BZFlag Chatroom

Important stuff goes here.
Post Reply
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5195
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

BZFlag Chatroom

Post by JeffM »

ok, so there is a chatroom button at the top of EVERY page now.
If you are loged in and click it, it will take you to the BZChat chatroom we have set up.

use it wisly.
ImageJeffM
Guest

Post by Guest »

Heh, it's just a hotlink to the CGI IRC. :) But nice idea. ;)
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5195
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM »

it is just a pety button to the IRC. But it sends you to a chat only channel.
ImageJeffM
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5195
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM »

and for the love of Pete, when you join it, don't say hello and just leave when somone dosn't get right back to you. It's not like everyone in there is waiting just for you to speak.

hang out
chill
wait a bit and see what happens.
ImageJeffM
User avatar
Sharpshooter
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:48 am
Location: CALIFORNIA
Contact:

Post by Sharpshooter »

About this chatroom- When i click the button, it says "loading...." and I wait for like 10 minutes, so then i reloaded the page, then says "Access Denied: Too many connections". I tried it on the other browser i have, but still does the same. And it does this every day i click it.
Image
Rebel Chik0rita
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:44 pm

Post by Rebel Chik0rita »

i think it would be neet if the chat room link opened up in its own new window automatically...so it would at least be more like a faux IM chat box ;)


that way peeple can browse the forums an lurk in the chat room easier ;)

(if this is possible ..an without much difficulties . i hope doesn't cause the "too many connections" problem?)

i know we could just manually open up a new window on our own , but this would be a nice touch ;)
User avatar
[dmp]
Captain
Captain
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 3:20 pm
Location: CPH, Denmark
Contact:

Post by [dmp] »

No, internal links shouldn't pop up new windows. (nor external links, but at least that make more sense). Let the user decide if s/he wants new windows/tab.

Press and hold shift down (I think thats also works for IE) while clicking on the link or right-click and select "open in new window". Voilá, now you can browse the forums while chatting.
I don't need huge pictures here.
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5195
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM »

if you use firefox, you can right click and say "open in a new tab" as well.
ImageJeffM
User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron »

JeffM2501

its all about them tabs eh?
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!
User avatar
Hannibal
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1073
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Hannibal »

Tabs rule!
Games don't make people violent, lag does.
ImageImage
Rebel Chik0rita
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:44 pm

Post by Rebel Chik0rita »

meacan wrote: Press and hold shift down (I think thats also works for IE) while clicking on the link or right-click and select "open in new window". Voilá, now you can browse the forums while chatting.

o okies ty [dmpee] =)

<<<computer n00b ;P





edit: yay , clicking link + shift key works for IE
User avatar
Harlin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 6:37 am
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Contact:

Post by Harlin »

ehh, like many an Irc channel, there's still not a lot of activity there.
User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Activity

Post by RPG »

Harlin wrote:ehh, like many an Irc channel, there's still not a lot of activity there.
OOhhh trust me, if you come on at the right time, there's plenty of activity :).
User avatar
BIYA
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:43 am
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contact:

Post by BIYA »

I remember we spent 2 hours talking about random news I found on this strange site.

Not to mention the 10 hours it took Jeff to teach me to run a server.
Rebel Chik0rita
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:44 pm

Post by Rebel Chik0rita »

no bots to feed there ...

awn
User avatar
TD-Linux
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 724
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Post by TD-Linux »

Well... if you go #bzflag, there are a few bots that you can feed! Just don't do it too much, or when JeffM2501 is on. #botpark is for that. ;)
Rebel Chik0rita
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:44 pm

Post by Rebel Chik0rita »

ah #botpark ;)

yea i know there are bots on #bzflag but people get mad when i feed them ;P

still it would be nice to have 1 bot on #bzchat ..for info stuffs ... ;P
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5195
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM »

TheLastSpartan is a bot, and is in the channel. It is doing match reporting. It can be used for a lot more.
ImageJeffM
Rebel Chik0rita
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:44 pm

Post by Rebel Chik0rita »

ooH


kewl =)
badnet
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:07 pm

Post by badnet »

it's just a hotlink to the CGI IRC
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite »

badnet
I think it's already been said... :roll:
CannonBallGuy wrote:Heh, it's just a hotlink to the CGI IRC. :) But nice idea. ;)
Just had to point that out. :P
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
User avatar
learner
General
General
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 2:06 am
Location: Maryland
Contact:

CGI:IRC and some browsers

Post by learner »

If you have trouble getting in to the "Chat Room" or if things don't quite seem to be working correctly, your best bet is to try a different browser. Some browsers will specifically not work with the CGI:IRC interface that the web-based chat interface uses (e.g. certain versions of Netscape, old versions of IE, and Safari). So again, in short, try a different browser if it doesn't seem to be working for you. e.g. Firefox should work regardless of the platform.

Cheers!
Post Reply