Flag-Texture

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
zaphod
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:20 pm
Location: beteigeuze-system
Contact:

Flag-Texture

Post by zaphod » Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:44 am

does anybody know if it's possible to load a different texture for the flag/s?

we all know how to replace the std_ground texture and I am curious to find out, if it also works for flags?
I tried already:

Code: Select all

material
  name flag
  addtexture http://images.bzflag.org/path/to/a/texture.png
end
and like in std_ground, no matref added ... but it doesn't work!

did anybody of you guys try or know how to make this work?


THX!
.
.
.
Image

User avatar
Cobra_Fast
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Flag-Texture

Post by Cobra_Fast » Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:20 am

I've heard something about this being possible with LUA in 3.0, but as far as I know it's not possible in 2.0.
You could still change the texture in your data folder ... but I guess that's not what you want.

User avatar
Mark_IV
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Actually joined 2004 or 2005 as tyjr ;)

Re: Flag-Texture

Post by Mark_IV » Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:11 pm

If you want to change them for YOUR client, yes. Go to the BZFlag Data folder, and change the default flag texture. If you mean like std_ground, where you would do

Code: Select all

material
name GroundMaterial
texture..........
end
and change it server side, so everybody sees it, I am pretty sure this is a no.

User avatar
mrapple
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Unknown
Contact:

Re: Flag-Texture

Post by mrapple » Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:20 am

Mark_IV wrote:If you mean like std_ground, where you would do...
zaphod wrote:we all know how to replace the std_ground texture and I am curious to find out, if it also works for flags?
Mark_IV: He already knows how to replace the std_ground texture

Zaphod: No, it is not possible to do so in 2.0. The client loads the texture from the data path, end of story.

Sorry to crush your hopes and dreams of maybe a soccer flag? ;)
Image

User avatar
zaphod
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:20 pm
Location: beteigeuze-system
Contact:

Re: Flag-Texture

Post by zaphod » Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:43 pm

mrapple wrote:Sorry to crush your hopes and dreams of maybe a soccer flag? ;)
indeed ;) orbit made a nice texture for the flag and I hoped we could share that with all BzMatchBall player's.
but well ... then I use it just locally .

Image

if someone else wants to use it: the texture can be downloaded here
(ups ... was wrong link and is fixed now)

and thanks to all for your inputs!
Last edited by zaphod on Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mrapple
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Unknown
Contact:

Re: Flag-Texture

Post by mrapple » Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:07 pm

I would, but it affects the purple team flag on other servers too.
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest