New map made but i cant test it.

Previews and comments on future maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

New map made but i cant test it.

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:07 pm

I had a previous post asking how and i got eveything but it would let me. Can someone test it and tell if its good. I made it with bzedit by the way. HERES the BZFS conifg file and bzedit map. Also if you think it good but need changing go ahead and change it and host it if you'd like. If you do want to host host (which i dont think anyone will) PM me.

UPDATE:I have updated my Map just a little
Last edited by spitfiire on Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Spectre
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 2:33 pm

Post by Spectre » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:13 pm

It looks OK. You do realize one of your boxes is 1/4 of the way underground, right? I would recommend using this map with ricochet, it might not be as fun without.
Keeping Latin alive in 2766 AUC.

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:17 pm

i will fix that. and if you want to host you can fix up the config.

User avatar
Spectre
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 2:33 pm

Post by Spectre » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:23 pm

Sorry, I can't host.
Keeping Latin alive in 2766 AUC.

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:26 pm

Well i have 2 questions. 1. how do you add richochet?
and 2.do you think it is good enough for someone to host?

User avatar
Spectre
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 2:33 pm

Post by Spectre » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:56 pm

1) Add to your .conf: +r
2) Depends on the host. But I would say it would be good enough AT LEAST for a host willing to get a starting mapmaker on a roll.
Keeping Latin alive in 2766 AUC.

User avatar
spitfiire
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:20 pm
Location: Sumter,SC

Post by spitfiire » Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:15 pm

on my config i do have +r

F687/s
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:30 pm

Post by F687/s » Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:28 pm

A good start for a first map, but it's a bit buggy. For example, there are numerous boxes placed under (or partly under) the map, and it kinda gives me a headache. Other than that, I just think it wasn't "lovingly made." Aside from the bugs, it just feels like a bunch of boxes laid out randomly, with no great plan or purpose. I mean, there are some maps that don't have clean-cut lines (Babel and some of Dutchrai's work comes to mind), but this map feels chaotic. It might also have to do with the lack of map testing, too. But, honestly, it'll need to be cleaned up (and released) before you think of hosting it.

But since it's a work-in-progress, there's still room for change. And sorry if my remarks come of as being "mean." I look forward to seeing what it will become.

User avatar
Abominable
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:31 am

Re: New map made but i cant test it.

Post by Abominable » Thu Jul 24, 2008 1:16 am

spitfiire wrote:I had a previous post asking how and i got eveything but it would let me. Can someone test it and tell if its good. I made it with bzedit by the way. HERES the BZFS conifg file and bzedit map. Also if you think it good but need changing go ahead and change it and host it if you'd like. If you do want to host host (which i dont think anyone will) PM me.

UPDATE:I have updated my Map just a little
Try to re frame from posting the same thread in two different locations.
Image
Image

User avatar
Astroman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:27 am

Re: New map made but i cant test it.

Post by Astroman » Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:25 am

Blizzard wrote:Try to re frame from posting the same thread in two different locations.
I think you mean "refrain" :P
"I would rather walk with God in the dark than go alone in the light." -Mary Gardiner Brainard

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest