed there. You'll want to add the following to the second command:

-r v2_0branch

Or perform the following as a third command:

cvs up -r v2_0branch

I haven't tried it yet myself, but I think either will work.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5172
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: [Redacted]
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Oct 26, 2005 10:24 pm

I_Died_Once
read the post RIGHT above yours
just change your cvs up command to have the -r part and you'll get the code that is taged as 2.0.x compatable ( it is still changing ).

User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ » Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:40 pm

When i go in observer, everybody goes nr...
-plz help
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm

User avatar
I_Died_Once
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: The Dark Side
Contact:

Post by I_Died_Once » Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:31 pm

JeffM2501 wrote:I_Died_Once
read the post RIGHT above yours
just change your cvs up command to have the -r part and you'll get the code that is taged as 2.0.x compatable ( it is still changing ).
Yes, yes... I got that part, but unfortuneately, you guys screwed with the API and now some of my plugins dont work with the split CVS.

So... if you guys have share how to give a date entry in the CVS command, that would rock. I'd like to get ahold of the last source before the API was doink'd with.
...This has been a recording.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5172
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: [Redacted]
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:53 pm

just rebuild your plug-ins.

your old binarys wont' work.

all we did was add a field and change a function name.

none of your plug-ins shoudl use this field or plug-ins. They just have the old API version number.

All you have to do is reubild them with the new header and you'll be good to go. That will build them with the current API version number.

cvs --help will give you all the options for cvs. one is to get at a date or tag if you must.

User avatar
Sharpshooter
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:48 am
Location: CALIFORNIA
Contact:

Post by Sharpshooter » Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:35 pm

^nightmare^ wrote:When i go in observer, everybody goes nr...
-plz help
Thats been happening to me ever since I started playing BZ. After about 4 minutes, everybody goes NR.
Image

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Post by optic delusion » Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:52 pm

After 96 tears, er..uuh. tries, I fianally guessed the correct format of the command. I was putting them in the wrong order. heres the whole command, all at once.
cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/bzflag co -r v2_0branch bzflag
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
TD-Linux
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 724
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Post by TD-Linux » Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:46 pm

^nightmare^ wrote:When i go in observer, everybody goes nr...
-plz help
This happens to me all the time on my laptop, when connected by wireless. It happens fairly randomly, about once an hour. It has always happened, so I blame it on 802.11.

Legolas_
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 10:24 pm

BZflag2.0.5b2 on mac

Post by Legolas_ » Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:13 pm

If i got the bzflag build where can i host it for everyone to use it?

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Re: BZflag2.0.5b2 on mac

Post by RPG » Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:26 pm

Legolas_ wrote:If i got the bzflag build where can i host it for everyone to use it?
That's up to you, find a good place on the internet, or host it on a server that you own.

Or just post it as an attachment (if it'll fit).

Ice Wewe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:17 pm

Post by Ice Wewe » Mon Nov 21, 2005 1:50 am

TD-Linux wrote:
^nightmare^ wrote:When i go in observer, everybody goes nr...
-plz help
This happens to me all the time on my laptop, when connected by wireless. It happens fairly randomly, about once an hour. It has always happened, so I blame it on 802.11.

Happens to me too. Its an error on the part of the server I think. If you look, you'll see yourself log on for about 2 seconds, enough to grab players score's and the server message. Then you disconnect. I blame it on UDP.


And now JeffM2501 will tell you that I'm wrong, and spewing junk from my voice hole. So please direct your attition to JeffM2501 for the right answer

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest