multple maps in 1 conf file

Need help seting up a server, or have a question on how to run one? This is the place.
Post Reply
User avatar
Macint
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:21 pm

multple maps in 1 conf file

Post by Macint »

So this is how i start all of the maps now

so i start lots of shell prompts (terminal windows)

and i put in the code for each map in a seaparet window.

and it works
now after i while you get a lot of windows filing up the screen

so what i tried to do is have al that code in 1 conf file

this is how it looks

Code: Select all


-helpmsg /var/www/bzflag/help/rules.txt rules
-helpmsg /var/www/bzflag/help/hosting.txt hosting
-helpmsg /var/www/bzflag/help/maps.txt maps
-helpmsg /var/www/bzflag/help/chat.txt chat
-helpmsg /var/www/bzflag/help/admin.txt admins


# Maps


-world /var/www/bzflag/maps/boggie.bzw -p 5552 -publicaddr mlinuxserver.no-ip.org:5552 -public "Boggie By: Rietzen" 


 -p 5555 -publicaddr mlinuxserver.no-ip.org:5555 -public "Cubic made by: Max Wells" -world /var/www/bzflag/maps/Cubic.bzw -fb -autoTeam -loadplugin /var/www/bzflag/plugins/fair/fairCTF.so,0.25:2:3

-p 5154 -publicaddr mlinuxserver.no-ip.org:5154 -public "J-P Made By: Jack BZ" -world /var/www/bzflag/maps/ny_jp.bzw -srvmsg "##### Welcome #####" -fb -autoTeam -mts 10


so and when i start it it only show 1 server.


???????

dont undersatnd


thx for all help

Macint.
Legolas_
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 10:24 pm

Post by Legolas_ »

If its all in the same conf you can not ( i think..) run 2 servers. You would need to have 2 different configs. and shell prompts in your terminal.

Besides, if you are on Mac with terminal, cant you minimize the screens??
User avatar
Macint
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:21 pm

Post by Macint »

well the server is on ubuntu



but how does louman.norang they got like hundred servs...


ahh wel thx anyway!
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5196
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am

Post by JeffM »

each copy of bzfs runs one map, on one port.

you have to run an instance of bzfs for each one.

if you want to share configs between them, then you have to take the port and map info out of the config, and specify it from the command line.

you can not have more then one port, or more then one map in a single config file, because a single server can not run more then one map or more then one port.

The OS of the server does not mater.

Many of the hosts that run a number of servers use a config and a shell script to setup servers.
ImageJeffM
User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner »

You can use the screen command to set up different terminal screens which you can detach from and they will still run (plus you can come back to them later). Or I guess you could run it in the background.

-Tanner
Tanner - Segway HT i180 Red Owner - Random Map Creator - BZStocks - TS Software

Image
User avatar
Macint
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:21 pm

Post by Macint »

k thx (psst i alredy do that screen thing)

well would it be possible to do a Cron job of this? like a demon.
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano »

Macint wrote:but how does louman.norang they got like hundred servs...
Technically, it's only 55 on 3 different boxes ;)
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

Macint
I would assume they use create a new screen for each bzfs instance.

Code: Select all

man screen
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Post by macsforme »

Yes, you can specify it like:

Code: Select all

./bzfs -p 5154 -publicaddr your.server.com:5154 -conf main.conf
./bzfs -p 5155 -publicaddr your.server.com:5155 -conf main.conf
although I doubt that you want completely identical servers on multiple ports, so you'd probably want more options. Alternatively, you can utilize -conf multiple times:

Code: Select all

./bzfs -conf main.conf -conf server1.conf
./bzfs -conf main.conf -conf server2.conf
I actually used -conf three times for a server I ran once.
Post Reply