Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

giorgio@giorgio-F3JC:~/Scrivania$ bzfs -world rare.bzw -a 0 0 -> I run bzfs doing this, on the right directory and with the right bzw file name.
Unable to position flags on this world. -> this is the error I have...I think I should post my map file, to let you discover the problem :P because I tried an retried many times in vain.
Fox
Attachments
rare.bzw
(77.04 KiB) Downloaded 190 times
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by blast »

Add -fb to your configuration. By default, flags can only spawn on the ground. If the ground is covered with objects, it will be unable to place them on the ground. The -fb option allows flags to spawn on buildings.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

As could you see on my map that I have attached, the option -fb is already added on the options of the map... So there is some problems with the height of the size of the zone named "zone_laser" I think.
User avatar
zaphod
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:20 pm
Location: beteigeuze-system
Contact:

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by zaphod »

try with deleting the line
flagHeight 10.0
started with no error's!
.
.
.
Image
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

Sorry, I've deleted the line flagHeight 10.0 and the problem persist.
I've tried to toggle these zones and worked well... why?

zone
name zone_laser
position -225 250 10
size 10 10 0
zoneflag L 2
end

zone
name zone_laser
position 225 -250 10
size 10 10 0
zoneflag L 2
end
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

Sorry, but I'm working for a friend: Them, who asked me help to make his map... All worked fine, until i have tested his map and the error :: unable to positing flags on this world :: persist... Don't know what should do!
Suggestions?
Attachments
my_map.bzw
(16.14 KiB) Downloaded 200 times
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by joevano »

Quick glance makes me think your flag zones are inside the boxes.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

Yeah, exact, this is the problem... :) I'm going resize the zone, to prevent them from intersecting with boxes...
thx
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

And... also in this case there are zones into boxes? And how solve it? I have tried all parameters of size and position...
Attachments
rare_mesh.bzw
(85.74 KiB) Downloaded 185 times
User avatar
ahs3
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: Press '/' to search
Contact:

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by ahs3 »

Fox in the Fog wrote:And... also in this case there are zones into boxes? And how solve it? I have tried all parameters of size and position...
not sure what you mean by "into boxes" but if you mean the zone is inside a box? just resize the zone.

A zone is meant to be on top of a box or object, and is rarely over 1 unit in Z.

Code: Select all

zone
  name CL-OO-ST_Flags_Center
  position 0.0 0.0 37.0
  size 30.0 30.0 0.0
# Add two OO, two CL, two ST
  zoneflag OO 2
  zoneflag CL 2
  zoneflag ST 2
  zoneflag GM 2
end
zone
  name SW-CL-L_Flags_Bases
  position -360.0 0.0 0.0
  size 25.0 25.0 15.0
# Add 3 SW, two CL
  zoneflag SW 3
  zoneflag CL 2
  zoneflag L 
end
zone
  name SW-CL-L_Flags_Bases
  position 360.0 0.0 0.0
  size 25.0 25.0 15.0
# Add 3 SW, two CL
  zoneflag SW 3
  zoneflag CL 2
  zoneflag L 
end

In these examples your zone is 15 units high. One is 0 units? perhaps the source of the error?


Below is how I do zones, right or wrong it seems to work.

Code: Select all

box
pos 0 0 0
size 50 50 15
rot 0
end

zone
pos 0 0 15
size 50 50 1
zoneflag SW
zoneflag SH
zoneflag T 2
end
I don't really see the source of your error, but zones belong on top of boxes.

Hope this helps

ahs3
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

yeah, the problem is that this:

Code: Select all

zone
  name CL-OO-ST_Flags_Center
  position 0.0 0.0 37.0
  size 30.0 30.0 0.0
# Add two OO, two CL, two ST
  zoneflag OO 2
  zoneflag CL 2
  zoneflag ST 2
  zoneflag GM 2
end
zone
  name SW-CL-L_Flags_Bases
  position -360.0 0.0 0.0
  size 25.0 25.0 15.0
# Add 3 SW, two CL
  zoneflag SW 3
  zoneflag CL 2
  zoneflag L
end
zone
  name SW-CL-L_Flags_Bases
  position 360.0 0.0 0.0
  size 25.0 25.0 15.0
# Add 3 SW, two CL
  zoneflag SW 3
  zoneflag CL 2
  zoneflag L
end
Work fine... Is this that don't work: (if I add this, the bzfs give me the error, if i remove this from my map, all work good.)

