Wings Forest Map Project

Previews and comments on future maps.
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm

and here are 2 more textures
Attachments
gravel
gravel
gravel-256x256.png (172.79 KiB) Viewed 1398 times
here is some ground full of leaves
here is some ground full of leaves
leaves-256x256.png (181.96 KiB) Viewed 1421 times

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:09 pm

nice BIYA, that looks cool, like i said i got the bushes and mushrooms now, how do i put them on here so you can see?
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:11 pm

umm eagle you have to get them inot a bzflag server to seee them so send me the map file and I will put them up for you to get screen shots

User avatar
BIYA
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:43 am
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contact:

Post by BIYA » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:13 pm

Okay, both thextures need some work... the grass one has shadows that shouldnt be there and the bridge one has alittle bit of the ground in it.

I am making a new bridge so try and take a pic of one of the boards on that bridge or do 3 of the boards :).

The gravel one looks very nice.. I'll think of somthing to put in the map to use it with.

Eagle, just put there OBJ's in a zip file and attach it here.. Ill look at them :)
Last edited by BIYA on Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:14 pm

why can't the grass have shadows ?

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:18 pm

win, i didnt quite get what you said, i have it in .bzw

BIYA i think the bridle should be only boards accross
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:20 pm

no eagle for us to see the objects you need to have them in a map that is being hosted on a server I will host the test for you for a bit just send me the .bzw file

User avatar
BIYA
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:43 am
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contact:

Post by BIYA » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:20 pm

Personally, I would rather not have shadows on a textures when in the game theres nothing there making the shadows... Shadows will be coming from somthing that is not there :)

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:21 pm

o ok I will try to get a diff texture of a bridge

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:26 pm

win, i have screenies, how do i get them up?
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
BIYA
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:43 am
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contact:

Post by BIYA » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:26 pm

Eagle.... export your objects to OBJ then I can see them without all the server hassle, okay?

Heres a pic of the bridge that I made..
Attachments
Bridge.jpg
(27.32 KiB) Downloaded 161 times

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:28 pm

ooo that is soo cool

what program are you using to do that ?

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:29 pm

yes, thats perfect BIYA


i just wanna post a screenie
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
BIYA
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:43 am
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contact:

Post by BIYA » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:31 pm

Im using Wings3D... Eagle, it will be much easier if you just give us the OBJ.. But to get a screeny run the map on a server go there and take a screenshot :)

Attach the image to the forum eagle ;)

I could have easily rendered the mushrooms and stuff in wings and then post a screeny but its okay :)
Last edited by BIYA on Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:33 pm

argh, i meant how do i post a screenie here?
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
BIYA
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:43 am
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contact:

Post by BIYA » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:35 pm

Attach the image to the forum eagle

I could have easily rendered the mushrooms and stuff in wings and then post a screeny but its okay

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:38 pm

whats your point

and how do i do that?
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:40 pm

ok, ill give you the OBJ BIYA
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:41 pm

k eagle go to the top of the forum page see how it says in the left about 1 inch down from the top these is a thing that says posta reply?

you have to use that reply method to attach a image or file

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:56 pm

heres the screenie...(did it work?)
Attachments
bzfi0000.png
bushes and mushrooms
(632.42 KiB) Downloaded 152 times
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Oct 30, 2005 5:00 pm

ya it worked the mushrooms do look a tad strange tho

Biya I just got a mew moddeller so I will be able to do more

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 30, 2005 6:30 pm

wierd?how so?

whats the modeller?
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Oct 30, 2005 6:48 pm

ummm well they look really flat and thin on the top I think you should make them thinker and have a 2nd thin sphere on the bottom of the top of the mushroom

User avatar
Red Cobra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:37 pm

Post by Red Cobra » Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:48 am

Hey those look good eagle.Though win you need to make the textures so that they are a lot smaller first of all second of all dont have shadows int tehm because in the map the texture will repeat it self for as lonf as it needs to to cover the specific area you want covere. And there will be multiple shadows so dont do that. Also i am almost done witht the bzedit file BIYA. I was busy with school this weekend. Projects and stuff. Also what program do you have win? Also what application did you make those bushes out of eagle?
Cop@R3lax
Trusted@Viper

User avatar
BIYA
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:43 am
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contact:

Post by BIYA » Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:03 am

Okay heres what the trees might look like if I figure out a different way of placing the leaves on the trees.

When im right next to the tree I get 0 to 5 FPS... so yea we cant use these right now :)
Attachments
Tree2.jpg
(104.7 KiB) Downloaded 169 times
Tree1.jpg
(120.39 KiB) Downloaded 145 times

Post Reply