My first map: Quadrant Wars.

Previews and comments on future maps.
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

My first map: Quadrant Wars.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

Hi, everyone.
I finally got my localhost to work, so I can work on my new map more. The idea is you have four zones or "quadrants". Each team owns one. Its pretty basic atm. Here's some screenshots and the map code:
Attachments
bzfi0195.png
The second layer
(452.82 KiB) Downloaded 148 times
bzfi0193.png
Screenshot (With a bunch of CPU tanks in it =D)
(651.27 KiB) Downloaded 160 times
4.txt
Newest version (Problems with GM's)
(4.11 KiB) Downloaded 277 times
Last edited by *Boinkage*! on Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:53 am, edited 4 times in total.
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
User avatar
The Frog Master
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:29 am
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of betelgeuse

Post by The Frog Master »

Interesting, I think we have seen a few maps like this before though, good job.
Ummmm, yea, errrrrr, hi, hey, is this thing on??
Probably not, oh well, ahhhh, wellll, the thing is... ahh tarnation, who cares.
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

Thanks.

I'm making a new version, I turned the walls into teleporters. I'm having a problem with my zone for GM flags. There is a platform at 100 meters, but even when I set the zone to 500, they appear at the ground. The bases turn into walls....
EDIT: My monitor temporarily died... "Frequency Over Range". :?
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4931
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

You monitor didn't die. Your video card is displaying a resolution or refresh rate that your monitor can't handle. Reboot the system, and just after the BIOS screen, start hitting F8. You should get a menu system. Choose "Enable VGA Mode", and then adjust your display settings once you get into Windows. (This is assuming Windows XP, might be different for Vista or 2k, or whatever OS you run)
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

blast wrote:You monitor didn't die. Your video card is displaying a resolution or refresh rate that your monitor can't handle. Reboot the system, and just after the BIOS screen, start hitting F8. You should get a menu system. Choose "Enable VGA Mode", and then adjust your display settings once you get into Windows. (This is assuming Windows XP, might be different for Vista or 2k, or whatever OS you run)
ow...

I just rebooted and it worked. Maybe it was caused by me switching from BZFlag to BZEdit. (The spellcheck thought "BZFlag" was "flagellum". LOL.)
Anyways, the code is still screwy, it seems it suddenly can't place the GM flags I coded in.
EDIT: Is there a way to turn jump on for testing? Do I enter something in the Command Prompt? Also, I just deleted all the flag things until I'm finished.
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
User avatar
Hannibal
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1073
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Hannibal »

To add jumping, +j should be in the config file or map options.
Games don't make people violent, lag does.
ImageImage
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

Thanks. Ill try it. I thought it might be different from local to public, so I didn't try that.

EDIT: It doesn't work. The config builder seems to have forgotten all the flag settings I had, and bzfs doesn't see the file when I do -conf. Where is the map options?
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4931
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

The correct setting for adding jumping is -j

In regards to the config builder, it's just a web page. It doesn't save anything you put into it. If you want a list of all the options you can pass to bzfs, open the BZFS Manual from the start menu.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

blast wrote:The correct setting for adding jumping is -j

In regards to the config builder, it's just a web page. It doesn't save anything you put into it. If you want a list of all the options you can pass to bzfs, open the BZFS Manual from the start menu.
I mean that it doesn't put that in the final config or anything.
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
User avatar
Hannibal
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1073
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Hannibal »

To add options to a map file, use this:

Code: Select all

options
-j
+r
-set _wingsSlideTime 50
end
With your options in there, of course.
Games don't make people violent, lag does.
ImageImage
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

Thanks. Ill give it a shot. It works. But now I can't load both a config file AND the map. how do i do that?
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4931
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

What exactly doesn't work? Does it give an error? What have you tried? Remember, we don't read minds, so you need to provide us with information.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

I mean, how do I load both the config file and the map at the same time.
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4931
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

I'll repeat: What have you tried?
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

Iv'e tried entering this to load the config file and the map, so it configs the map to the settings:

(After the cd C:\ thing)

Code: Select all

bzfs.exe -conf bzfs.conf bzfs.exe -world 3.bzw.
Of course, that doesn't work. What I want is to have the things like -password, -a, and stuff like that on the localhost
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

Firstly, if you are using a conf, put the -world line in there.
Secondly, learn how to use your command line.

