mesh with holes

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
person1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:44 am
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

mesh with holes

Post by person1 »

I would like to write some code that outputs meshes with holes. So modeler will not work. I have tried everything I can think of. Any help?

Currently: (This has gone through MANY stages, please don't criticize)

Code: Select all

material
  name default
  texture wall
end

material
  name none
  texture wall
  color 1 1 1 0.2
end

mesh
  vertex 3 0 3

  vertex 3 0 7
  vertex 3 0 3
  vertex 7 0 3
  vertex 7 0 7
  vertex 3 0 7
  
  #vertex 20 0 20
  #vertex 24 0 20
  #vertex 24 0 24
  #vertex 20 0 24
  
  vertex 0 0 0
  vertex 40 0 0
  vertex 40 0 40
  vertex 0 0 40
  
  #face
  #  vertices 0 1 2 3 4 5
  #  matref default
  #  passable
  #endface
  #face
  #  vertices 5 4 3 2 1 0
  #  matref default
  #  passable
  #endface
  
  face
    vertices 6 7 8 9
    matref none
    #passable
  endface
  face
    vertices 9 8 7 6
    matref none
    #passable
  endface
end
Image
Image
I not just any person, I am person1
AlliedArmour
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 831
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:29 am

Post by AlliedArmour »

Why wont a modeller work? It's your best choice.

At least gsL and Blender can cut holder in meshes.
User avatar
person1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:44 am
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

read the post

Post by person1 »

I am writting code to gin it therefore modeler can not be used. Meaning I have to gin it myselft.

I have been chatting with CGB on IRC and I think i got it.
Image
Image
I not just any person, I am person1
Guest

Post by Guest »

Who is CGB? 8)
User avatar
person1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:44 am
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

Reply

Post by person1 »

CannonBallGuy: CGB was someone's name in the IRC chat room.

Everyone Else: I still need help I can't seem to figure it out.
Image
Image
I not just any person, I am person1
User avatar
person1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:44 am
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

YES!

Post by person1 »

i figured it out!!!!

The following make a mesh box with a hole in it!

Code: Select all

material
  name default
  texture wall
end

mesh
  vertex 3 0 3
  vertex 3 0 7
  vertex 7 0 7
  vertex 7 0 3
  
  vertex 0 0 0
  vertex 0 0 40
  vertex 40 0 40
  vertex 40 0 0
  
  face
    vertices 0 1 2 3 7 6 5 4 7 3 0 # 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 0 
    matref default
  endface
end
Attachments
bzfi0000.png
Mesh box with hole in it!!
(684.27 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
Last edited by person1 on Sat Nov 19, 2005 4:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
I not just any person, I am person1
Guest

Post by Guest »

No, It was "CBG". Trust me. ;)
User avatar
person1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:44 am
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

Question?

Post by person1 »

Ok great it was CBG, what does it have to do with my question?

Kinda like a random post taking up space in my opinion.
Image
Image
I not just any person, I am person1
Guest

Post by Guest »

Well, I won't help you next time, if you prefer. :wink:
Besided, you did it, didn't you? :P
User avatar
person1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:44 am
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

Thats not what I said

Post by person1 »

Thats not what I said, I just would like some help.
Image
Image
I not just any person, I am person1
Post Reply