Need Help with public server!!!

Need help seting up a server, or have a question on how to run one? This is the place.
M4 Sherman Commander
Private First Class
Private First Class

Need Help with public server!!!

Post by M4 Sherman Commander »

I am new to creating and administrating public servers. I know how to set up a private one with a custom map, but can't figue out how to start a public server. I am also a beginner with Windows Command Prompt. I am using a Windows XP. Please, can anyone help me?
Bambino
Private First Class
Private First Class

Re: Need Help with public server!!!

Post by Bambino »

Add -public "dis mai noo kool map!"
and -publicaddr "127.0.0.1:5154"

"## List server Connection ##

# This is the public message that the server advertises on the public
# server list. This is required if you want to be shown on the list.
# It often advertises the map you are using. Keep it short.
-public "Noo BZFlag Server With Random Map"

# This is also needed to be listed on the public server list. The
# address needs to be valid in DNS. It's your IP, plus port number.
-publicaddr 123.456.789.000:5154

# The server will listen on this port. Default port is 5154.
-p 5154"

^ from the wiki
http://my.bzflag.org/w/Sample_conf
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein
GU League | Ducati League | OpenLeague
M4 Sherman Commander
Private First Class
Private First Class

I tried that but it said "error: unexpected EOF". It also said that my custom map "error: world map failed to load". Any ideas?
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Post by JeffM »

it means that your map has errors.

The error messages usually mean what they say.

I'm guessing that your map is missing some parts.
ImageJeffM
M4 Sherman Commander
Private First Class
Private First Class

The map I made works fine in a private server. Is there something I need to do to the Command Prompt to make it work?
joevano
General
General

Post by joevano »