BZFlag version 2.x (help please)

Previews and comments on future maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
-shadow-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:03 am

BZFlag version 2.x (help please)

Post by -shadow- » Wed Jan 18, 2006 2:45 am

BZFlag version 2.0.2 ah it is great...(when i had it).
somethin got onto my comp(i think) and bzflag version 2 and later dont work on it anymore. my computer thinks it is a process to be run in background.

i tried the following things...

re download>no luck
change property specs>no luck
several other things i cant remember>NO LUCK(il post them if i do remember)

any help would be much aprecieated!
i would love to play 2.0.2 again(I MISS THE HILLS!) :cry:
Image
The laws of physics do not apply to me.

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:26 am

Well if you thikn its a virus, scan away! http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

Also, how exactly doesn't it work? Does it dump to desktop without showing anything? Do you see the menu, and it locks up? etc...?

User avatar
-shadow-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:03 am

Post by -shadow- » Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:44 am

no (closest dump to desktop)
it runs it in bground like i dunno spyware?
u dont see it but it is running.
that is what it does.
and ive scanned aloooot and found notin'
i had gotin somtin off my comp afterwards(never worked since)
Image
The laws of physics do not apply to me.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:03 pm

-Shadow- wrote:no (closest dump to desktop)
it runs it in bground like i dunno spyware?
u dont see it but it is running.
that is what it does.
and ive scanned aloooot and found notin'
i had gotin somtin off my comp afterwards(never worked since)

does it show up in your taskbar?

also, how fast is your pc? with 2.0.2 my old pc took 3 min to get bzflag up

User avatar
Saturos
Art Master General
Art Master General
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 2:48 pm
Location: Berlin/Germany
Contact:

Post by Saturos » Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:37 pm

Try deleting your config.

User avatar
-shadow-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:03 am

Post by -shadow- » Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:27 pm

no it does not show up on the task bar. it runs in bground.
and saturos, what config do you mean?
Image
The laws of physics do not apply to me.

User avatar
Soraya
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 352
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:59 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA

Post by Soraya » Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:05 am

ummm, instead of trying to get 2.0.2 to work, why not just get 2.0.4?

User avatar
-shadow-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:03 am

2.x

Post by -shadow- » Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:06 am

i said 2.x doesnt work. that includes...
*2.0.0
*2.0.2
*2.0.4
*2.0.5
none of em work
Image
The laws of physics do not apply to me.

User avatar
Saturos
Art Master General
Art Master General
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 2:48 pm
Location: Berlin/Germany
Contact:

Post by Saturos » Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:59 am

Which OS do you run?

User avatar
-shadow-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:03 am

Post by -shadow- » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:05 am

Microcrap(windows)
Image
The laws of physics do not apply to me.

User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner » Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:46 pm

Open Task Manager, and check if it's in the Applications or Processes tabs.

-Tanner
Tanner - Segway HT i180 Red Owner - Random Map Creator - BZStocks - TS Software

Image

User avatar
Saturos
Art Master General
Art Master General
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 2:48 pm
Location: Berlin/Germany
Contact:

Post by Saturos » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:16 pm

Your config should be in your own documents folder in a directory called "My BZFlag Files" or something like that. I dont use an English Windows (heck, I am not using Windows at all) so I cannot give you the exact path.
If you manage to find it, try deleting your config. Probably it is messed up.

User avatar
-shadow-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:03 am

Post by -shadow- » Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:22 am

Woh! SATUROS! YOU ! ARE ! A ! GENIUS!
i spent a year on that problem thanks a million!
Image
The laws of physics do not apply to me.

Post Reply