What's your mouse box size?

Questions and comments on tactics and playstyles
Post Reply
User avatar
Bambino
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

What's your mouse box size?

Post by Bambino » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:23 am

What's your mouse box size? And why?

Are you a tiny mouse size for awesome dodging? Or the box mouse box for precise jumps?

It depends on the map, but I like to have a fairly small mouse box size.
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein
GU League | Ducati League | OpenLeague

User avatar
clarahobbs
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:45 am
Location: The Fourth Dimension

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by clarahobbs » Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:35 pm

29

I have an opaque radar using half the screen, so to have a reasonable mouse box size, I need to make it extra large.
FKA Ratfink

User avatar
Grace F
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by Grace F » Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:47 pm

My mouse box size is -2.
I'm assuming that means it's just slightly smaller then the default size :)

It used to be smaller because I found I turned faster and figured I'd get used to the sensitivity. I never did. :roll:
Image
Image

User avatar
clarahobbs
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:45 am
Location: The Fourth Dimension

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by clarahobbs » Sat Apr 25, 2009 2:42 pm

To find the size of your mousebox, just open your config.cfg file. Find the line that looks like this:

Code: Select all

set mouseboxsize 29
The "29" is your mousebox size. -2 would mean you have a mousebox with negative size, and that's clearly impossible. :)
FKA Ratfink

User avatar
Bambino
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by Bambino » Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:26 pm

No. 0 is the standard size. Try a -2 or something.

Mine is -6 right now.
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein
GU League | Ducati League | OpenLeague

User avatar
Grace F
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by Grace F » Sat Apr 25, 2009 5:17 pm

Ratfink wrote:To find the size of your mousebox, just open your config.cfg file. Find the line that looks like this:

Code: Select all

set mouseboxsize 29
The "29" is your mousebox size. -2 would mean you have a mousebox with negative size, and that's clearly impossible. :)
That is where I went to look. :P
Much easier than counting all the dashes in your GU Settings. :)
Image
Image

dexter
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 7:36 am
Location: Germany :o)

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by dexter » Wed Apr 29, 2009 1:19 pm

Ratfink wrote:To find the size of your mousebox, just open your config.cfg file. Find the line that looks like this:

Code: Select all

set mouseboxsize 29
The "29" is your mousebox size. -2 would mean you have a mousebox with negative size, and that's clearly impossible. :)
It's not impossible. It's a perfectly legitimate mousebox size.

Not to mention that dodging skill is pretty independent of mouse box size. Everyone has their own style.

User avatar
lep
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:03 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by lep » Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:46 am

My box size is normally default (0) but it is changed from time to time...

User avatar
gentle giant
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 9:49 pm
Location: USA

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by gentle giant » Fri May 01, 2009 1:32 am

My mouse box is 2. I like it that way because if i turn at my fastest speed its perfect for me for dodging. Also because the more negative i go the more wild i get on my jumps.
My motives from an awesome teacher:

"If life gives you lemons, make lemonade"

"If you fail to prepare, you prepare to fail"

User avatar
Bambino
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by Bambino » Sat May 16, 2009 9:25 pm

I have to have mine at 15 now. I got a Logitech G5 2000DPI mouse and it's really fast, even with that large a mouse box I am still wild :P I just need to regain my mousin' skill.
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein
GU League | Ducati League | OpenLeague

User avatar
die muszx double
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:38 am
Location: In the UK playing BZflag

Re: What's your mouse box size?

Post by die muszx double » Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:01 pm

My mousebox size is now -11. I like it really small. :D
My apple mac is natural

Image

die muszx double

Post Reply