Windows Service Pack 2 kills my BZFLAG !

Important stuff goes here.
Post Reply
Blaster
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 12:50 am

Windows Service Pack 2 kills my BZFLAG !

Post by Blaster »

When i download Windows service pack 2 bzflag stops working and says the drivers are unstable or some thing like that.
Any ideas or new drivers out there?
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5195
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM »

you would want to make sure that you have the current video drivers for what ever video card you have, and also make sure that the firewall is set to let bzflag get out ot the internet.

what video card do you have?
ImageJeffM
Blaster
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 12:50 am

Post by Blaster »

NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4805
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

Try installing the latest NVIDIA ForceWare XP/2k drivers.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
Blaster
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 12:50 am

Post by Blaster »

Thanks that worked great but now i cant find anybody in the games to war with every one fell off the planet
the Green Flag
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:55 am

Post by the Green Flag »

When BZ opens press alt-tab. There should be a windows firewall authorize window open. Just unblock BZFlag and you.re set.
User avatar
ski
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 562
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:30 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Post by ski »

the Green Flag wrote:When BZ opens press alt-tab. There should be a windows firewall authorize window open. Just unblock BZFlag and you.re set.
cool, i didnt know that. thanks 8)
Rest In Peace Vivek
1986-2005 :(

Image
------------------------------
Member of DUB

Visit: Image
Image
User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG »

If you have a McAffe firewall, it does that too, except it slides in a notification from the side of the screen asking you to allow bzflag.exe to connect to the internet. Pretty tricky to catch while playing a fullscreen game.
User avatar
cookiecutter
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:25 am
Location: Boston MA

Post by cookiecutter »

You can set it to always allow so it remembers that it should allow bzflag
Pwnz@Secretplace
Image
User avatar
Mostly Harmless!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:37 am
Location: California

Post by Mostly Harmless! »

You can also use windowed mode.

I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones.
It is not the fall that kills you. It's the sudden stop at the end.
Always remember you are unique. Just like everybody else.
Post Reply