Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply
User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by fox in the fog » Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:58 am

Code: Select all

meshbox
  name box_338_pavimento_rosso
  position -286.399994 0.0 0.0
  size 26.0 5.0 0.1
  rotation -90.0
  outside matref redbase
  top matref bt
  bottom matref bt
end
This meshbox have many matref, like you can see, but even if the Z size is 0.1 the tank, without jump, can't drive on it between the ground and this meshbox, like it's high 40... If you try with a normal box, same Z size 0.1, you can drive on it. So adding this matref I have this problem (before, I had only normal box, and worked fine... After decide add matref, nothing is Ok.) Suggestions?
Fox
no, there's nothing here. nope.

anomaly
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Gainesville Florida

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by anomaly » Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:40 pm

one thing I would suggest is that you clean up those floating point numbers. I don't think it will help in this case but I don't know what the rest of your map looks like. Numbers like -286.399994 would be better as -286.40. I have noticed this with mesh maps that I have built. I limited modeltool's output precision to 2 decimal places and the maps work a lot better.

In general meshboxes and boxes are drawn differently, they don't seem to line up with each other. But you may get it to work better by adjusting your floating point precision.

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by fox in the fog » Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:42 pm

thank you for the suggestion... I have used it, but doesn't work. I mean, doesn't solve my bug...
other suggestions?
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by JeffM » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:07 pm

Yep that's one issue with meshboxes, transitioning from old stuff to meshes is an issue. it is a known issue an on the roadmap to be fixed when we can redo our entire simulation to uses meshes for all objects.

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by fox in the fog » Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:55 am

Hm... Ok, but instead of use all mehsbox, I tried to use an arc with divisions 4 to have a box.. like in MIssileWar... but the problem isn't fixed :(
like you can see with the box with red matref not at the center of map (isn't with good number Anomaly, but is copy-pasted from Missile War, and than a little modified the size)
Attachments
Bridge.bzw
(1.88 KiB) Downloaded 81 times
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by JeffM » Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:53 pm

arcs are meshes too so that makes sense.

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by fox in the fog » Fri Jun 24, 2011 4:59 pm

And so why on MissileWar, that (the floor with Z high very low, that allow tank shoot on loopholes) work well, fine, wonderful?
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by JeffM » Fri Jun 24, 2011 5:42 pm

there are tricks to get it to work in specific cases, get the map they use and take a look at it. In general it works best when all objects in the collision area are the same type, all mesh, or all "old". It's the case where they are mixed when we have problems.

Avatar
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 9:28 pm

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by Avatar » Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:42 pm

Fox in the Fog wrote:And so why on MissileWar, that (the floor with Z high very low, that allow tank shoot on loopholes) work well, fine, wonderful?
There's a map setting (it's in the wiki) to adjust the height difference that allows a tank to just hop up onto a raised surface rather than be blocked by it. This is how the low-Z ground object at the base walls in MW functions.
And the lesson for tonight is:

Never underestimate the ability of a newb to expect instant success and cry "cheat!" when they don't get it. Don't hate the newb, just give them plenty of learning opportunities. ;)

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4729
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by blast » Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:46 am

Also, they'd have to be a normal box to bump up on. So the ones there are likely boxes (or have the very edge being a box to trigger the bump)
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by fox in the fog » Sat Jun 25, 2011 7:39 am

I'm glad to know that the solution exist, :D but would be good also know the name of this map setting... Because I searched on the Wiki, under server variables, but didn't find any interesting things.
Thanks All, I am going to solve my problems
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by fox in the fog » Sat Jun 25, 2011 8:48 am

Ok, i think the map setting is -set _maxBumpHeight 0.33 but, adding this to my map file, the problem persist.
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by joevano » Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:41 am

_maxBumpHeight does NOT work for meshes, as blast said above. So it is no surprise it does not work!
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by fox in the fog » Sat Jun 25, 2011 1:15 pm

Ah... so:

There's a map setting (it's in the wiki) to adjust the height difference that allows a tank to just hop up onto a raised surface rather than be blocked by it. This is how the low-Z ground object at the base walls in MW functions.

what's the name of this map settings?
no, there's nothing here. nope.

User avatar
SkillDude
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: United States

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by SkillDude » Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:04 pm

The creators used _maxBumpHeight, but inserted a regular box right before the mesh so this effect would occur. The box would be at equal or slightly higher height such that it looks like you are bumped up to the mesh. If you want to get specific actions to occur in maps, sometimes you have to use tricks to create the illusion.

User avatar
fox in the fog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Italy, Planet Earth

Re: Can't drive on a meshbox... only if I jump over it

Post by fox in the fog » Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:32 pm

smart trick sigonasr2.. i noticed that also on MissileWar is like that :)
thx, now all is solved... thank you a lot :)
no, there's nothing here. nope.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest