GM zones

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
jpenguin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:56 pm

GM zones

Post by jpenguin »

So, I have a tower in the center of my map & I want GM flags to spawn in this tower. The Walls, floor, & roof combined into a group-

Code: Select all

define Mid-Tower
  box
    name BZBox_11_Copy_Copy_Copy_Copy_Copy
    position 0.000000 0.000000 45.000000
    size 10.000000 10.000000 0.100000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  pyramid
    name Midd_Tower_Top
    position 0.000000 0.000000 52.000000
    size 10.000000 10.000000 5.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_27
    position 10.000000 0.000000 45.000000
    size 0.100000 10.000000 1.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_27_Copy
    position -10.000000 0.000000 45.000000
    size 0.100000 10.000000 1.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_29
    position 0.000000 10.000000 45.000000
    size 10.000000 0.100000 1.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_29_Copy
    position 0.000000 -10.000000 45.000000
    size 10.000000 0.100000 1.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_27_Copy_Copy
    position -10.000000 0.000000 47.000000
    size 0.100000 10.000000 5.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_29_Copy_Copy
    position 0.000000 -10.000000 47.000000
    size 10.000000 0.100000 5.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_27_Copy
    position 10.000000 0.000000 47.000000
    size 0.100000 10.000000 5.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_29_Copy
    position 0.000000 10.000000 47.000000
    size 10.000000 0.100000 5.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_35
    position 10.000000 -10.000000 45.000000
    size 0.100000 0.100000 7.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_35_Copy
    position -10.000000 10.000000 45.000000
    size 0.100000 0.100000 7.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_35_Copy_Copy
    position -10.000000 -10.000000 45.000000
    size 0.100000 0.100000 7.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

  box
    name BZBox_35_Copy_Copy_Copy
    position 10.000000 10.000000 45.000000
    size 0.100000 0.100000 7.000000
    rotation 0.000000
  end

enddef
I also have a teleporter in the middle of this tower-

Code: Select all

teleporter Mid-Tower
  position 0.000000 0.000000 45.099998
size 0.560000 4.000000 5.000000
rotation 45.000000
border 0.000000
end


I'm trying to get GM flags to spawn inside the tower with-

Code: Select all

zone 
   name Mid-GM 
   position 0 0 47
   size 7.0 7.0 1.0
   rotation 0
   # Add four GM
   zoneflag GM 4
   safety 1 2 3 4
 end
But when I start a test server with-

Code: Select all

bzfs -world ./mymap2.bzw -fb
\

I still get-

Code: Select all

Unable to position flags on this world.
Unable to position flags on this world.
Unable to position flags on this world.
Unable to position flags on this world.
User avatar
Astroman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:27 am

Post by Astroman »

You probably need to add +f gm {4} (I think that's the correct syntax) to not only allow flag on buildings, but also just in general.
"I would rather walk with God in the dark than go alone in the light." -Mary Gardiner Brainard
jpenguin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:56 pm

Post by jpenguin »

I also noticed that the flags are right above the tower room roof (the pyramid)
jpenguin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:56 pm

Post by jpenguin »

Astroman wrote:You probably need to add +f gm {4} (I think that's the correct syntax) to not only allow flag on buildings, but also just in general.
This is strange, I deleted the pyramid and the flags were there.
User avatar
Astroman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:27 am

Post by Astroman »

jpenguin wrote:
Astroman wrote:You probably need to add +f gm {4} (I think that's the correct syntax) to not only allow flag on buildings, but also just in general.
This is strange, I deleted the pyramid and the flags were there.
Oh, my bad, there's a difference between "zoneflag" and "flag" flag needs to have the listed flags specified, zoneflag doesn't. :oops:
"I would rather walk with God in the dark than go alone in the light." -Mary Gardiner Brainard
jpenguin
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:56 pm

Post by jpenguin »

I got it. The default flagaltitude and flaghieght are too big


-set _flagAltitude 1
-set _flagHeight 3

Fixes It
User avatar
Spectre
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 2:33 pm

Post by Spectre »

I can explain the pyramid thing.
If BZFlag sees that you're telling it to spawn flags on an angled surface, it will basically say no. A pyramid, sheared meshbox, etc. is considered an "illegal location". Therefore, get rid of the illegal location, and they will spawn correctly.
Keeping Latin alive in 2766 AUC.
Post Reply