zone problems

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
big_daddy2
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 1:06 am
Location: the middle of nowhere, USA

zone problems

Post by big_daddy2 » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:32 pm

hi all, i am trying to make spawn zones in my new map, but one problem is that when i try to spawn i spawn on the highest object instead of spawning on the ground like in my zone object, here is the code

zone
position 0 200 10
size 400 600 90
team 0
end

i have 5 of these with the team numbers changed but no matter what i do i always spawn on an object 400 in the air, what is wrong?

User avatar
Mopar Madness
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:31 am

Re: zone problems

Post by Mopar Madness » Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:02 pm

how high in the air?

User avatar
big_daddy2
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 1:06 am
Location: the middle of nowhere, USA

Re: zone problems

Post by big_daddy2 » Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:36 pm

i have 5 of these with the team numbers changed but no matter what i do i always spawn on an object 400 in the air, what is wrong?
the only thing that i can think of that would be the problem is spawning on a box, but idk why that would be a problem

User avatar
big_daddy2
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 1:06 am
Location: the middle of nowhere, USA

Re: zone problems

Post by big_daddy2 » Sun Jun 28, 2009 8:34 pm

yep, that was the problem, i did not have -sb in my test config, if that isnt in your config you spawn out of the zone

User avatar
Mopar Madness
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:31 am

Re: zone problems

Post by Mopar Madness » Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:34 pm

that would cause a problem, if your spawn zones are on boxes and dont have -sb enabled, you will airspawn... and airspawns are NEVER fun... seen them from time to time on Bloodbath... that was always how you knew if 1 team took the pwnage too far over the other team at Bloodbath :)

Anxuiz
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:38 am

Re: zone problems

Post by Anxuiz » Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:33 am

big_daddy2 wrote:hi all, i am trying to make spawn zones in my new map, but one problem is that when i try to spawn i spawn on the highest object instead of spawning on the ground like in my zone object, here is the code

zone
position 0 200 10
size 400 600 90
team 0
end

i have 5 of these with the team numbers changed but no matter what i do i always spawn on an object 400 in the air, what is wrong?
Also, just for the record, you can just use "team 0 1 2 3 4" instead of doing 5 zone objects. So the zone would look like:

Code: Select all

zone
position 0 200 10
size 400 600 90
team 0 1 2 3 4
end
Instead of 5 zone objects with team 0, 1, etc.

- Yassen

User avatar
allejo
Breaker of Builds
Breaker of Builds
Posts: 757
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:01 pm
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Re: zone problems

Post by allejo » Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:42 pm

you may want to move your zone up 10 units instead of having height 10 because some times zones like that don't work for me. not sure if this applies to you but its worth a shot.
Here's my personal website and my open source projects are available on GitHub; I work on a lot of cool things.

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest