wwzones timedelay

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
Joe-Schmoe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:10 am
Location: This field unintentionally left blank.

wwzones timedelay

Post by Joe-Schmoe »

Hi,

I am trying to make it so that when a player enters a wwzone, it fires numerous bullets in various different directions. However I also want the bullets to be fired in series, rather than at once. What I have done is placed several wwzones on top of each other, and defined each one with a different timedelay. I also set each one with "repeat 2" so that they would (in theory) fire continuously.

When I first move into the zone, it works fine and the bullets spread out. But then when they repeat, they all fire at once.

I messed around with DT, timedelay, and also tried giving each zone a unique repeat number. Again, bullets would fire simultaneously after the first volley, no matter what I tried.

I then discovered that, as long as I kept the tank moving within the zone, the bullets would fire continuously. If I stopped moving, they would all fire at once.

Is there some way to make this work for stationary tanks as well? Kind of like R3lax's hix map with the world weapons that shoot at you when you drive into certain areas.

Here's the code I have for the wwzones:

Code: Select all

wwzone
	bbox -150 -138 170 190 0 20
	zoneweapon IB 20 -130 170 22.5 0 0 - -
	repeat 1.2
end

wwzone
	bbox -150 -138 170 190 0 20
	zoneweapon IB 20 -130 170 22.5 0 2 - -
	repeat 1
	timedelay .2
end

wwzone
	bbox -150 -138 170 190 0 20
	zoneweapon IB 20 -130 170 22.5 0 358 - -
	timedelay .4
	repeat 2
end

wwzone
	bbox -150 -138 170 190 0 20
	zoneweapon IB 20 -130 170 22.5 0 354 - -
	timedelay .6
	repeat 1.6
end

wwzone
	bbox -150 -138 170 190 0 20
	zoneweapon IB 20 -130 170 22.5 0 5 - -
	timedelay .8
	repeat 1.4
end
Thanks in advance :)
Join MI6!
CUPCAKE
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:31 pm

Post by CUPCAKE »

If you set the repeat to the same time, wouldn't it work? Because say that the repeat is 5, and they go off with 0.2 seconds difference (how you have it).
Bullet at 0.2s
Bullet at 0.4s
Bullet at 0.6s
Bullet at 0.8s

Bullet at 5.2s
Bullet at 5.4s
Bullet at 5.6s
Bullet at 5.8s

Bullet at 10.2s
Bullet at 10.4s
Bullet at 10.6s
Bullet at 10.8s
User avatar
Joe-Schmoe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:10 am
Location: This field unintentionally left blank.

Post by Joe-Schmoe »

That's exactly how I thought it should work, too...

I set the repeat to 2 on all of them, and then I took these screenshots.

Image<-just stepped into the zone. Note the erratic spacing.

Image<-a few seconds later. The bullets move in lockstep.

I think the strangest part of this is that if you keep moving inside the zone you can keep the .2 second spacing. It's like it only checks every so often whether or not someone's in the box.
Join MI6!
Post Reply