Code: Select all

zone
 position 220 -250 11
 size 15 15 10
 zoneflag GM 2
end
zone
 position -220 250 11
 size 15 15 10
 zoneflag GM 2
end
zone
 position -220 -250 11
 size 15 15 10
 zoneflag GM 2
end
zone
 position 220 250 11
 size 15 15 10
 zoneflag GM 2
end
Last edited by fox in the fog on Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

The flags file worked very very well for me... why shouldn't work as well on my real map? And on my map, there is a box at Z axis 10 equal to Flags file... I can post it...

Code: Select all

define group_house
 box
   position 15 0 10.5
   size 15 2 9.5
   rotation 90
   matref durch
   drivethrough
   shootthrough
 end
 box
   position -15 0 10.5
   size 15 2 9.5
   rotation -90
   matref durch
   drivethrough
   shootthrough
  end
 box
   position 0 15 10.5
   size 15 2 9.5
   matref durch
   drivethrough
   shootthrough
 end
 box
   position 0 -15 10.5
   size 15 2 9.5
   matref durch
   drivethrough
   shootthrough
  end
 pyramid
  position 0 0 5
  size 15 0.5 5
  flipz
 end
 cone
  position 0 0 0
  size 3 3 10
 end
 pyramid
  position 0 0 5
  size 15 0.5 5
  rotation 90
  flipz
 end
 pyramid
  position 0 0 0
  size 1 1 40
 end
 box
  position 0 0 10
  size 15 15 1
 end
 box
  position 0 0 20
  size 15 15 1
 end
 arc
  position 15 15 10.5
  size 2 2 10
 end
 arc
  position -15 -15 10.5
  size 2 2 10
 end
 arc
  position -15 15 10.5
  size 2 2 10
 end
 arc
  position 15 -15 10.5
  size 2 2 10
 end
 pyramid
  position 0 -10 0
  size 2 2 10
  flipz
 end
 pyramid
  position 0 10 0
  size 2 2 10
  flipz
 end
 pyramid
  position -10 0 0
  size 2 2 10
  flipz
 end
 pyramid
  position 10 0 0
  size 2 2 10
  flipz
 end
 pyramid
  position 0 0 20.5
  size 18 18 5
 end
enddef
Attachments
flags.bzw
(909 Bytes) Downloaded 178 times
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

So what is the result...? I can't put flags on my world in specific areas...?
User avatar
mahem1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:18 am
Location: Antarctica

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by mahem1 »

First of all you defined a group then never said:
group group_house
pos 0 0 0
end

Now for the flags.
I think flags have a height at which they spawn. And there just so happens to be a _flagHeight variable and the default is 10. So if you actually declared the group there is a pyramid at zpos 20.5 and the zone is at zpos 10 with the size 1 so 11.
the height is 10. So I think Mr.Flag spawns at 21.5 starts to fall and sees Mr.Pyramid and we all know flags can't spawn on pyramids.(Or at least i do.)
So if you change _flagHeight to 9 it should (mathematically) workout.
But there is also _flagAltitude.I know about that one. It is set to 11 so it could also be the problem.
I don't have time to play with the server so I'll let you do that.
Hope it works!!
Lag makes me miss all of the good stuff.
And random bans..........
Image
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

this doesn't work... :(

post also the map file so you can see better the situation
Attachments
rare_mesh_nowallpaper.bzw
(76.7 KiB) Downloaded 183 times
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

mahem1 wrote:First of all you defined a group then never said:
group group_house
pos 0 0 0
end
not exactly...

