Page 2 of 5

Get on the bzchat channel

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 2:50 pm
by optic delusion
Get on the bzchat channel

ports

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 2:14 pm
by Legolas_
hi, i use a airport and i was wondering how to open a udp port? i got the tcp but the udp is confusing.

any help would be well apprecieated.

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:30 pm
by Guest

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:38 pm
by Legolas_
that works for tcp only i need udp :(

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 6:58 pm
by Guest
It should be somewhere on the routers control thing...
Tell us the make and model of it, or ask your parents what to do with it...

ok

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 8:14 pm
by Legolas_
I use an Apple Airport v5.5.1
Id# 00:0d:93:7f:11:22

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:16 pm
by Guest
That sounds like your wireless network card...
What is the make and model of your "Router"?

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 1:41 am
by A Meteorite
CannonBallGuy wrote:That sounds like your wireless network card...
What is the make and model of your "Router"?
Isn't the AirPort a router? :?

1BadPlayer

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 3:10 am
by optic delusion
just so you know CBG, I helped him alot yesterday on the chatchannel.
He's running locally, just needs to get the darn ports open, and I think he will be OK. I gave him my example conf, which he seemed to like, He was a prime candidate for my checklist too.

Legolas, I don't know what to tell you, about airport.
1BadPlayer serves using an airport, maybe he can help.

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 3:15 pm
by Guest
Ah, ok, you have an airport base station... :)

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:34 pm
by optic delusion

Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:36 am
by Ice Wewe
I installed Developer Tools (yep, all 3 GB or what ever) on my OS X (10.4) and BZFlag still wont make! I get through the compile, and about half way through the make, and I get an undefined SDL lib error (or something like that)... it sucks. :P :evil:

Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:08 am
by A Meteorite
Ice Wewe wrote:I installed Developer Tools (yep, all 3 GB or what ever) on my OS X (10.4) and BZFlag still wont make! I get through the compile, and about half way through the make, and I get an undefined SDL lib error (or something like that)... it sucks. :P :evil:
Download the runtime library and dev library of SDL here: http://www.libsdl.org/download-1.2.php

Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:47 pm
by Reaper
Ok, I'm trying to set up a server and I downloaded the files and stuck the 3 of them in my home folder. Then I opened up Terminal and typed ./bzfs.txt It replied ./bzfs.txt: line 1: /Applications/BZFlag/BZFlag-2.0.2.app/Contents/MacOS/bzfs: No such file or directory. What is up with that? I have opened the bzfs file in that location. I have no idea what to do next.

Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:30 pm
by CannonBallGuy
It is quote possible that you have 2.0.4, not 2.0.2 and that it may not be in a "BZFlag" folder.

Change /Applications/BZFlag/BZFlag-2.0.2.app/Contents/MacOS/bzfs to suit you.

A quick way of finding the path to your bzfs is to do this:
Find your latest version of BZFlag. CTRL-Click it and choose "Show Package Contents". Go into MacOS. Here you will see bzfs. Drag that into a new terminal window.
Now you can copy the Path it gives you into the bzfs.txt file. :)

Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:03 pm
by tw1sted
he probably should change the bzfs.txt file to this ( if he just draged bzflag to his aplication folder ):

/Applications/BZFlag-2.0.4[ or .6 or .8 ].app/Contents/MacOS/bzfs

Posted: Mon May 22, 2006 12:20 pm
by macsforme
"Contents/MacOS/bzfs" is right, just do what CannonBallGuy said and make sure you have the right path leading up to that. If you have "BZFlag-2.0.8" in your Applications folder, for instance, your path would be "/Applications/BZFlag-2.0.8.app/Contents/MacOS/bzfs".

Bad Link

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:08 pm
by that exploding tank
When I click the link to download the disk image to my computer, it takes me to one of those cheap search engines, NOT to a downloading page. Can you fix this?

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:21 pm
by CannonBallGuy
Hmm, yeah, that domain expired a long time ago.
I'll see what I can do...

How to solve

Posted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:40 am
by knoxkorner
This is my guess..... i just think it doesnt like it.......




Im just kidding my true guess is that those three filer are not allowed in there. To solve this problem is simple. Step 1. Grab phone. Step 2. Call dad. Step 3 (OPTIONAL) If he says he will not come, and he has his blackberry make it full with junk mail. If this does not work, go to his office and kick him. Step 4. Bring him to your house and shove his face at the computer screen. Step 5. Go downstairs and let him work. Step 6. Go back to the computer and he should have it all done. :D :D :D :D :D





:lol-old: :lol-old: :lol-old:





P.s. This will work with anything on the computer!
P.s.s. It worked for me

Re: Limited Success

Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 3:52 pm
by ramires_pl
DTRemenak wrote:
n1mie wrote:I'm having another problem. I saved a couple of the worlds out there that I liked to make use of them at home, but I haven't been able to determine how to get textures working (otherwise they are fine). The map files reference a texture in a web format ("http://..."). I changed this to a file reference ("file:///") and it didn't work, even with a complete and explicit path. I suppose I could put the textures on a web space I own, but there must be a way to reference them locally. The ones I have are in PNG format, I tried JPG and BMP with no success.
The textures need to be accessible from the CLIENTS. Therefore they need to be published somewhere that the clients can find them...http and ftp are supported.
Files from other server than:

Code: Select all

allow *.bzflag.bz
allow *.bzflag.org
deny *
arent allowed. This restrictions are in file DownloadAccess.tx and you will find it in ~/Library/Application Support/Bzflag

"~" means your local Library Folder located into Home directory
every clients must add your server to your files work.
My post about this is here:
http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=9684
and the resolution is here
http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=7993

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:02 am
by Fozzy
I suceeded to run a BZFlag Server on Mac OS X.10 without using the terminal app but only with the graphic interface. The only thing I didn't manage to do was to change the map. How do you load another map to your server? Where do you put the maps you downloaded on Mac OS X to load them with the graphic interface server configuration?
Please, don't tell me there are no other ways than using man config on the terminal :?

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:23 pm
by blast
Fozzy wrote:I suceeded to run a BZFlag Server on Mac OS X.10 without using the terminal app but only with the graphic interface. The only thing I didn't manage to do was to change the map. How do you load another map to your server? Where do you put the maps you downloaded on Mac OS X to load them with the graphic interface server configuration?
Please, don't tell me there are no other ways than using man config on the terminal :?
By "graphic interface", do you mean, from within the client? You can't run a full fledge server from the "Start Server" menu in the client. That menu is only for starting a quick game, for LAN play only.

However, it should be possible to place world files (with .bzw extensions) into the "~/Library/Application Support/BZFlag/worlds/" directory. However, I recall something about an issue with map selection, so no guarantee it will show all/any of your maps in that directory.

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:53 pm
by Fozzy
blast wrote: By "graphic interface", do you mean, from within the client? You can't run a full fledge server from the "Start Server" menu in the client. That menu is only for starting a quick game, for LAN play only.
I'm sorry, I forgot, I made it for a LAN play. So, if I put my dowloaded maps into ~/Library/Application Support/BZFlag/worlds/ I should be able to choose them from the client?

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:58 pm
by joevano
blast wrote:However, I recall something about an issue with map selection, so no guarantee it will show all/any of your maps in that directory.