plugin error

Questions, comments, and news on the server side plug-ins and it's API
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:55 am

the location dosn't matter.

something about his error messages dosn't make sense
he's geting a dlopen error ( a linux error ) yet keeps talking about his C drive.

I don't think he knows what he's doing.

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:00 am

thats why i thought he was windows

Theme97
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Theme97 » Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:30 am

C:\ = Windows
.dll = Windows
/usr/bin/ = Linux

Code: Select all

-loadplugin ./airspawn.so
?
Image

User avatar
OO7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: <classified>
Contact:

Post by OO7 » Wed Mar 29, 2006 3:32 am

i have windows. where did you get linux from?

Theme97
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: plugin error

Post by Theme97 » Wed Mar 29, 2006 3:34 am

OO7 wrote:Did find:
/usr/lib/: not a file
/usr/lib/ = Linux.
Image

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:30 am

OO7
make sure you are telling -loadpluing EXACTLY where the plugin is.

User avatar
OO7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: <classified>
Contact:

Post by OO7 » Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:42 pm

whats diff between .so and .dll?
and what if the server is linux, yet i am windows??

Theme97
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Theme97 » Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:46 pm

airspawn.so is for Linux.
airspawn.dll is for Windows.

(I just remembered, you use Tadd for hosting!)

You should ask Tadd where the plugins are located or you can tell him to add the plugin line to your conf.
Image

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Mar 30, 2006 12:02 am

plugins are allways for the OS the server runs on. it dosn't mater what OS your comptuer runs on, the server is what matters, plugins run on the server.

User avatar
OO7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: <classified>
Contact:

Post by OO7 » Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:43 pm

ok, i have all the files on both my end and the server.
i use putty to run and control the serever, and i ftp all the files to it, so i can change the conf, map, anything except what version the server is.
ill have to find out if he is using linux or windows.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:37 pm

if your using putty, then your using SSH, the server is most likely linux then. You need to use plugins that are built for linux then. Not a DLL. A DLL plugin will never load on linux.

User avatar
OO7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: <classified>
Contact:

Post by OO7 » Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:54 pm

ah. okay. where do i get plugins for linux? i looked thru the souces here: http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/bzflag/ but got waaay lost

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:38 am

in general you build them yourself from the sources. If you are not sure on how to build you should ask your server owner for help. You can get the current bzflag sources from CVS, or from the posted tarball if you are using a premade release.

again.. if you are not sure ask your server owner.

User avatar
tadd
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 2:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

the server and what is on it

Post by tadd » Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:05 am

The server is MacOSX 10.4.5 on an Apple Mac Mini PPC G4.

The bzfs path is:
/applications/BZFlag-2.0.4.app/Contents/MacOS/bzfs

or

/applications/bzflag205/BZFlag.app/Contents/MacOS/bzfs

Both are on there. The path is a little different, be careful.

Does this help?
Tadd
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 800 character limit

User avatar
OO7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: <classified>
Contact:

Post by OO7 » Sat Apr 01, 2006 1:06 am

are there plugins in there?

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Sat Apr 01, 2006 1:07 am

perhaps you 2 shoudl work it out in private messages.

User avatar
tadd
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 2:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

I'm clueless about plugins

Post by tadd » Sat Apr 01, 2006 3:52 am

Actually... I don't know anything about plug-ins. Does the MacOSX version have plug-ins? Or does it depend on how it was compiled?
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 800 character limit

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Sat Apr 01, 2006 3:54 am

it depends on how it was compiled, the binarys we ship do not support plugins.

User avatar
tadd
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 2:25 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

ok thanks

Post by tadd » Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:01 am

Thanks Jeff.

Well OO7... the question then is how do we acquire and compile plug-ins. My take is that if somebody has a doc describing the process or can walk me (or you) through the process, then I'm ok with playing further. Right now I'm in the middle of another software project, some travel, and i won't be able to participate for at least several days.

Perhaps you can put together what we need before the next time I'm around.

Tadd
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 800 character limit

Post Reply