Coordinate system, I am confused

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
zomane
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: [BG]

Coordinate system, I am confused

Post by zomane »

Hello all, please give a little help about coordinate system .
This is an example of my code

Code: Select all

        box
                name groundfloor1
                position 200 100 0
                rotation 0
                size 50 20 5
        end

        box
                name groundfloor2
                position 100 100 0
                rotation 0
                size 50 20 
        end
And I expect that box groundfloor2 will start from X(100) and ends at X(150) from X(150) to X(200) is empty and then starts groundfloor1 fromX(200) to 5X(250) .But when start server with this map thing looks like different there is no space between groundfloor1 and groundfloor2.

Second thing :

Code: Select all

        box
                name 1stfloor
                position 0 100 20
                rotation 0
                size 100 20 2
        end
I expected that 1stfloor will start from X(0) and ends at X(100) but not .
I attach screenie, platform in the air is "1stfloor", base is centered to axis X.
Also attaching map.
I read in bzwiki and wikipedia for coordinate system and cant understand where is my mistake, please help .
Attachments
bzfi0004.png
(321.88 KiB) Downloaded 63 times
dep.bzw
(1.36 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
z[h]ero
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:00 am
Location: hiding behind box...a real Bz coward :/

Re: Coordinate system, I am confused

Post by z[h]ero »

The position-coordinates relate to the middle point of an object.
The same middle point relation applies to the size-coordinates.
That's all.
zomane wrote:

Code: Select all

        box
                name groundfloor1
                position 200 100 0
                rotation 0
                size 50 20 5
        end

        box
                name groundfloor2
                position 100 100 0
                rotation 0
                size 50 20 
        end
An example:
groundfloor1:
x value of this object goes from: 150-250 [150 cause: "position value 100" - "size value 50" = 150. 250 cause: "position value 200" + "size value 50" = 250]
y goes from: 80-120

groundfloor2:
x: 50-150
y: 80-120
zomane wrote:But when start server with this map thing looks like different there is no space between groundfloor1 and groundfloor2.
groundfloor1 + groundfloor 2 results coincidentally in one single object, namely this are the coordinates boundaries of this object:
x= 50-250
y= 80-120
Wirth's law: "Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster."
zomane
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: [BG]

Post by zomane »

Thank you very much.
z[h]ero
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:00 am
Location: hiding behind box...a real Bz coward :/

Post by z[h]ero »

No problem.

In the case you didn't use an grafical bzflag map editor till now: give it a try, if you like :) . It's much more easy and much more productive than text editing in many cases.

(I must admit, I'm an unteachable advocator of GUI map editors, as I doubt about human brain power concerning the imagination of the constellation of reciprocal numerary 3D objects, specially in respect of multiple affine transformations!)
Wirth's law: "Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster."
zomane
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: [BG]

Post by zomane »

I use vim for editing. Trying to compile bzfed, but it returns some errors that aborts compilation and I abandoned it . BZWTools looks good, but i dont have any expеrience with blender and as many times before I discover that GUI is confusing for me. I always prefer CLI if its possible.Now when you told me how to calculate coordinates its easy to edit by hand.For map making you are right, GUI will be more productive but I dont hurry ... someday I will finish map . :D
Longhair
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Post by Longhair »

BZWTools looks good, but i dont have any expеrience with blender and as many times before I discover that GUI is confusing for me.
Yeah, I felt that way for quite a while with Blender. There's so much going on. Have a look at the Blender 3D design course. He goes over all the basics methodically in a bunch of video tutorials. It really helped me big time. http://www.gryllus.net/Blender/3D.html
Post Reply