Mario Project!

Premade map objects and sections that can be used in user maps.
User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Fri Sep 22, 2006 12:20 am

eagle
I did:

Code: Select all

define
....
....
....
enddef

group [object name]
scale x y z
end
and it worked. thanks anyway CannonBallGuy, eagle
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

User avatar
Sir Lance-A-Lot
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Amongst my Computers
Contact:

Post by Sir Lance-A-Lot » Fri Sep 22, 2006 12:29 am

Looks awsome guys! Im addicted to the Mario series - this brings back good memories...

Good luck! 8)
Image

User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman » Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:15 am

Spazzy Mcgee wrote:I found this diagram of how to make mario out of lego - this might help if you are looking to build him out of meshboxes.
http://www1.odn.ne.jp/asobo/Lego-jpg/lego-mario.jpg

I think you should go for the original pixelated mario - it's just more funky and retro, plus it will probably look cool in 3D ;)

IMHO, i think you should position this large mario outside of the playing area - i doubt he will add much in the way of play.

BTW, i'm willing to making some models or textures for this project if you want.
I'm probably going to make him 3Dish. Not quite his current look, but definitely recognizale as Mario. I already thought of a pose to put him in, too.

And thanks for the tips! :D

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Fri Sep 22, 2006 10:59 am

Spazzy Mcgee
go ahead and make any textures or models you want. i might use them:P
plus we all want to see what you can do!
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:48 pm

It would be kool to have a Castle you can goin and get flags or somethin. Or even have the Whole game on/in the Castle with the Mario, Mushroom, coin block, ect
Image

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:15 pm

ducktape

i am making little castles to go over the bases.

wow...a good idea poped into my mind, i can make a mario map series, like one out in a field and one in a castle ect.
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman » Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:21 pm

This would be a nice touch to put on the outside of the castle: a sign that reads "Welcome to...Another Castle"

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Fri Sep 22, 2006 10:40 pm

Sweet that is a good idea
Image

User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:44 pm

:lol: good idea Dartman :D

why not have an area that's underground,
with a pipe going there(Ill try to cut the bottom off the pipe), and
a jump-thru platform to land on, and a high-bouncing physics driver
underneath the platform that shoots you back thru the pipe...

that'd be interesting!

EDIT: made pipe double-sided and hollow, put vertically
Attachments
2xSidedMarioPipe.bzw
The double-sided pipe file
(37 Bytes) Downloaded 256 times
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

User avatar
Destroyer1313
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:21 am
Location: The Boonies

Post by Destroyer1313 » Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:40 pm

I made a superstar, needs a bit more detail but here it is.
Attachments
Star.bzw
(2.86 KiB) Downloaded 302 times
bzfi0043.png
(1019.24 KiB) Downloaded 254 times
Dormant. Not really. Kinda.

User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman » Sat Sep 23, 2006 8:01 pm

I think you forgot the eyes. ;)

User avatar
Destroyer1313
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:21 am
Location: The Boonies

Post by Destroyer1313 » Sat Sep 23, 2006 8:39 pm

dartman wrote:I think you forgot the eyes. ;)
I know, Im gonna fix that soon as I can :D
Dormant. Not really. Kinda.

User avatar
Destroyer1313
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:21 am
Location: The Boonies

Post by Destroyer1313 » Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:19 pm

OK, I got some eyes on it, it looks great, exept it's lazy and on it's side...
bzfs keeps choking on the "spin" parameter. Anyways, bend your neck
left and you can see it fine.
Attachments
bzfi0000.png
(970.25 KiB) Downloaded 245 times
Dormant. Not really. Kinda.

User avatar
L4m3r
Hater of Everything
Hater of Everything
Posts: 724
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by L4m3r » Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:40 pm

I thought of something like this a long time ago, but never got around to really doing anything with it. All I got was a working teleporter pipe (albeit an ugly one).

http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=4251

If anyone wants me to see if I can find the .bzw on CD somewhere let me know.
Optimism is just a milder alternative to denial.

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:01 pm

L4m3r
nice, i need a pipe model but i dont think a working one will fit the map.




update:

im working on the layout but i need a few problems fixed. I am planning a large "research" like thing for the map. I will realease the map in simple form without models and have people play on it, to test its gameplay. then i will add things like my mushrooms ect. When i get the simple form done I will realease it.
*if someone would like to host it PM me*
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:12 pm

Destroyer1313 wrote:bzfs keeps choking on the "spin" parameter.
It's "rotation", not "spin"
eagle wrote: L4m3r
nice, i need a pipe model but i dont think a working one will fit the map.
What about mine? :|
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:18 pm

Goodbye2U
yep, i could use that too, but not 2 sided.
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:21 pm

Goodbye2U wrote:
Destroyer1313 wrote:bzfs keeps choking on the "spin" parameter.
It's "rotation", not "spin"
Nope... it's spin...
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007

User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:54 am

eagle
Check the other page :wink:
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

User avatar
hookah
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 1:03 pm

Post by hookah » Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:48 am

Hehe idea is good and map will be pretty nice. But FPS and lag will be terrible on it, and if server will be on 100 MBIT it will be to low, and servers lag with that map will be minimum 200 and more. Owners lag will be on that server minimum 60.

And there are some problems, there must be at one time 2 servers in 2 continets. One in Europe and second in America. I explain why. Lets consider that Server is in Europe and if American's will try to come and watch what's that, they will wait minutes to load map, because format is big.(i mean all players.) American's will come and play some minutes after what will say "yours lag is terrible" it will be more than 600 (it is 100%) And same thing for Europeans, if they join American Mario server :D

But we can always try :D
I have great idea. We need to find a good plugin designer for BZ, who will make teleport.so
It is a plugin that allows u to teleport to a casttle where are all flags, as where said above.

or a plugin what will enable all flags to get using easy commands, as if u need GM u just type /gm
And it will give u Guided Missled. :D

Sorry for my bad English :D :P

User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Spazzy McGee » Tue Sep 26, 2006 4:39 pm

actually, so long as you follow some basic rules the poly count will be fine. Look at louman's maps - no fps problems as such.

Some tips are:
Never define more divisions than you need to in arcs, spheres, cones etc. no more than 8 are probably needed.

Use an invisible, noshadow, material on faces that are out of sight. Better yet - don't define those mesh faces at all.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon

User avatar
TD-Linux
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 724
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Post by TD-Linux » Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:19 am

Why don't you need working pipes? From what I see, the pipe isn't too big.

L4m3r's pipe mechanism looks great - from what I can tell, it looks like you can teleport both directions. You go in a pipe, you land on a bouncy moving surface that flings you in a teleporter. You fly out of the teleporter in the other pipe and keep going up, landing on the rim. Does that sound right?

User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:25 am

^Yeah, that sounds like how you suggested it.
But try going back the way you came. Your tank plays boomerang. :?
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:26 am

TD-Linux
the pipe wouldnt work really unless I made it go from one end to the other, but i can't have the pipe go to the other persons base that would be to easy (the map is a ctf map)
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:40 pm

I can put the original pipe sidways if you want... :wink:
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

Post Reply