Teleporter problems

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Teleporter problems

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu May 05, 2005 5:57 pm

Ok, basically every map I have now has this problem. Every time you try to go thru a teleporter it won't let you. You just get stuck trying to drive forward. It works fine if you jump through it, but it doesn't work driving in to it.

Does anybody else have this problem?

Sir_Pants
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 2:41 am
Location: SOMEwhere in WA

Post by Sir_Pants » Thu May 05, 2005 10:56 pm

ah you no why? cause ur teleporters need to be lowered onto the box, they are hovering in the air if that happens, if u doing it on bzedit its hard to tell if they are not touching the box
MONKEYPANTS.COM
Image

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Thu May 05, 2005 11:02 pm

it's probably related to having teleporters on mesh objects.
this is a known problem that will be addressed before the
next release.

you can solve to interconnect problem between on-mesh
and on-ground teleporters by dropping the ground teleporter
by a small amount (0.001 will do).

User avatar
LouMan
Chief Sgt. of Cartography
Chief Sgt. of Cartography
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:05 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Post by LouMan » Fri May 06, 2005 1:28 am

For mesh to mesh teleporters:

My solution to this problem has been to place small standard boxes (with the same width as the teleporters) underneith the teleporters and "inside" the mesh(es). Both the boxes and teleporters should be elevated by a small amount from the mesh(es). This will allow tanks to drive through without getting stuck (tanks can drive up and over very small "bumps").

e.g., for a single teleporter on top of a mesh object with a height of 10:

box
position 0 0 9.001
size .5 10 1
end
teleporter
position 0 0 10.001
size .5 10 8
end

User avatar
Dervish
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 651
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:39 am
Location: public void

Post by Dervish » Sat May 07, 2005 6:29 am

Another teleporter problem and its solution:

If you make two teleporters of different sizes (Y and Z values), and link them, you're asking for stuck tanks. The client/server is attempting to transport a tank at a specific place in the first teleporter to a proportional place in the second teleporter. This is especially troublesome if a tank is passing through the first teleporter, near its border, and exiting the second teleporter which is set to a smaller size.

I'm not sure if this problem has been addressed since 1.7x, but I always make sure linked teleporters are the same size.
protected object myTank(){
foreach(noob in this.game){return frag(noob);}}
Image

Guest

Post by Guest » Sat May 07, 2005 10:56 am

It seems to work okay on the Hix map at gamesunited where the portals are of different heights... :)

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Sat May 07, 2005 2:24 pm

CannonBallGuy wrote:It seems to work okay on the Hix map at gamesunited where the portals are of different heights... :)
But the portals are at different heights, not widths. So as long as you don't jump through the higher one, you're fine.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests