Snipe n' Sleuth server... Please host

User made maps to use on servers.
Post Reply
User avatar
ferman15
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 8:28 pm

Snipe n' Sleuth server... Please host

Post by ferman15 » Mon Jul 21, 2008 3:13 pm

Well I made a server kind of resembling castle wars but much more technical. Anyways.... I made this in bzedit and due to my lack of computer knowledge I dont really know what to do other than make the map... So I was hoping someone would take the map and host it or something please. :D Image/img]
Attachments
Castle.bzw
(9.14 KiB) Downloaded 136 times
Last edited by ferman15 on Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:37 am, edited 7 times in total.
Ferman

User avatar
lep
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:03 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Post by lep » Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:45 pm

ferman, ill try to host it. but for rite now, i need to get my server running. ill keep u up to date :)

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:03 pm

I like it but i cant host it because i don't know how to but its really nice!
BZFLAG IS LIKE THE TOBACCO IN CIGARS AND CIGARETTES:

ITS VERY ADDICTING AND HARDER TO QUIT THE MORE YOUR EXPOSED TO IT.

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:46 pm

spitfiire wrote:I like it but i cant host it because i don't know how to but its really nice!
http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=2915 or look at the wiki: http://my.bzflag.org/w/Creating_A_Server

User avatar
Quantum Tank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:23 am

Post by Quantum Tank » Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:41 pm

Looks like a good map, although some screenshots of the interior would be nice. But PLEASE, if you want people to respect you (and have a greater chance of hosting your map), spell your words right, and capitalize "I" and the first letter of a sentence. This is a forum, not a chatroom, and people expect you to take your time and type things right.

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:53 pm

I'ma try and host it i just need to know one thing.

IS IT Capture the flag or Free for all?
CTF FFA
BZFLAG IS LIKE THE TOBACCO IN CIGARS AND CIGARETTES:

ITS VERY ADDICTING AND HARDER TO QUIT THE MORE YOUR EXPOSED TO IT.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4732
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:58 pm

spitfiire wrote:I'ma try and host it i just need to know one thing.

IS IT Capture the flag or Free for all?
CTF FFA
See if the map has bases in it...
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Sat Aug 02, 2008 7:02 pm

it looks like just one castle and i dont see any bases so i'll put FFA
BZFLAG IS LIKE THE TOBACCO IN CIGARS AND CIGARETTES:

ITS VERY ADDICTING AND HARDER TO QUIT THE MORE YOUR EXPOSED TO IT.

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Sat Aug 02, 2008 7:06 pm

Also, unless you define a spawn zone, people will spawn outside the square surrounding the castle.

User avatar
ferman15
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 8:28 pm

Post by ferman15 » Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:35 am

Ok sorry i've been away on vacation.

Well anyways...I made this level on BzEdit 1.6.5. I have been testing it in bzw test launcher. In BzEdit i did place ctf bases but fors some reason they are not showing up. And also, I don't know how to create a spawn zone.
Ferman

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:09 am

The wiki is your friend: http://my.bzflag.org/w/Zone

User avatar
Triumph of the Soul
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:32 pm
Location: Minnesota

Post by Triumph of the Soul » Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:48 am

You bases are probably not showing up in the game because you don't have the '-c' option specified in either the options section of your map file or in your server config file. This tells the server to make the game CTF and use your bases.
Image
Creator @: Duck or Die, Duck or Die CTF, Fuel Stack, Guernica, Normal, Frayed

User avatar
ferman15
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 8:28 pm

Post by ferman15 » Sun Aug 03, 2008 8:21 pm

I don't Really have a server config file ;)
Ferman

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4732
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:20 pm

Config file or whatever options you are passing to bzfs to test the map. You have to tell bzfs to run CTF, as it defaults to FFA.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
ferman15
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 8:28 pm

Post by ferman15 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:28 am

It doesnt work when I put it on CTF
Ferman

User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2023
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Post by macsforme » Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:22 pm

ferman15 wrote:It doesnt work when I put it on CTF
You probably need to specify which teams players may join as. In a CTF-style game, all players must have a base, so if you don't have a purple base and you're allowing purple players to join, for instance, it won't work.

Try specifying which players may join with the "-mp" option. The syntax is:

Code: Select all

-mp <rogue>,<red>,<green>,<blue>,<purple>,<observer>
So for instance, to allow ten red players, ten green players, and five observers, you would enter:

Code: Select all

-mp 0,10,10,0,0,5

User avatar
ferman15
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 8:28 pm

Post by ferman15 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:58 pm

I don't use codes. I use BzEdit and BZw Test.
Ferman

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:59 pm

You need to open the map file (in a text editor) and add what Constitution specified to the options block.

Code: Select all

options
 -mp 0,10,10,0,0,5
end
[...]

User avatar
ferman15
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 8:28 pm

Post by ferman15 » Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:17 am

I don't know what anyones talking about. I just made the map in hopes that someone would download and possibly host. I never intended on it being this complicated. o.O
Ferman

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:32 am

ferman15 wrote:I don't know what anyones talking about. I just made the map in hopes that someone would download and possibly host. I never intended on it being this complicated. o.O
You need to learn how to do these things to test maps and run servers. That's just how it is.

User avatar
ferman15
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 8:28 pm

Post by ferman15 » Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:06 pm

I use bzw to test. I'm only 5.5 years old. :'(
Ferman

User avatar
fluffy mcduff
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 9:39 pm
Location: in my mind, slowly going insane.

Post by fluffy mcduff » Sat Aug 23, 2008 8:31 pm

hey man, im at your rescue! i dont use a pc but i think you right click on the file and go to "open with" (or somethig... :wink: )
find out how to open it with notepad. you should get something like this:

Code: Select all

# Created with iBZEdit on Wed Aug 20 12:52:00 2008
#ibzcam 440.004578 -346.764221 373.935944 -217.173752 -36.974236 60.000000
#ibzwindow 0.000000 81.000000 1280.000000 697.000000

world
  size 400.000000
end

options
  -set _tankSpeed 25.000000
  -ms 3
  -mp 2,2,2,0,0,2

that is your map options.
anything between the

Code: Select all

options
...
end
is your config.
type somewhere between the "options" and the "end" this:

Code: Select all

  -c

the 2 spaces at the beginning are important! then save it.
that will cause the game to become capture the flag.
but the problem now is if you put a red and a blue base in, there will still be all the teams.
so put this in to config too:

Code: Select all

  -mp <red>,<green>
(once more, the 2 spaces are important!)
that will cause there only to be red and green teams.
all about zones later!

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:17 pm

Chances are he found the answer to his questions in the month (about) that no one responded to this post. If you really wanted to see if he needed help still, just send him a PM.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest