4th map

Previews and comments on future maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

4th map

Post by dartman »

Okay, I'm beginning work on a fourth map.

This one I thought up in school while I was bored. It basically says "Hi!" or "HI!" in a whole buncha weird ngles and stuff.

Why the heck am I doing this, you ask? Well, have you noticed that you can flip an H or an I and they'd look like the other letter? Imagine it on a BZ map. Think of all the cover you can use inbetween what would be the walls.

Have you also noticed how flipping an exclmation point upside-down makes it look like a a lowercase i? I'm going to be using them as both exclamations and i's to help make it a little crazier. The dots will be one of those small yet spiky pyamids.

I'm also thinking of adding invisible teles to the map that will be in the spaces of the I's and H's.

The map may sound like crap right now, but you'll have to see it because I think I know what you're thinking. It won't be a smattering of the word "Hi!" all over and spaced out so it all looks so clear. it'll be scrunched in, and I'll use letters from another word to make another one, and even "mutate" some of them to accomadate another. It'll be more like a maze than a smattering of letters.
jaxad0127
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:27 pm

Post by jaxad0127 »

Interesting. Can't wait to see it.
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe »

Indeed. I wonder, can you post screenies later on? :) Or will I be able to open it in BZEdit?
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Re: 4th map

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

dartman wrote:...I'm also thinking of adding invisible teles to the map...
how do you do that?
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Re: 4th map

Post by A Meteorite »

The Knights Who Say Ni wrote:
dartman wrote:...I'm also thinking of adding invisible teles to the map...
how do you do that?
Ummm... you can't - not that I know of.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle »

this will be very interesting. :)
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.
User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Re: 4th map

Post by dartman »

A Meteorite wrote:
The Knights Who Say Ni wrote:
dartman wrote:...I'm also thinking of adding invisible teles to the map...
how do you do that?
Ummm... you can't - not that I know of.
I'm thinking of maybe setting the width depth, and that little yellow thingy that goes around them to 0.

And DW, I don't know how to make screenies. I've actually barely started work on it.

Oh, and this is being made in bzworld. I would make it in iBZEdit, but I don't quite understand that app yet.
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe »

Oh, one quick thing to point out, some of my maps used to have 0 0 0 teleporters on the size. It doesn't work anymore. You can't enter a 0 0 0 teleport and unfortunately for some reason I'll have to change some of my maps because the links don't work coming out of a 0 0 0 so you drive through a teleporter and don't go anywhere.
Ice Wewe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:17 pm

Post by Ice Wewe »

ducatiwannabe wrote:Oh, one quick thing to point out, some of my maps used to have 0 0 0 teleporters on the size. It doesn't work anymore. You can't enter a 0 0 0 teleport and unfortunately for some reason I'll have to change some of my maps because the links don't work coming out of a 0 0 0 so you drive through a teleporter and don't go anywhere.

Yea, I've had that problem. I wish we could have horizontal teleporters, that way if you fell somewhere, you'd get teleported, but it's probably against the code, or something like that. :wink: Invisible teleporters? Can't say I've heard that one before. Perhaps you could give a public a screenie? Like I did with Winter-nee-mas, which BTW, is going to be VERY different from the original screenie. I dumped the snowman, he isn't worth the 350KB he took up.
User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman »

Ice Wewe wrote:
ducatiwannabe wrote:Oh, one quick thing to point out, some of my maps used to have 0 0 0 teleporters on the size. It doesn't work anymore. You can't enter a 0 0 0 teleport and unfortunately for some reason I'll have to change some of my maps because the links don't work coming out of a 0 0 0 so you drive through a teleporter and don't go anywhere.

Yea, I've had that problem. I wish we could have horizontal teleporters, that way if you fell somewhere, you'd get teleported, but it's probably against the code, or something like that. :wink: Invisible teleporters? Can't say I've heard that one before. Perhaps you could give a public a screenie? Like I did with Winter-nee-mas, which BTW, is going to be VERY different from the original screenie. I dumped the snowman, he isn't worth the 350KB he took up.
Don't have a screenie. It was in my mind.
User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman »

Expect a preview of the map to be posted here. Just remember that is just a beginning, and the map wil probably be filled up when it's completely finished.

Also, you'll probably see some piles of stuff in the corners and sides. Those are not going to be a part of the map; they're just stockpiles of materials I made so I don't have to constantly make a new box or building when I want to continue construction. Makes it a lot easier.
User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman »

Here's the preview!
Attachments
Hi!.bzw
Preview of my 4th map. Stuff in the corners and sides are not going to be pat of the map when it's completed because they are simply stockpiles I made for construction convience. The map will, when finished, fill up the whole space.
(7.07 KiB) Downloaded 223 times
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

looks good heres a screenie...
Attachments
Hi!.jpg
(69.19 KiB) Downloaded 131 times
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman »

Okay, the preview is being hosted at ibzedit.servegame.com:5154

At least for today. Be sure to stop by and check it out. It's in the public server list, too.
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe »

cool, good job. Whatcha gonna call it?
User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman »

I don't know for sure, as I'm really not far into it, but I'm thinking of the obvious: "Hi!"
Ice Wewe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:17 pm

Post by Ice Wewe »

dartman wrote:I don't know for sure, as I'm really not far into it, but I'm thinking of the obvious: "Hi!"

:lol: Could you have more Hi's? Looks good, but if I were you, I'd add more ground cover, that stuff is seriously exposed.
User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman »

Ice Wewe wrote:
dartman wrote:I don't know for sure, as I'm really not far into it, but I'm thinking of the obvious: "Hi!"

:lol: Could you have more Hi's? Looks good, but if I were you, I'd add more ground cover, that stuff is seriously exposed.
Well, like I said, it was just a preview of something Very early in development. And if you read my post, you would've found that the "Hi!"s will cover the entire playfield when it's finished.
Post Reply