Mario Project!

Premade map objects and sections that can be used in user maps.
User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Wed Sep 27, 2006 8:00 pm

Goodbye2U

I used your pipe
:o
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
L4m3r
Hater of Everything
Hater of Everything
Posts: 724
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by L4m3r » Wed Sep 27, 2006 8:02 pm

TD-Linux wrote:L4m3r's pipe mechanism looks great - from what I can tell, it looks like you can teleport both directions. You go in a pipe, you land on a bouncy moving surface that flings you in a teleporter. You fly out of the teleporter in the other pipe and keep going up, landing on the rim. Does that sound right?
Yeah, it's got a one-way moving mesh in the top, so tanks coming in are moved to one side. they then fall in and hit a sloped surface that shoots them through the teleporter. On the arrival side, the tank collides with another slope, which bounces them out to the rim. it's shaped sorta like this:

Code: Select all

|  /|
| | |
|\|/|
With departures on the left and arrivals on the right.
Optimism is just a milder alternative to denial.

User avatar
Destroyer1313
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:21 am
Location: The Boonies

Post by Destroyer1313 » Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:39 am

I finished my Star, Its ready for use in a map. I added hardness to
the star to add detail and made it stand upright. You can make it
drive-thru and put a flag in it.
Attachments
SuperStar.bzw
The Superstar
(25.46 KiB) Downloaded 353 times
bzfi0045.png
(1017.77 KiB) Downloaded 298 times
Dormant. Not really. Kinda.

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:51 am

ok! ive realeased my map! it is only a skeleton of the real map, but it is for gameplay testing! it is kindly hosted on bzflag.norang.ca:5187

after you guys play on it i want you guys to take this poll (awnser in your post)

1. would you play there a lot? why or why not?

2. How is the gameplay?

3. Do you find the map fun, including the way the flags are setup?

4. Do you like the map layout overall? What would you change?

5. What textures would you like to see and where would you like to see models like my mushrooms. If you have any textures for the map, post 'em here.

6. Put any overall suggestions here.



I realise its not fancy or anything and some things need some changing, but tell me what you think so far!
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:17 am

Destroyer1313
that looks nice!
:)
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman » Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:06 pm

eagle wrote:Destroyer1313
that looks nice!
:)
Indeed, it loks a lot beter than the first one.

Destroyer1313
Just for future reference, that's not called a "Superstar". It's actually a Starman. Well..at least the power up is a Starman. The kind that you collect in SM64 are just plain old stars.

User avatar
TD-Linux
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 724
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Post by TD-Linux » Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:30 pm

Naturally, Mario has two kinds of pipes: ones that you can go down, and ones you can't. Give it a mix of both :)

Eagle: That map is nice, but the only Mario-themed elements are the two pipes...

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:50 pm

TD-Linux wrote:Eagle: That map is nice, but the only Mario-themed elements are the two pipes...
Yeah what happned to the star?
Image

User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner » Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:31 pm

I can't jump onto the pipe without getting stuck right on the edge and being unable to move from their.

-Tanner
Tanner - Segway HT i180 Red Owner - Random Map Creator - BZStocks - TS Software

Image

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:14 am

TD-Linux
and
ducktape


test map... im sending this out for gameplay testing, i will realease the map with all of the textures, models, and changes once i get a lot of information on how the gameplay is (like from the poll) again, once i get information on how to make it better.

Tanner

your not supposed to be able to jump on the pipe, its decoration and it doesnt go anywhere.


:)
Last edited by eagle on Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Fri Sep 29, 2006 5:59 pm

Oh.... ok well the game play was good I had a Huge! lag but that was my falt
Image

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:55 pm

ducktape

:) i probably need to put some bots on it so it goes up in the list so people see it... (and fill out the poll plz
:slick: )
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Destroyer1313
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:21 am
Location: The Boonies

Post by Destroyer1313 » Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:22 am

dartman wrote:Destroyer1313
Just for future reference, that's not called a "Superstar". It's actually a Starman. Well..at least the power up is a Starman. The kind that you collect in SM64 are just plain old stars.
OK, OK, Superstar, Starman, whatever. I can change it. :)
Last edited by Destroyer1313 on Tue Oct 03, 2006 3:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dormant. Not really. Kinda.

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:59 pm

ok, my newest updates to my map are textures and adding models.




p.s. that was the most successful poll ive ever done! o responses. :roll: :|
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Mopar Madness
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:31 am

Post by Mopar Madness » Fri Oct 06, 2006 12:18 am

small problem with map... u cant cap flag, u go through roof and dont fall back down, also if you get onto the teleporter thing, u cant get off it, cant jump or move

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:21 pm

Davechi04
yea, i figured that out :P I fixed that in my latest version...no one seems to be interested in this anymore though... I should realease my latest version i guess.


edit: teleporter thing? there arent any teleporters. the pipes are for looks and dont do anything....maybe ill change that
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf » Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:08 pm

off topic, but I'm wondering - is there a way I can watch topics without actually being part of them?

Like now, since I"ve posted, the next time someone posts here I'll get an email. Can I do that without needing my own input?

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:15 pm

yea you can do that, if you scroll all the way down the browser and look under and to the right of where the quick reply buttons "preview" and "submit" are you will see the pages of the subject and under that it says "Watch this topic for replies" click that and it will tell you when someone replies. I don't think you have to post to do that.
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:12 pm

thanks much, that helps! :)

and yeah, the reason I asked in this thread is I read a little bit of it, and it seems quite interesting - a great idea, I think

how do I view a list of my watched topics?

thanks, and I'll read the rest of the posts later! :)

peace,
-Christopher

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:38 pm

Ck_asdf

as far as i know you can't view a list of watched topics, sorry
:)
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:17 pm

k, cool - thanks for helping, anyway! :)

User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:30 am

/me thinks the idea and this thread is quite dead :(
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:54 am

Goodbye2U

/me thinks that is so also

maybe ill move on to another, more exciting map....
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Sat Oct 07, 2006 7:12 pm

/me thinks it is too
But it was a good Idea.......

Hey! CK Whats! up! long time no see. lol
Image

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:23 pm

well for those of you who don't alreadt know...donny_baker has kindly updated my map on the norang server to map version 1.6. It has textures and some models including Destroyer's starboy...

*note* the pipe doesn't work....ive asked l4m3r to use his because most players would like to see it working.
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

Post Reply