bzfs error message

Need help seting up a server, or have a question on how to run one? This is the place.
Post Reply
cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

bzfs error message

Post by cepris »

When I try to run bzfs in my terminal, I get:
Note: no acceleration limit has been set. Players using "mouse
enhancements" may cause problems on this server due to very high
acceleration rates which are not handled well by dead reckoning
algorithms. To eliminate this warning, set the -a switch in your
configuration. '-a 50 38' is recommended for standard-speed servers.
Higher speed servers will need higher values for -a in order to not
affect gameplay. '-a 0 0' may be used to shut this message up without
affecting any players, including those using "mouse enhancements".
ERROR: Unable to start the server, perhaps one is already running?
Help!?
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5193
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Re: bzfs error message

Post by JeffM »

it's a warning... and it tells you EXACTLY what is wrong just read it.
ImageJeffM
cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: bzfs error message

Post by cepris »

But I am sure I have no server already running. After that it just does nothing??
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5193
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Re: bzfs error message

Post by JeffM »

the server app is not interactive, so it doesn't "do" anything.
ImageJeffM
cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: bzfs error message

Post by cepris »

Ohh. Uh oh.. does that mean my server went public, or not lol?
User avatar
Bambino
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: bzfs error message

Post by Bambino »

Nope. You actually need to configure it to go public. It just went private; server: localhost port: 5154
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein
GU League | Ducati League | OpenLeague
cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: bzfs error message

Post by cepris »

Ah. I see. How do i turn it off?
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5193
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Re: bzfs error message

Post by JeffM »

To eliminate this warning, set the -a switch in your
configuration
ImageJeffM
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: bzfs error message

Post by joevano »

JeffM wrote:
To eliminate this warning, set the -a switch in your
configuration
Entirely too nice Jeff... you already told him to read! ;-)
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln
cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: bzfs error message

Post by cepris »

I'm confused .. I'm kinda new to this stuff, I don't know anything about it at all.. where do I find the configuration ?? All I was really wanting to do was test my map, and I get so much annoying stuff to deal with lol..
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: bzfs error message

Post by joevano »

Creating a server is not trivial. It requires a bit of reading and testing on your part...
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: bzfs error message

Post by blast »

You don't need to worry about that. It is just a warning, not an error. Ignore it if you want, and the server will work just fine.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
cepris
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:49 am

Re: bzfs error message

Post by cepris »

blast: thanks :)
joevano: I'm not trying to set up a server, just test my map..lol
User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2033
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Re: bzfs error message

Post by macsforme »

Since the server is what opens the map file and makes a bzflag world that you connect to, you need to use a server to test your map. For this type of server usage, usually only minimal settings are needed.
User avatar
A_Thousand_Suns
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 12:12 am
Location: Canada

Re: bzfs error message

Post by A_Thousand_Suns »

wildrune11 wrote:When I try to run bzfs in my terminal, I get:
Note: no acceleration limit has been set. Players using "mouse
enhancements" may cause problems on this server due to very high
acceleration rates which are not handled well by dead reckoning
algorithms. To eliminate this warning, set the -a switch in your
configuration. '-a 50 38' is recommended for standard-speed servers.
Higher speed servers will need higher values for -a in order to not
affect gameplay. '-a 0 0' may be used to shut this message up without
affecting any players, including those using "mouse enhancements".
ERROR: Unable to start the server, perhaps one is already running?
hi wildrune :) i get the same thing.i read the posts following this topic and i am under localhost 5154 and wen i press start server and select a file for it to read, it comes up with random and thats all.

HELP! lol
User avatar
Bambino
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1210
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: bzfs error message

Post by Bambino »

Do you have another server running? Did you make a *working* config file and tell bzfs to use it? Did you specify what map bzfs should use?
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -- Albert Einstein
GU League | Ducati League | OpenLeague
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: bzfs error message

Post by blast »

Don't bother using the in-game "start server" crap.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
A_Thousand_Suns
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 12:12 am
Location: Canada

Re: bzfs error message

Post by A_Thousand_Suns »

i dont. terminal dosent work and start server dosent either. and yes, it is crap. and also i dont have another running.
User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2033
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Re: bzfs error message

Post by macsforme »

If you think you don't have another server running, perhaps you should log out and back in or reboot the computer to make sure there are no bzflag server processes running. Then try starting the server again.
User avatar
Propane Tank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: bzfs error message

Post by Propane Tank »

Or instead of logging out and back in or a reboot, open task manager and find a process called bzfs.exe and click end process.
-Propane Tank
User avatar
allejo
Breaker of Builds
Breaker of Builds
Posts: 784
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:01 pm
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Re: bzfs error message

Post by allejo »

Propane Tank wrote:Or instead of logging out and back in or a reboot, open task manager and find a process called bzfs.exe and click end process.
Why are you reviving a 4 month old post? And just FYI the word "Terminal" was used so this is not Windows, so Task Manager can't be used as it is Windows junk. :P
User avatar
Gamma Ray
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:29 pm
Location: Nowhere

Re: bzfs error message

Post by Gamma Ray »

If you have bzfs running on a Unix/Unix-like OS (basically not Windows) select the window in which bzfs is running and press CTRL + C.

HOWEVER, the next time you run the server make sure you include the -password option so you can use /shutdownserver when connected to properly shut down the server.


If the post has been revived might as well at least answer it.
Post Reply