Help: Flags

Need help seting up a server, or have a question on how to run one? This is the place.
Post Reply
User avatar
knoxkorner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:24 pm

Help: Flags

Post by knoxkorner »

I know how to place flags and all, but i dont know any of the codes! can some one send me a url with all the codes for putting flags on a map? I want them specifically placed!
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5196
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am

Post by JeffM »

read the manuals for the server and the map format ( bzfs and bzw ).
ImageJeffM
Thumper
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Ask the server

Post by Thumper »

Code: Select all

bzfs -help 
lists all the flags
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3258
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe »

Maybe if somebody told him where or how to get to these? :) We make more work for ourselves by not posting enough information. Of course, we get people mad at us if we post too much. :D
User avatar
Zelgadis
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:31 pm
Location: European Union

Post by Zelgadis »

When i understood you right, u want have this:

Code: Select all

+f GM{3}
GM= Guided Missile
{3}= how many

The best Way to learn it, is to look at /misc/bzfs.conf
Want to improve your skill? Join the http://guleague.org!
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3258
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe »

I want them specifically placed!
Do you mean like a zone? They only spawn in one place?
User avatar
Zelgadis
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:31 pm
Location: European Union

Post by Zelgadis »

When he meant zone, then:

Code: Select all

zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM
end
Or for more flags, example GM, SW, L:

Code: Select all

zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM SW L
end

:)
Want to improve your skill? Join the http://guleague.org!
User avatar
knoxkorner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:24 pm

Post by knoxkorner »

1st Consul wrote:When he meant zone, then:

Code: Select all

zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM
end
Or for more flags, example GM, SW, L:

Code: Select all

zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM SW L
end

:)
Yes this is exactly what i meant. but there is one thing i must ask. If i put them in a txt file and saved, would the flags show up in bzedit? nearly the same as wings models?
meeba
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
Posts: 507
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:49 pm
Location: N. Sanity Beach

Post by meeba »

no, they would not show up in bzedit.
User avatar
Zelgadis
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:31 pm
Location: European Union

Post by Zelgadis »

Yep TangenT right.

BzEdit is in such thing not good, it cant read:

zones, cones, meshboxes, arcs.......

EDIT: You can use "pyBZEdit" to open the Files and edit them, but when you save, then pyBZEdit will delete zones, arcs, cones.....
Want to improve your skill? Join the http://guleague.org!
meeba
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
Posts: 507
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:49 pm
Location: N. Sanity Beach

Post by meeba »

really, if you need a preview, just open bzfs with the map and join your new server as an observer (or player). that's how I test my maps.
User avatar
knoxkorner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:24 pm

Post by knoxkorner »

anti-spam wrote:
1st Consul wrote:When he meant zone, then:

Code: Select all

zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM
end
Or for more flags, example GM, SW, L:

Code: Select all

zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM SW L
end



:)
Yes this is exactly what i meant. but there is one thing i must ask. If i put them in a txt file and saved, would the flags show up in bzedit? nearly the same as wings models?
There is one more things i must ask Do you put it in options?

Code: Select all

Options
-j
-c
-tankSpeed 40
zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM SW L
end
Or:

Code: Select all

 Box
YA
ya
ya
ya
end 

zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM SW L
end


Ps. this is a big post lol
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

a zone is an object, not an option.
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
knoxkorner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:24 pm

Post by knoxkorner »

somethings not working this is exactly what i typed

Code: Select all

zone
  position 0 0 210
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag G
end
is this bcause its inside a drivethrough pyramid/shoot through? i also tried

Code: Select all

zone
  position 300 300 0
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM
end
yes i did mean to change flags



Edit: code #2 is where a pyramid is i will retry.


Edit: i mean teleporter lol
User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1405
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom

Post by Spazzy McGee »

Forget everything anybody ever told you about it.

Use zoneflag, it creates a flag and drops it in the zone, no questions asked. If you want it on a building you need to add the -fb in the options at the top of the file too, like this:

Code: Select all

options
  -fb
end
and for the flag, do this:

Code: Select all

## this places a GM flag. for multiple of one flag put 'zoneflag GM x'
## where x is the number of flags. you can specify more than one 
## zoneflag in a zone. You can't put zones in a group definition.

zone 
  position 300 300 0 
  size 1 1 1 
  rotation 0 
  zoneflag GM
end
You don't need to have anything else in the options or config file if you do it like that, and you have accurare poisioning of flags.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon
User avatar
Zelgadis
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:31 pm
Location: European Union

Post by Zelgadis »

Spazzy is in right, but not every bzfs/Bzlfag vesion supports "zoneflag"....
Want to improve your skill? Join the http://guleague.org!
User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1405
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom

Post by Spazzy McGee »

The current stable version of bzfs does, that's all that matters.
Unless you're specifically building your maps for early versions, you can use anything from the current release.

The client dosn't care about zoneflag because it's the server that places flags.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon
User avatar
knoxkorner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:24 pm

Post by knoxkorner »

oH. zoneflag. Why didnt anyone tell me that?
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

They did.
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
knoxkorner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:24 pm

Post by knoxkorner »

CannonBallGuy wrote:They did.
not here
Zelgadis wrote:When he meant zone, then:

Code: Select all

zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM
end
Or for more flags, example GM, SW, L:

Code: Select all

zone
  position 0 -902 66
  size 2 2 1
  rotation 0
  flag GM SW L
end

:)
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

anti-spam wrote:
CannonBallGuy wrote:They did.
not here
Yes... They did:
Spazzy Mcgee wrote:Use zoneflag
Spazzy Mcgee wrote:you can specify more than one zoneflag in a zone.
Spazzy Mcgee wrote:

Code: Select all

zone 
  position 300 300 0 
  size 1 1 1 
  rotation 0 
  zoneflag GM
end
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
Zelgadis
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:31 pm
Location: European Union

Post by Zelgadis »

hehe :)

When you use the 2.0.8 Version, on your HOME PC, the i dont think it will every work (zoneflag).
Because i tryed it out :) (on windows)
Want to improve your skill? Join the http://guleague.org!
User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1405
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom

Post by Spazzy McGee »

Zelgadis wrote: When you use the 2.0.8 Version, on your HOME PC, the i dont think it will every work (zoneflag).
Er... I'm not going to argue the point, zonflag will work with bzfs 2.0.8 (on any computer that will run bzfs), and any 2.0 client will support it.
Zelgadis wrote:i tryed it out on windows
Ouch.
In what way did you try it out? If I rememer correctly, the "Start Server" menu in windows bzflag client dosn't work properly.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon
Post Reply