Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size height

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size height

Post by Fox in the Fog » Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:22 pm

[I'm talking about the file attached] Why if the arc and the box-shaped bridge (long and narrow) have the same height in the Z axis and the same height in the parameters size, I can not drive from the box to the arc? When I arrive in front of the arc, the tank stops and does not pass above the arc... Why? What's wrong?
I have posted a bzw file of a very very sample example of what I mean... try :)
Thanks to all Fox
Attachments
Bridge.bzw
(108 Bytes) Downloaded 59 times
Image

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4638
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by blast » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:46 pm

Because BZFlag is buggy. Try using a meshbox instead.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:19 pm

meshbox... So what should I do? Just call these 2 object (in the example map file) instead of box and arc, meshbox and mesharc?
Image

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4638
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by blast » Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:03 pm

Arc is already a mesh object. And a meshbox is actually based on an arc, if I recall correctly.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:25 am

so just:

arc
position 0 0 10
size 10 10 1
ratio 1
end

meshbox
position 0 0 10
size 5 100 1
rotation 0
end

?
Image

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:43 am

yes blast.... that worked but isn't the best thing to see... but :) thank you!
Maybe I could post my map so you can see what's the effect and if there is a better way to do that :D
Image

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:04 pm

I have said that isn't the best thing to see because: It has a strange effect ... You can see in jerky a bit of the surface of the arc and a little bit of the surface of the box. Like a frame shooting
Image

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4638
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by blast » Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:21 pm

Are the objects overlapping?
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:09 pm

I don't know what is that... Sorry :)
Image

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:38 pm

Sorry blast, I didn't understand... yes are overlapping.
Image

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4638
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by blast » Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:56 pm

Make them so they are not overlapping and that issue will go away.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:26 pm

But... it's impossible... it's going to change all the map. Ah, I've got an idea :)
Thank you :)
Image

User avatar
hutty
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:09 pm

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by hutty » Mon Jun 13, 2011 1:30 pm

In almost all 3d games overlapping objects cause a flicker effect.... its not just bz
For all of you who have asked what a hutty is, there is one as my avatar.

instant map... just add water

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 958
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

ONCE AGAIN, the floating point bug.

Post by optic delusion » Mon Jun 13, 2011 9:35 pm

This is just one more time I see what I call "the floating point bug". Pi is used in the calculation of an arc, this is what causes the bug.
To make it worse.... sometimes the bug does not appear when the mapper is testing, it only appears when others use the map. One CPU may calculate Pi differently than another.
The only reliable solution is to re-make one object or the other, probably turn the arc into a mesh.
I have heard that if you get out the calculator, and make your arc with perfect math, it will work. However, I would not bet on that.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:00 am

Hm.... Ok Optic, i think is going to be a little bit complicated and I'll bear this bug
Thank you for the great information
Image

anomaly
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Gainesville Florida

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by anomaly » Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:00 pm

It's called 'z fighting' when two overlapped textures at the same height flicker like that. With each frame one or the other may appear to be on top. I"m not sure better calculations will correct that issue. Usually pi is not calculated by the machine, but rather defined as a specific value by the math library. Although you can calculate it if you wish.
4.0 * arctan(1.0) works fairly well.

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by trepan » Tue Jun 14, 2011 6:57 pm

From the 2.0.14 Changelog:
* Add Options -> Display -> AntiFlicker option - trepan

Only affects boxes and pyramids, iirc. The trick used is to
make coplaner faces use the same texture coordinate space.
The 2.99.x code makes it possible to use a similar setup on
any mesh face is well.

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:20 pm

But the AntiFlicker options on my bzflag is on...
Image

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by trepan » Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:03 pm

Reread my message, as many times as is necessary.

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:08 pm

I Have reread your message, and I have understand what you meant. Now the problems is... how do that?
Image

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5139
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: [Redacted]
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by JeffM » Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:52 pm

trepan wrote:Only affects boxes and pyramids,
No.. you didn't read it.

User avatar
Fox in the Fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Arc and box, same Z axis height, same parameters size he

Post by Fox in the Fog » Thu Jun 16, 2011 5:39 pm

Ah... sorry, but i'm not an English man, i reread this message many times, but i didn't understand exactly the literally meaning. Thought another thing :( But now is ok :)
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest