bzfs debian package and plugin support

Need help seting up a server, or have a question on how to run one? This is the place.
nostromo
Private First Class
Private First Class

bzfs debian package and plugin support

Post by nostromo »

Hi everybody,

Im relativly new to this, therfore I ask for a little help.
I can use a debian (lenny) server and want to host - for some private lanparty - a bzflag server.
I can deal with setting up an server on windows, and have no problems. But on linux, I am really a noobish beginner.

I tried to compile bzfs for a day, but everytime I get some failures, some dependencies not installed, or some cruel messages while doing ./configure. seems I need some time to get used to linux (by terminal though).

So my first question is:
Is there a debian deb-package with activated plugin support (you know, --enable-shared)? The one I found was without plugin support.

Second question:
I want to use the spawnrecord plugin (http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=79&t=12003); can I use the precompiled .so - file (compiled on mac)? If not, where do I get a compiled one or the source?

I really apreciate every help in this; thnx in advance
Last edited by nostromo on Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mrapple
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Re: need help: bzfs deb package and plugin

Post by mrapple »

First Answer: im sure someone was made a compiled bzfs for debian with plugin support but im sure you could find another one somewhere :book:

Second Answer: yes you can use the plugin that was compiled on a mac on linux i believe. and the sourve was avaiable in the post if you look at the bottom. there is also a compiled .so that someone else attached that works for me if yours doesnt work.

need any more help? let me know
blast
General
General

Post by blast »