windows server's

News and info about current and upcoming releases of the game client and server.
Post Reply
User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

windows server's

Post by Matt? » Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:49 pm

ok i heard and tested that with windows you can only have a certain number of flags. now is that bzflag related or is it just windows. thanks
Image

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:59 pm

windows, it seem to happen sporadically tho

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

are you...

Post by Matt? » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:03 am

are you 100% sure, cause theme(he has number's here but i dunno them) is runny a server on xp pro(like me) and he had 48 flags in and was running a public server successfuly. hmm
Image

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:05 am

it affects the player limit, I can have about 7-12 peoplw with +f good 3

in my 2.0.5 b4 I can have +f good 3 and I can have 25 people.

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:07 am

did u see my post ^ because he had 48 flags with 10+ people in his server
Image

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:07 am

oh and in your sig, whered u get the thing that says solarflare owner?
Image

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:08 am

as I said in my first post, it is SPORADIC.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:09 am

Matt? wrote:oh and in your sig, whered u get the thing that says solarflare owner?
totally OT but...

I made it

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:13 am

hmm, soemone needs to make some sort of patch for windows that lets it have more than x amount of connections, that would be neat. dunno if that would be legal or not
Image

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:14 am

its open source software, it seems to have something to do with the connection limit of windows for some reason, at least thats what my examinations show.

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:15 am

yea, i know but what i mean was that someone could make a patch for WINDOWS, not bzflag. hmm dunno
Image

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:17 am

you have to hack your operating system to do that, and remove the part that limits connections, I did try, once, but I still had a connection limit.

it is legal, as long as you don't re-distribute the windows after you have hacked it.

Theme97
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Theme97 » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:28 am

Yeh, I had my IK server with around 50 flags and 8 people. Get past 8 and you get that nasty write error.
But now HT is hosting my server! (Check my siggy) :P
Image

User avatar
huw
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 9:22 am
Location: England

Post by huw » Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:28 pm

Win Xp wrote:its open source software, it seems to have something to do with the connection limit of windows for some reason, at least thats what my examinations show.
There was a patch bought in with XP SP2 that limited you to 10 TCP connections.

This can be bypassed illegally by disabling Windows File protection and installing a patched tcp.sys.

If you look in your error log you will see a TCP warning when you try and go over your connections limit.

Matt, either use Windows Server or install linux on a spare machine

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5172
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: [Redacted]
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Feb 20, 2006 6:34 pm

Win Xp's problem was bandwith and server funk, not an actual limitation in the code.

The windows server supports the SAME number of flags as any other OS. It's the same code.

Non server versions of the windows OS have a connection limit of 10 users by default. There are ways to change it.

if you flood your bandwith then the messages for things get droped, like flag updates, and player updates, hence why it's "sporatic".

JPT
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 1:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by JPT » Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:18 pm

It can be passed legally, too.
Let me search the Introduction for this...

It needs Windows XP SP2

1) open windows registry editor. (Start->run and type regedit)
2) Goto:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters

3) create a new DWORD-entry with that name: "TcpNumConnections"
and give him the value "fffffe"

Now, you can have up to 16.777.214 simultaneos connections open.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:11 pm

JeffM2501 wrote:Win Xp's problem was bandwith and server funk, not an actual limitation in the code.

The windows server supports the SAME number of flags as any other OS. It's the same code.

Non server versions of the windows OS have a connection limit of 10 users by default. There are ways to change it.

if you flood your bandwith then the messages for things get droped, like flag updates, and player updates, hence why it's "sporatic".

Please xaplin while then when I am in linux I can have 100 flags and 20 players?

also, alex135 can only have 10 flags on his T1 connection.....

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5172
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: [Redacted]
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:35 pm

hard to say with out debuging the exact problem.

I'm just saying it's NOT something that is in the code ( like a limit ). It could have been problems on your windows system, or your nic driver, or some other system process screwing it up.

if you realy want to find out why, then it it needs to be debuged, not you guessing that it's just "something windows does sometimes". All things happen for a reason.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:38 pm

I think ill check that out now, I have time.

User avatar
Tropican8
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: As close to the grove as you can get

Post by Tropican8 » Tue Feb 21, 2006 9:43 pm

JeffM2501 wrote:hard to say with out debuging the exact problem.

I'm just saying it's NOT something that is in the code ( like a limit ). It could have been problems on your windows system, or your nic driver, or some other system process screwing it up.

if you realy want to find out why, then it it needs to be debuged, not you guessing that it's just "something windows does sometimes". All things happen for a reason.
I can say for sure its not a b/w issue, and it is also not the 10 connection limit in SP2 (I've had the problem in SP1, plus I am almost positive the 10 connection limit is only on lan networking, not HTTP or UDP internet connections). If it helps, in the server console output logs I have of the problem I get EAGAIN errors. Also I do not remember the problem occuring before 2.0.2, making me think Windows doesn't like a bzflag server code change made from that time. (Not saying its not a bug in Window's code that doesn't like something newer in BZflag)

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:01 am

ok, well i quit trying. i am gunna wait until i use BZanywhere by Saturos
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest