BZFlag Topsites

All things BZFlag - no [OT] here please
Post Reply
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

BZFlag Topsites

Post by blast »

I have set up a topsites script for people with BZFlag sites. Feel free to sign up. Categories are Branches and Variants, Help and Support, League, and Misc. After you sign up, you just put a 88x31 image that links back to the topsite. (it will give ya the code) You can also provide a link to a banner that will be show on the topsite for your site. Maximum size is 468x60.

BZFlag Topsites
Last edited by blast on Fri May 14, 2004 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

Cool, I already have 2 other members. The top 5 members will have their banner displayed on the topsite page, and the rest will have a less detailed listing. I'm also working on fixing a small display glitch on Mozilla.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
ski
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 562
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:30 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Post by ski »

Pretty cool idea. Nice work
Rest In Peace Vivek
1986-2005 :(

Image
------------------------------
Member of DUB

Visit: Image
Image
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

Just a note. In order for the topsite to track how many views your site gets, you need to put the 88x31 image on your site. If you need the code, you can click on the Lost Code link on the site and enter your site ID. If it goes for 2 weeks without any hits, the script will automatically delete your site. The TiTaNZ CTF League site already has one on it, but the two others don't.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
elmer fudd
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:17 pm
Contact:

Post by elmer fudd »

*bows* btw is affiliates the correect term?
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

Close enough. ;) They use that term when two sites link to each other.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
elmer fudd
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:17 pm
Contact:

Post by elmer fudd »

btw blast ur image creation script stopped working
a permissions error i think
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

Oh crud, thx for letting me know.

EDIT: Fixed it. I still had the images pointing to my home computer, which is offline right now. (Doh!)
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
Noodleroni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:12 pm
Location: Bend, OR
Contact:

Post by Noodleroni »

blast: My site is so popular it filled up your MySQL connection quota (j/k) :-)
Image
elmer fudd
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:17 pm
Contact:

Post by elmer fudd »

lol i noiced first i sent him a pm
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

Okay, working on the problem. Seems that freesql.org enforces a few limits on their service. Might move the topsite script to a new host. (one with MySQL)
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
elmer fudd
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:17 pm
Contact:

Post by elmer fudd »

yea i noticed that 2 when i was using it... send me the script and ill host it
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

I moved it to Tripod UK. I transfered the MySQL data over, so you won't have to sign up again. You'll just need to update the code you put on your sites. You can get that by using the Lost Code page and entering your site ID. Sorry for the inconvenience.

New Location
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
Noodleroni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:12 pm
Location: Bend, OR
Contact:

Post by Noodleroni »

EWWWWW! POPUPS!

BTW, I would be happy to host you on my server. I've got MySQL, and none of those crappy connection limits :-)
Image
User avatar
ski
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 562
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:30 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Post by ski »

the code given for the icon was:

<a href="http://members.lycos.co.uk/bztop/in.php?id=8">
<img src="http://members.lycos.co.uk/bztop/button.php?id=8" border="0" /></a>

Shouldnt it be:


<a href="http://members.lycos.co.uk/bztop/in.php?id=8"></a>
<img src="http://members.lycos.co.uk/bztop/button.php?id=8" border="0" /></a>

Just an observation :)
Rest In Peace Vivek
1986-2005 :(

Image
------------------------------
Member of DUB

Visit: Image
Image
Death Barrel
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:26 am

Post by Death Barrel »

no ski, because there is only 1 link in there :)

Code: Select all

<a href="http://members.lycos.co.uk/bztop/in.php?id=8">
<img src="http://members.lycos.co.uk/bztop/button.php?id=8" border="0" /></a> 
what this means is that the link is wrapping around the image turning the image into a link, so there really only needs to be 1 </a> tag at the very end :)
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

No, cuz you need the image to be inside the link, or else it won't do anything.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
ski
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 562
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:30 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Post by ski »

im confused...if I only use the 1 </a> tag at the very end....the image doesnt show on the site....only a red x....
Rest In Peace Vivek
1986-2005 :(

Image
------------------------------
Member of DUB

Visit: Image
Image
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

That's a problem with the current host. If you refresh the page, it appears then for some reason. Still not sure why it's doing that...
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
ski
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 562
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:30 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Post by ski »

hmm, crap...well, i dont want a box with an 'X' on the site...
(im too much of a perfectionist i guess..lol)
Rest In Peace Vivek
1986-2005 :(

Image
------------------------------
Member of DUB

Visit: Image
Image
User avatar
ski
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 562
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:30 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Post by ski »

well I changed the code back to its original and the icon i now there...so who knows...heh.

Thanks blast :)
Rest In Peace Vivek
1986-2005 :(

Image
------------------------------
Member of DUB

Visit: Image
Image
Post Reply