spitfiires FFA map

User made maps to use on servers.
Post Reply
User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

spitfiires FFA map

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:10 pm

This is my first map so if your gonna criticize me do it nicely. Anyway heres the map and BZFS If you'd like to host just say so on this Topic. and i made it with bzedit.

UPDATE: Cobra_Fast is gonna host it for me.
Attachments
FFA.config.txt
Config
(891 Bytes) Downloaded 95 times
FFA.bzw
MY first map
(9.35 KiB) Downloaded 80 times
Last edited by spitfiire on Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:52 pm, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:14 pm

I hope you know that a lot of the blocks aren't lined up evenly. Instead of just using the "drag and drop" feature of BZEdit, you should also use the numbers to get the blocks to line up nicely and thus to look good.

Not bad for your first map, though.
Last edited by tw1sted on Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:16 pm

sorry but it wont let me test it.

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:18 pm

Sure it will, you're probably just doing it wrong. Try using this.

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 pm

i tried that it says error something is wrong it says its not commpatible with win32

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:25 pm

spitfiire wrote:i tried that it says error something is wrong it says its not commpatible with win32
Did you download and install the two things at the bottom of the first post?

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:31 pm

wouldnt let me :cry:

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:33 pm

What version of windows are you running? XP? Vista?

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:34 pm

i have windows XP

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:48 pm

Try putting the map file in your documents\My BZFlag Files\worlds folder (C:\Documents and Settings\[your_name]\My BZFLag Files\worlds, or something like that), then start BZFlag, choose "Start Server", use the settings you want then, next to World Map, use the arrow keys to find your map.

User avatar
Abominable
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:31 am

Re: spitfiires FFA map

Post by Abominable » Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:22 pm

spitfiire wrote:This is my first map so if your gonna criticize me do it nicely. Anyway heres the map and BZFS If you'd like to host just say so on this Topic. and i made it with bzedit.
If you would like, I can private host it for you, and if it's all together and well I could put it public.
Image
Image

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:26 pm

i tried it said Error connecting to server.

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:29 pm

Yes Blizzard please make it a private one for know and if its good someone can host.

User avatar
Cobra_Fast
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Cobra_Fast » Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:28 am

Looks like it got hosted.

HOST: wtwrp.doenemeier.de
PORT: 50400

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Sat Jul 26, 2008 5:52 pm

Cobra i dont see it on public list.
BZFLAG IS LIKE THE TOBACCO IN CIGARS AND CIGARETTES:

ITS VERY ADDICTING AND HARDER TO QUIT THE MORE YOUR EXPOSED TO IT.

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:11 pm

COBRA_FAST you said there was probs with my Config i fixed it a little to mabey get it working heres the NEW Config listed below.

UPDATE:i have updated my CONFIG AND TOOK OUT THE ADMIN PASS. HERE you go cobra
Attachments
FFA.config.txt
FINAL CONFIG
(870 Bytes) Downloaded 81 times
Last edited by spitfiire on Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BZFLAG IS LIKE THE TOBACCO IN CIGARS AND CIGARETTES:

ITS VERY ADDICTING AND HARDER TO QUIT THE MORE YOUR EXPOSED TO IT.

Longhair
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Post by Longhair » Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:20 pm

A couple of things:

-publicaddr I notice there's no port. Cobra Fast, in another post, said it's on port 50400. Put a colon after the address, followed by this number. Also, add:

-p 50400

-lagdrop needs a number

you posted a password in plain text - hope that's not the real one

-world Are they really hosting a public server on a Windows computer? Check that path, just in case.

-jitterwarn 0 This will warn EVERYONE - set it to something higher (haven't used this personally, so I'm not sure what's an appropriate setting)

-packetlosswarn is awfully high. If you're losing 1 in 5 packets, something is seriously wrong.

Longhair
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Post by Longhair » Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:26 pm

One more thing: have a look at the bzfs man page:

http://linux.die.net/man/6/bzfs

A man page is a Linux (maybe OSX?) thing that gives you a bit of help using a command. In this case, bzfs (the server) It usually lists the basic syntax of using the command, and has a listing of what each switch does.

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:59 pm

spitfiire wrote:UPDATE:i have updated my CONFIG AND TOOK OUT THE ADMIN PASS.
You may want to do the same for your first post.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests