Can I use a zone to make a player drop a flag?

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
Evanejk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:59 pm
Location: USA (Maine)
Contact:

Can I use a zone to make a player drop a flag?

Post by Evanejk » Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:39 pm

I want to make it so if a player is in a zone with the oo flag it will drop the flag automaticly.

User avatar
Bambino
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Can I use a zone to make a player drop a flag?

Post by Bambino » Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:50 pm

Nope, sorry.
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein
GU League | Ducati League | OpenLeague

User avatar
Jefenry
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: TextEdit
Contact:

Re: Can I use a zone to make a player drop a flag?

Post by Jefenry » Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:21 pm

Sure you can. You need to use the FlagStay plugin.

Relevant links:
http://my.bzflag.org/w/FlagStay
http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?p=94556

Handy position & size to bbox converter:
http://d41games.freehostia.com/bzflag.php?map=bbox

User avatar
Evanejk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:59 pm
Location: USA (Maine)
Contact:

Re: Can I use a zone to make a player drop a flag?

Post by Evanejk » Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:08 am

This isn't working:

Code: Select all

FlagStayZone
  bbox -401 401 -401 401 390 410 
  Flag oo
end
It says the plugin does load when I start the server.

User avatar
Bambino
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Can I use a zone to make a player drop a flag?

Post by Bambino » Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:54 am

Capital OO?

Any load errors?
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein
GU League | Ducati League | OpenLeague

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4744
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Can I use a zone to make a player drop a flag?

Post by blast » Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:23 am

Run the server with -dddd to make sure there aren't any load errors. I'm not sure the plugin system always properly indicates when a plugin fails to load, but running at the maximum debug level should provide such information. (In other words, don't trust the "Plugin loaded" message)

And of course, once you have that figured out, don't run the server with -dddd unless you like really, really big log files with lots of typically useless information. :)
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Evanejk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:59 pm
Location: USA (Maine)
Contact:

Re: Can I use a zone to make a player drop a flag?

Post by Evanejk » Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:23 am

Bambino was right, I didn't think of that.
Thanks.

Post Reply