Water...

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Water...

Post by fox in the fog » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:52 pm

Please, can you tell me how can I make the water? With a text editor and a particular command? Thanks for your time
Fox in the Fog
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
mrapple
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Unknown
Contact:

Re: Water...

Post by mrapple » Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:51 pm

How you make the water? In a map?

Use waterLevel.
Image

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Water...

Post by fox in the fog » Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:07 pm

yes, in a map
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2024
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Re: Water...

Post by macsforme » Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:58 pm

Yes, use waterLevel like mrapple said.

Or, use a mesh face with the water texture... then you can do cool things like rotation and other movement.

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Water...

Post by fox in the fog » Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:34 pm

Thanks for your time!! :P
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Water...

Post by fox in the fog » Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:06 pm

I saw that there is a BZFlag world editor called pyBZEdit (but under Windows) that allow you to add the water simply with a click, but, of course you can also do it on a text editor, add this line on the map file:
#--Water Level-----------------------------------
under this line you can add the values... right? Even if i don't know exactly how add the values, just need to ask, or find an existent post on the forums or download a map with the water and see how is structured...
ok, Thanks to all!
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4746
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Water...

Post by blast » Fri Apr 22, 2011 2:05 am

"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Water...

Post by fox in the fog » Fri Apr 22, 2011 8:22 am

This was not necessary blast, I could try to search it but... you are very polite ;) Thanks anyway!
But, as I know now how set the water level (simply with the value height), the problem is how to set it only in a particular part of the map... :D
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: Water...

Post by joevano » Fri Apr 22, 2011 8:27 am

Fox in the Fog wrote:This was not necessary blast, I could try to search it but... you are very polite ;) Thanks anyway!
But, as I know now how set the water level (simply with the value height), the problem is how to set it only in a particular part of the map... :D
That is not what you asked...yes, yes, I know you don't speak English, but that is all we have to use.

Waterlevel sets it for the entire map. To have water in only one area you need to use a mesh for the water (with or without death physics) or set the waterlevel and use a mesh/boxes for the land at a higher level than the water.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln

Post Reply