Bzflag 2.1.11

Questions or HOWTOs about the above? Post 'em here...
User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!

Bzflag 2.1.11

Post by ducktape »

I need help getting the new bzflag alpha version. I'm in ubuntu. and need help. it would be nice if someone could walk thru it with me. PM me for instant messenger.

thanks

-ducktape
Image
dango
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.

Post by dango »

ok, you copy and paste this code into the terminal:
cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@bzflag.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/bzflag login
press enter and copy/paste this into terminal
cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@bzflag.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/bzflag co -P bzflag
then do
cd bzflag
then do these commands in this order:
./autogen.sh
./configure
/make
su- <rootpassword>
/make install

make sure you have CVS, configure, and automake installed, along with other things bzflag needs.
Image
Defman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 4:06 am

Post by Defman »

me1 wrote: su- <rootpassword>
/make install
would you want to keep another version installed side by side with this one, you may want to avoid these last two I think. not exactly sure.
User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner »

Defman wrote:
me1 wrote: su- <rootpassword>
/make install
would you want to keep another version installed side by side with this one, you may want to avoid these last two I think. not exactly sure.
Yeah, I was interested in installing the 2.1.11 just for the fun of it, but I don't want to uninstall the current stable version.

-Tanner
Tanner - Segway HT i180 Red Owner - Random Map Creator - BZStocks - TS Software

Image
User avatar
Tropican8
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: As close to the grove as you can get

Post by Tropican8 »

First of all, don't follow those make instructions. If you are compiling on Ubuntu, you should be using checkinstall as the last step (you'll have to apt-get checkinstall before you use it). Also, if you want to keep both versions, use a make target to install it in a specific directory.

Second, if you just want a binary, the Debian repos will probably work. There may be unforeseen problems, as Ubuntu is NOT Debian, despite public opinion. You can try here though: http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=8793
User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!

Post by ducktape »

ok thanks for all your help
Image
User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!

Post by ducktape »

me1 wrote:ok, you copy and paste this code into the terminal:
cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@bzflag.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/bzflag login
press enter and copy/paste this into terminal
cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@bzflag.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/bzflag co -P bzflag
then do
cd bzflag
then do these commands in this order:
./autogen.sh
./configure
/make
su- <rootpassword>
/make install

make sure you have CVS, configure, and automake installed, along with other things bzflag needs.
I did that but I got this error:

Code: Select all

bash: cvs: command not found
Image
User avatar
Davy Jones
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:39 am
Location: Davy Jone's Locker

Post by Davy Jones »

have you, at any point installed the dev tools?
Owner @ The Twin Towers
Admin @ The Two Boxes
Cop @ Army Of One
Image
Image
User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner »

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install cvs
Poof.

-Tanner
Tanner - Segway HT i180 Red Owner - Random Map Creator - BZStocks - TS Software

Image
User avatar
Saturos
Art Master General
Art Master General
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 2:48 pm
Location: Berlin/Germany
Contact:

Post by Saturos »

Davy Jones wrote:have you, at any point installed the dev tools?
->
first post wrote:I'm in ubuntu
dango
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.

Post by dango »

ducktape, i said make sure you have CVS installed before you try this.

Like tanner said, poof!

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install cvs 
Image
User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!

Post by ducktape »

do I have to do the "sudo" cuz I dont want it on all the acounts.
I tryed it with out the Sudo but I got this:

Code: Select all

E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13 Permission denied)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?
Image
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite »

ducktape wrote:do I have to do the "sudo" cuz I dont want it on all the acounts.
I tryed it with out the Sudo but I got this:

Code: Select all

E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13 Permission denied)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?
Yes, you must use sudo. Sudo elevates your privileges to root which are needed to install packages with apt-get (did you notice the "are you root?"?).

I don't know why you don't want cvs available to all users. It is perfectly safe and the point of software is to have it for everyone. You could technically install it just for yourself, but you'll have to learn a lot and it would have no benefits (meaning you'll need take care of cvs's dependencies, download the cvs source, and compile it - it's not fun).
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!

Post by ducktape »

I didnt want it on all cuz I'm not admin on my computer my dad is. I'll talk to him about it and get the password. thanks all

-ducktape
Image
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite »

ducktape wrote:I didnt want it on all cuz I'm not admin on my computer my dad is. I'll talk to him about it and get the password. thanks all

-ducktape
You could get around that by installing cvs in your local account, but it won't be particularly easy (I could easily do it, but with your Linux experience... you'd need a walkthrough...).
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4931
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

A Meteorite wrote:You could get around that by installing cvs in your local account, but it won't be particularly easy (I could easily do it, but with your Linux experience... you'd need a walkthrough...).
...And a miracle.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!

Post by ducktape »

yeah um thanks for your help (and blasts inconvenience). I have this all figred out A met is helping me. thanks to all.

-ducktape
Image
User avatar
Cruel dog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Québec province, Canada
Contact:

Post by Cruel dog »

Nice, i run Ubuntu too, i followed the instructions, worked fine, thanks! Posts can be useful to more thern 1 person :P
Owner@ BZAddict.net
Admin @ bunch of servers
And much more!
"Even if I am named Cruel dog, I still am friendly! I just become Cruel with troublemakers! xD"
User avatar
Cruel dog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Québec province, Canada
Contact:

Post by Cruel dog »

Hmmm... one thing, i've started it, and new mountains, new logo... But, i do find server, it finds the 2.0.x servers! and it joins it! It shows for 2.0.9... Wasnt it supposed to be a new protocol? Or, does anyone knows a 2.1.x server address & port? if so, could u tell me, i envy trying it!
Owner@ BZAddict.net
Admin @ bunch of servers
And much more!
"Even if I am named Cruel dog, I still am friendly! I just become Cruel with troublemakers! xD"
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

Can you show us exactly what commands you ran?
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
Cruel dog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Québec province, Canada
Contact:

Post by Cruel dog »

i did exactly what is shown upper. i did:

cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@bzflag.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/bzflag login

Then,
cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@bzflag.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/bzflag co -P bzflag

Then ./autogen.sh then, ./configure and finally, /make

I didnt do make install cause i didnt want to delete my other bz. The logo changed, the admin sound too, and the mountains. But i see and can play on all 2.0.x servers. i see the normal serverlist, and when i do /clientquery, it shows as 2.0.9
Owner@ BZAddict.net
Admin @ bunch of servers
And much more!
"Even if I am named Cruel dog, I still am friendly! I just become Cruel with troublemakers! xD"
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4931
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

Cruel dog
Make sure you don't have an existing CVS checkout in the same directory.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
dango
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.

Post by dango »

did you type in bzflag in the terminal, or did you go do ./<bzflagscvsfolder>/src/bzflag/bzflag?
Image
User avatar
Cruel dog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Québec province, Canada
Contact:

Post by Cruel dog »

i did cd bz2.1.11/ (cd /home/crueldog/bzflagalpha/bzflag/ and bzflag & ....(install dir (which i created for thte install, 1 min beofre i dl the cvs))...I see the new bzflag alpha logo, and modified nice looking mountains, but it seems to be all...
Owner@ BZAddict.net
Admin @ bunch of servers
And much more!
"Even if I am named Cruel dog, I still am friendly! I just become Cruel with troublemakers! xD"
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4931
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

cd to your bzflag directory, and run ./src/bzflag/bzflag
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
Post Reply