Flags won't spawn on the groud

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by cepris » Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:47 am

I'm making a map with two castles, a little like Castle Warfare. Each one has two levels. The first level is 8 off the ground in the Z Axis. When I try to spawn flags there, with a Z Axis position of 0, they appear on the second floor of the castle. How can I get the to spawn on the ground?

Yrogirg
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 7:24 pm

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by Yrogirg » Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:22 am

try to -set _flagHeight 6
(default is ten, so there is not enough space for them)

cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by cepris » Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:56 am

Oh it's working now ! Thanks so much! :)

darkid
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:03 pm

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by darkid » Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:12 pm

That means no flag passes though.
Darkid--Not a happy camper.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4741
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by blast » Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:05 pm

I have a plugin that forces the team flags to spawn at specific locations without a true safety zone.

http://my.bzflag.org:81/bb/viewtopic.php?f=79&t=15516

The plugin does work with 2.0.14 or higher code, but it's not perfect. As noted in that thread, a flag reset will put the flag on the base.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by cepris » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:49 pm

darkid: what do you mean by that?

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4741
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by blast » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:57 pm

With safety zones, if you drop a team flag over an "unsafe" area like a pyramid, it flies to the safe zone instead of to the center of the map. Many maps (like Missile War 2.3) take advantage of that "fly to the center" feature to make it easier to capture the team flag.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by cepris » Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:08 pm

Ah yes, I was going to set something up like that :)

cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by cepris » Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:08 pm

darkid wrote:That means no flag passes though.
What do you mean by this?

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4741
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by blast » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:48 am

That's what I explained... a flag pass is when you drop the team flag over an unsafe area and it flies to the center of the map.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 989
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by optic delusion » Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:34 am

you can use a flag safety zone if you don't want it to go to the center
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

darkid
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:03 pm

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by darkid » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:21 am

Flag Passing: As in Castle Warefare if you jump beneath the castle front and drop the flag, _flagHeight pulls it up to the next level, which doens't have enough space, which pulls it to the next one, etc, etc, until it reaches the top level. The same applies in 2 Tanks.
Darkid--Not a happy camper.

Yrogirg
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 7:24 pm

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by Yrogirg » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:53 pm

people usually use jumping to drop it high enough.

darkid
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:03 pm

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by darkid » Fri Jan 28, 2011 12:10 pm

Oh right. ;P Passing it from level to level still might not work though
Darkid--Not a happy camper.

cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by cepris » Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:35 am

Good ! Because I don't want that, but the send to middle is a good idea. game progresses more.

darkid
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:03 pm

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by darkid » Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:12 pm

Or it just pisses people off. It depends how well guarded the middle is.
Darkid--Not a happy camper.

User avatar
SkillDude
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: United States

Re: Flags won't spawn on the groud

Post by SkillDude » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:19 am

If you do /set _flagHeight 0, it will be impossible to pass flags to the next level at all. However, I recommend setting it to at least 0.0001 to prevent them from appearing under blocks, as they will if flagHeight is 0.

Post Reply