Code: Select all

define group_house
  box
   position 15 0 10.5
   size 15 2 9.5
   rotation 90
   matref durch
   drivethrough
   shootthrough
  end
  box
   position -15 0 10.5
   size 15 2 9.5
   rotation -90
   matref durch
   drivethrough
   shootthrough
  end
  box
   position 0 15 10.5
   size 15 2 9.5
   matref durch
   drivethrough
   shootthrough
  end
  box
   position 0 -15 10.5
   size 15 2 9.5
   matref durch
   drivethrough
   shootthrough
  end
 pyramid
  position 0 0 5
  size 15 0.5 5
  flipz
 end
 cone
  position 0 0 0
  size 3 3 10
 end
 pyramid
  position 0 0 5
  size 15 0.5 5
  rotation 90
  flipz
 end
pyramid
  position 0 0 0
  size 1 1 40
end
 box
  position 0 0 10
  size 15 15 1
 end
 box
  position 0 0 20
  size 15 15 1
 end
 arc
  position 15 15 10.5
  size 2 2 10
 end
 arc
  position -15 -15 10.5
  size 2 2 10
 end
 arc
  position -15 15 10.5
  size 2 2 10
 end
 arc
  position 15 -15 10.5
  size 2 2 10
 end
 pyramid
  position 0 -10 0
  size 2 2 10
  flipz
 end
 pyramid
  position 0 10 0
  size 2 2 10
  flipz
 end
 pyramid
  position -10 0 0
  size 2 2 10
  flipz
 end
 pyramid
  position 10 0 0
  size 2 2 10
  flipz
 end
 pyramid
  position 0 0 20.5
  size 18 18 5
 end
enddef
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by joevano »

My suggestion to you is to build your map up a step at a time. Start with a few objects... test... add a few more... test... add a few...

When it doesn't work you will know WHY or at least WHAT broke it and can fix it yourself. Then if you are stuck, you will be able to ask more directed questions. Fixing your entire map because you don't understand how it works, without doing testing yourself isn't our responsibility. Troubleshooting and fixing a map is an integral and necessary part of learning what you can and cannot do in a map.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln
User avatar
mahem1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:18 am
Location: Antarctica

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by mahem1 »

ok I ran this on a server and it work with only _flagHeight set to 1 and not _flagAltitude and flagHeight can probably be set high though.

But there is a pyramid going straight through the middle so you set the zone size 2 2 5 , and it spawn right on top of it.
So you need to change it higher. It works with size 15 15 5.
Lag makes me miss all of the good stuff.
And random bans..........
Image
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

Oh.... good. So my map worked for you, with which settings?
zone at size 15 15 5 or 2 2 5?
User avatar
mahem1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:18 am
Location: Antarctica

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by mahem1 »

which setting aren't your......try testing it out! :)
the 15 15 5 is what i used.
But you have to have _flagHeight 1 or low enough so it doesn't interfere with the pyramid
And you can take _flagAltitude out.
Lag makes me miss all of the good stuff.
And random bans..........
Image
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

15 15 5 for zone or box?
User avatar
mahem1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:18 am
Location: Antarctica

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by mahem1 »

zone like you asked for in you last post.
Lag makes me miss all of the good stuff.
And random bans..........
Image
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by joevano »

joevano wrote:My suggestion to you is to build your map up a step at a time. Start with a few objects... test... add a few more... test... add a few...

When it doesn't work you will know WHY or at least WHAT broke it and can fix it yourself. Then if you are stuck, you will be able to ask more directed questions. Fixing your entire map because you don't understand how it works, without doing testing yourself isn't our responsibility. Troubleshooting and fixing a map is an integral and necessary part of learning what you can and cannot do in a map.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln
mdskpr
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 4:17 pm

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by mdskpr »

joevano wrote:
joevano wrote:My suggestion to you is to build your map up a step at a time. Start with a few objects... test... add a few more... test... add a few...

When it doesn't work you will know WHY or at least WHAT broke it and can fix it yourself. Then if you are stuck, you will be able to ask more directed questions. Fixing your entire map because you don't understand how it works, without doing testing yourself isn't our responsibility. Troubleshooting and fixing a map is an integral and necessary part of learning what you can and cannot do in a map.
I want to emphasize this point, even if you use BZEdit(which i stroongly suggest you dont) there is a great need to test your map out after every change. I test after every change even a change of say one number, say 1.0 to 1.5. If you do not test it at the time when you build it you could: a) forget how you made the calculation to determine the size/position. b) determine the positions/sizes of other objects in reference to an object that is not placed correctly. Testing is the MOST important part of mapmaking.
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am

Re: Error ::: Unable to position flags on this world. :::

Post by fox in the fog »

Yeah... I test every times maps, my Linux terminal is always on with bzfs running! And, I don't use BZedit, or bzworkbench, or other GUI map Maker programs... I use a text editor, is the best method, but I have problems because I'm not so good at this :(
Post Reply