Page 1 of 1

Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:58 am
by Fox in the Fog

Code: Select all

meshbox
  name box_338_pavimento_rosso
  position -286.399994 0.0 0.0
  size 26.0 5.0 0.1
  rotation -90.0
  outside matref redbase
  top matref bt
  bottom matref bt
end
This meshbox have many matref, like you can see, but even if the Z size is 0.1 the tank, without jump, can't drive on it between the ground and this meshbox, like it's high 40... If you try with a normal box, same Z size 0.1, you can drive on it. So adding this matref I have this problem (before, I had only normal box, and worked fine... After decide add matref, nothing is Ok.) Suggestions?
Fox

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:40 pm
by anomaly
one thing I would suggest is that you clean up those floating point numbers. I don't think it will help in this case but I don't know what the rest of your map looks like. Numbers like -286.399994 would be better as -286.40. I have noticed this with mesh maps that I have built. I limited modeltool's output precision to 2 decimal places and the maps work a lot better.

In general meshboxes and boxes are drawn differently, they don't seem to line up with each other. But you may get it to work better by adjusting your floating point precision.

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:42 pm
by Fox in the Fog
thank you for the suggestion... I have used it, but doesn't work. I mean, doesn't solve my bug...
other suggestions?

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:07 pm
by JeffM
Yep that's one issue with meshboxes, transitioning from old stuff to meshes is an issue. it is a known issue an on the roadmap to be fixed when we can redo our entire simulation to uses meshes for all objects.

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:55 am
by Fox in the Fog
Hm... Ok, but instead of use all mehsbox, I tried to use an arc with divisions 4 to have a box.. like in MIssileWar... but the problem isn't fixed :(
like you can see with the box with red matref not at the center of map (isn't with good number Anomaly, but is copy-pasted from Missile War, and than a little modified the size)

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:53 pm
by JeffM
arcs are meshes too so that makes sense.

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 4:59 pm
by Fox in the Fog
And so why on MissileWar, that (the floor with Z high very low, that allow tank shoot on loopholes) work well, fine, wonderful?

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 5:42 pm
by JeffM
there are tricks to get it to work in specific cases, get the map they use and take a look at it. In general it works best when all objects in the collision area are the same type, all mesh, or all "old". It's the case where they are mixed when we have problems.

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:42 pm
by Avatar
Fox in the Fog wrote:And so why on MissileWar, that (the floor with Z high very low, that allow tank shoot on loopholes) work well, fine, wonderful?
There's a map setting (it's in the wiki) to adjust the height difference that allows a tank to just hop up onto a raised surface rather than be blocked by it. This is how the low-Z ground object at the base walls in MW functions.

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:46 am
by blast
Also, they'd have to be a normal box to bump up on. So the ones there are likely boxes (or have the very edge being a box to trigger the bump)

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 7:39 am
by Fox in the Fog
I'm glad to know that the solution exist, :D but would be good also know the name of this map setting... Because I searched on the Wiki, under server variables, but didn't find any interesting things.
Thanks All, I am going to solve my problems

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 8:48 am
by Fox in the Fog
Ok, i think the map setting is -set _maxBumpHeight 0.33 but, adding this to my map file, the problem persist.

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:41 am
by joevano
_maxBumpHeight does NOT work for meshes, as blast said above. So it is no surprise it does not work!

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 1:15 pm
by Fox in the Fog
Ah... so:

There's a map setting (it's in the wiki) to adjust the height difference that allows a tank to just hop up onto a raised surface rather than be blocked by it. This is how the low-Z ground object at the base walls in MW functions.

what's the name of this map settings?

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:04 pm
by SkillDude
The creators used _maxBumpHeight, but inserted a regular box right before the mesh so this effect would occur. The box would be at equal or slightly higher height such that it looks like you are bumped up to the mesh. If you want to get specific actions to occur in maps, sometimes you have to use tricks to create the illusion.

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:32 pm
by Fox in the Fog
smart trick sigonasr2.. i noticed that also on MissileWar is like that :)
thx, now all is solved... thank you a lot :)