Spawning Flags

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
Kedji
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:38 pm
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Spawning Flags

Post by Kedji »

I put this kind of zone:

zone
name Flag Area
position 0.0 0.0 25.0
size 1.0 1.0 1.0
rotation 0.0
zoneflag V 2
flag L
flag good
end

After that I put a command in the cmd. :
cd /D E:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.10 (E:\ Drive)
bzfs -password ******* -world "Racing Course.bzw"

But then suddenly :

Unable to position flags on this world.
Unable to position flags on this world.
(In Cmd)

What's the problem?
User avatar
Triumph of the Soul
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:32 pm
Location: Minnesota

Post by Triumph of the Soul »

Make sure to use the -fb command line option to allow flags to spawn on buildings. Then see if you get the same error.
Image
Creator @: Duck or Die, Duck or Die CTF, Fuel Stack, Guernica, Normal, Frayed
Kedji
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:38 pm
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by Kedji »

Also typed -fb but it also didn't work.
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano »

Have you specified L and good flags in your configuration? 'flag' requires that you specify the flag in your configuration, 'flagzone' places the flag whether or not it is in your config.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln
User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 1054
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Post by optic delusion »

use just one of these. not all three.
zoneflag V 2
flag L
flag good

Also... don't_use_spaces in you're object names.
name Flag_Area
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.
User avatar
allejo
Breaker of Builds
Breaker of Builds
Posts: 809
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:01 pm
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Post by allejo »

an example

zone
name Flag_Area
position 0.0 0.0 25.0
size 1.0 1.0 1.0
rotation 0.0
zoneflag V 2
zoneflag L #
end
User avatar
allejo
Breaker of Builds
Breaker of Builds
Posts: 809
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:01 pm
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Post by allejo »

the size of the zone doesn't matter at all. the flags will be squished together if the zone is to small. and the code you used jelly will not work. you only need zoneflag or flag. so it should look something like this:

Code: Select all

zone 
name Flag_Area 
position 0.0 0.0 25.0 
size 10.0 10.0 10.0 
rotation 0.0 
zoneflag V 2 
zoneflag L
end
i prefer zoneflag because it is easier because with "flag" you need to need to specify that flag in the options while with zoneflag you don't. i think you will have more that one flag in this zone so just start a new line directly after zoneflag and type "zoneflag FLAG QTY" again the size of the zone for flags doesn't matter, if it would be small all the flags would be squished together, you shouldn't have problems if the zone is too small.
Kedji
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:38 pm
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by Kedji »

Okay. Thanks for the help I'm going to test these now.

Oh by the way I got some problems where the tanks spawn I put height exactly where the base is but it always spawn on the air

EDIT : Still unable to spawn flag on this world.

EDIT : Well, I see some flags below the height where it should suppose to spawn.
Last edited by Kedji on Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano »

Post your config (without the password) and your map up here and we can take a look at them. You can take em down after the fix if you don't want them out.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln
Kedji
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:38 pm
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by Kedji »

Okay. Im going to upload them right now

EDIT: I remove the floor below and the flags are there. Problem is I can't spawn them where it should be.
Attachments

[The extension conf has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

Racing Course.bzw
(2.4 KiB) Downloaded 137 times
User avatar
allejo
Breaker of Builds
Breaker of Builds
Posts: 809
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:01 pm
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Post by allejo »

have you tried adding -fb and -sb to your conf. file? i dont have time to check right now but trey that.
Kedji
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:38 pm
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by Kedji »

Oh I haven't I'll put it.
Post Reply