You should be doing something like:

Code: Select all

bzfs.exe -conf bzfs.conf -world 3.bzw
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

It works.
It's almost done. I guess I should try and put textures on.
BUT THE GM'S STILL WONT SPAWN IN THE AIR!
Here's the code

Code: Select all

zone
size 30 30 10
pos 0 0 200
zoneflag GM 10
end
I don't get it. The flags should be on a platform 100 meters off the ground, but they skip it and go to the bottom
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
flight
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:47 am

Post by flight »

position not pos

secondly flags won't stay in the air if there isn't any thing there for it to land on. or if you don't have fb in your conf. if you want the flag to look like it is floating in the air, make it spawn on a meshbox with transparency.

thirdly based on that code it should be 200 units off the ground not 100.
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

flight wrote:position not pos

secondly flags won't stay in the air if there isn't any thing there for it to land on. or if you don't have fb in your conf. if you want the flag to look like it is floating in the air, make it spawn on a meshbox with transparency.

thirdly based on that code it should be 200 units off the ground not 100.
"pos" is fine. Don't correct things if you aren't sure they are wrong...
He also said he had an object up there, not that he wanted them "floating in the air".

*Boinkage*!
Add -fb to your conf or map options.
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

CannonBallGuy wrote:
flight wrote:position not pos

secondly flags won't stay in the air if there isn't any thing there for it to land on. or if you don't have fb in your conf. if you want the flag to look like it is floating in the air, make it spawn on a meshbox with transparency.

thirdly based on that code it should be 200 units off the ground not 100.
"pos" is fine. Don't correct things if you aren't sure they are wrong...
He also said he had an object up there, not that he wanted them "floating in the air".

*Boinkage*!
Add -fb to your conf or map options.
Thanks. Ill try it now
EDIT: The setting works. I'm almost done completely.
Anyways, I'm working on adding textures to things (yay for wiki).
EDIT again:I just injured my brain.... so much code for texturing a mesh! (ow).
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
flight
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:47 am

Post by flight »

it's not that i "wasn't sure they are wrong." i was sure pos was wrong. but i guess I was wrong. no big deal. when he said BUT THE GM'S STILL WONT SPAWN IN THE AIR! i figured he wanted the flags to ... spawn in the air. and after that we still figured out that -fb needs to be in the conf.

my mistake about pos ;)
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

Does anyone know how I could make a long, thin map (as in the border walls, changing the area they cover, to like 800X200).
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

Add

Code: Select all

noWalls
to the world block of your map file, then add your own walls wherever you like.
I've even gone to the trouble of creating two meshes to do this for you.
It's not tested though, so may not work perfectly.

Code: Select all

material
name stonewall
texture wall
notexcolor
notexalpha
end

material
name clearwall
notextures
notexcolor
diffuse 0 0 0 0
end

mesh
matref stonewall
vertex -400 -400 0 #0
vertex -400 -400 6 #1
vertex -400 400 0  #2
vertex -400 400 6  #3
vertex 400 400 0   #4
vertex 400 400 6   #5
vertex 400 -400 0  #6
vertex 400 -400 6  #7
face
vertices 0 1 3 2
endface
face
vertices 2 3 1 0
endface
face
vertices 2 3 5 4
endface
face
vertices 4 5 3 2
endface
face
vertices 4 5 7 6
endface
face
vertices 6 7 5 4
endface
face
vertices 6 7 1 0
endface
face
vertices 0 1 7 6
endface
end

mesh
matref clearwall
shootthrough
vertex -400 -400 6   #0
vertex -400 -400 100 #1
vertex -400 400 6    #2
vertex -400 400 100  #3
vertex 400 400 6     #4
vertex 400 400 100   #5
vertex 400 -400 6    #6
vertex 400 -400 100  #7
face
vertices 0 1 3 2
endface
face
vertices 2 3 1 0
endface
face
vertices 2 3 5 4
endface
face
vertices 4 5 3 2
endface
face
vertices 4 5 7 6
endface
face
vertices 6 7 5 4
endface
face
vertices 6 7 1 0
endface
face
vertices 0 1 7 6
endface
end
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
flight
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:47 am

Post by flight »

i also read in a forum that you can scale the map. is this true?

world
size 200
scale 1 4
end

that would be a world 200 in the x axis and 800 in the y axis.
User avatar
*Boinkage*!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 1:49 am
Location: Behind you with a stealth flag.

Post by *Boinkage*! »

I'll try both of those.
EDIT: the simple world size/scale thing doesnt work, trying the other one..
EDIT: The mesh works, but how do I change the playing area? You get autokicked for leaving the normal 400x400 area ;p
The Pen is Mightier Than the Sword.

Okay, you get a Bic, the orc gets a long sword.

He cuts the Bic in half.

Then he cuts you in half.

Oops, I meant quarters.
Post Reply