Help with teleporters

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
elem3nt
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:25 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Help with teleporters

Post by elem3nt »

Here's a map (my first) that I'm in the process of making. The problem is that you can't drive through the center (x=0, y=0, z=0) teleporter. You just stop. It's linked to the teleporter on the high platform immediately above it. The platform is z=100, and the teleporter is z=101. I don't think changing them to the same height helped.

I can jump through the teleporter and be 'teleported', but why can't I simply drive through?

Is there some rule of thumb with teleporters that I'm missing? If someone finds the solution, could they please post the edited map here?

Feel free to open it with bzedit, it's what I made it in.

Thanks!!

EDIT: If you have any comments on the map/ideas that are not related to the topic please post them anyway.
Attachments
testing.bzw
My first map
(7.11 KiB) Downloaded 181 times
Last edited by elem3nt on Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.

Post by khazhyk »

yes i would like to know that too, for on one of my maps(CTFBowl) it is quite annoying to have to jump into the tele to tele on/off the roof
Image
Guest

Post by Guest »

I had a good look, and I have no idea. Sorry...
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe »

Happened to me too. I think they said lower it like 0.01 or something.
User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ »

the floating platform above it is z=2 on the scale and 100 high. you only put your teleporter 101 high, not 102 (easy mistake)
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm
User avatar
Brennen The Great
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 8:06 pm
Location: MN

Post by Brennen The Great »

i figured it out: your teleporters only have 3 links on them it needs four. like your links are like this:

->|<-
__|->

but need to be like this:

->|<-
<-|->


Edit: nevermind, doesnt make a difference. dont even listen to what i said.
Admin @ Pythonian Servers
Admin @ Brad's
Cop @ Silvercat
Cop @ Hepcat
Cop/SetGroup @ Louman's
User avatar
L4m3r
Hater of Everything
Hater of Everything
Posts: 724
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by L4m3r »

^nightmare^ wrote:the floating platform above it is z=2 on the scale and 100 high. you only put your teleporter 101 high, not 102 (easy mistake)
Yep.

If you can jump through a teleporter but not drive through, it's almost always because the base of one of the teleporters is either inside of something or in the air.
Optimism is just a milder alternative to denial.
Post Reply